We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel With Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel With Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights recently on a promotion of paid for 2 nights and get 3rd night free to include dinner on the first night and and airport pick up and return, booked directly with the hotel. The Hotel is about a 10min walk from the night market and about 15-20 mins to the old city walls , they also provide free tuk tuk to the markets and a hourly basis from 5-9pm. The rooms are very clean and the grounds and swimming pool areas and very well kept. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast and dinner is of a high standard. Would stayed here again if returning to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    275
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
196
506
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, the rooms, (1 bedroom with jacuzzi ) fantastic , the setting, close to everything , very peaceful , and not to forget the staff, one step ahead all the time. Will use again

Room Tip: Try and get one bedroom with jacuzzi, 112 sq mt huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dikkyd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel might not be in the centre of the city but it's only a 20 min walk or so and they offer a free tuk tuk to the night bazzar and weekend markets. Location is perfect for the train station if like us you chose to take the night train from Bangkok. The hotel itself is cozy and even though its on a busy main road, the jungle ambiance really makes you feel like you're miles away from the mayhem outside. The rooms are rather basic but very comfortable and clean. It has two pools, small and large and breakfast is nice enough. The thing that impressed me the most about this hotel was the staff. Unfortunately my girlfriend fell I'll during our stay (nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff went above and beyond to help us. From bringing her some soup, to going to the pharmacy for us. They even drove us to the hospital when things got really bad. great hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want somewhere quiet and a bit different in Chiang Mai, this is a great place to stay. It's really green, good breakfasts, nice toiletries, great pool and a free shuttle into and back from the night bazaar.

Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowhedge, Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Just left, with regret, Shewe Wana Boutique hotel. If you fancy a bit of luxury for a not outrageous price then this is the place for you. Breakfast was excellent and the staff really could not do enough for you, from printing boarding passes to taking us on to our next hotel they just got right to it. Cannot thank them enough for giving us back our sanity after a couple of weeks constantly on the move.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RowhedgeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Chose Shewe wana after doing some research on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! Such a lovely hotel that we decided to stay a further two nights. We were picked up from the airport and taken into town every night (5minute tuk tuk) included in the price. Although a little big out of town we walked back every night and it only took around 15 minutes.

Dinner on the first night was included- 3 courses, so much food and it was all delicious the best food we had in Thailand! However, when we ate there for a second time we were not as impressed with the food and it was more expensive than in town.

The staff will do anything for you and get the tuk tuk to take you where you need to go so they took us up to the bus station for free when we checked out. They will book all excursions for you so you don't need to worry about anything. They will also flag down taxis and tuk tuks and agree a good price for you in Thai.

The rooms are cleaned daily and really nice set around the pool. They give you all the bathroom bits to use too and a hair dryer! Hot powerful shower is really good!! Also there is free wi fi available which is good.

Breakfast was included however we didn't really eat there after the first day. They offer cereal, eggs, waffles, pancakes, bread, fruit and croissants with juices and tea.

The deal we booked also included 1500baht voucher for the onsight spa, however even with a reduction of 1500baht the spa prices were extortionate so we went elsewhere and had a fabulous full body massage for 350baht.

Would love to return here and will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surin, Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Located about 1/2-1 km from the old city, this resort is a hidden gem. Luscious gardens greet you as you walk to your room. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite and felt like we got the Thai experience we were looking for. We came from visiting rural Thailand and reaching a quiet, comfortable space was just what we needed. We were hesitant because it is located in a busy downtown area but once inside the walls you won't even notice the world outside. The staff was beyond friendly and always willing to help. Their English is also outstanding. They helped us plan our entire trip to Chiang Rai including a private tour guide day trip to Mae Salong and the Golden Triangle Museum. They even coordinated our ride from the bus station in Chiang Rai to the hotel. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Mai -- it is the best! If we could rate it with a 6th star, we would!

Room Tip: Suites are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing