We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation and Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation and Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the street front this placed looks like nothing - but when you get beyond the front gate and into the reception and beyond, there is a very charming little resort in attractive gardens providing a very nice play to stay in down town Chiang mai just a short walking distance to the Night Bazaar area.
The accommodation is basic and comfortable - a little on the rustic, traditional Lanna style type of place.
The staff are friendly and provide excellent service.
The food is fresh and well presented.
An excellent alternative to larger hotels, its a boutique resort with a cozy guest house feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    284
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
209
536
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is a little green haven situated just a 10 minute walk from the River and restaurants. Although the hotel is situated on a busy road, the design of the garden, water features and swimming pool did not allow the traffic noise to filter through. We stayed in room number 25 which we would recommend as it was spacious and light and we heard hardly any traffic noise at all. The breakfast and dinner were excellent. Front of house staff recommended tours (Thai Elephant Home, Hill Tribe and Cave Tour) which provided unforgettable experiences in Chiang Mai. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made it a special place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved the fact that the room is huge and very nicely decorated. Very big bedroom, very clean and great staff. Stayed 4 nights and could have stayed much longer.50B to go to the night bazaard and 5 minute walk to the riverside which is great for restaurants. Breakfast was awesome. Best rstaursnt we went for 800B was the baan jangarpor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorickMaziere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Small Chalets surrounded by tropical greenery and landscaped garden. 15 minutes walk to the Night Bazaar. Easy access to the Riverside. 2 Swimming pools are available. Free WiFi access from the rooms. Restaurant, Coffee shop and Spa available at your convenience. Resort is having an environmentally friendly setting. Locally produced natural toiletries are provided.

Room Tip: Poolside Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rajesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed here 6 nights and extended for another two during Loy Krathong festival. The position was a little out of town (so nice and quiet) but easy enough walk and there is a free tuktuk to night bizarre every night. The grounds were lush, green cool oasis. The room was very much to our liking and the staff were all exceptional. I did write a few of their names however since lost them (sorry) but loved how they looked after my teenage daughter and myself. From the lovely smiling girl who served us breakfast every morning, to the delightful reception staff who went the extra mile not only lending me their laptop but also assisted me securing accommodation in Bangkok to the friendly tuktuk driver. Overall my stay in Chiang Mai was fantastic and staying here only added to the fantastic time I had. A BIG thank you to all of you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chery711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for four nights over the Thanksgiving break and enjoyed this resort immensely. The room was very large with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths for 4 of us! We had a view of the pool. The grounds are beautiful, very lush, like an oasis in the city. The staff was helpful with all of our requests/questions including finding us a driver for a day of exploring outside Chiang Mai proper. A bit removed from the center of the city, but there is a free tuk-tuk to the night market. Small restaurant with nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The Staff at this hotel are outstanding. Our train was 2 hours late, so we did not check in until 11 pm but they welcomed us as if we were old friends. The grounds are lush and green and the room was small but quaint, comfortable and clean. The breakfast which was included in the very reasonable price was fresh and plentiful. The Staff continued to be helpful and courteous throughout our stay, asking what we were doing, making bookings when requested, and making suggestions of things we might want to do. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing