We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Special little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We started our honeymoon here and what a place to be. Shewe Wana is so quaint and perfect. The staff were so freindly and helpful. Breakfast was splendid every morning.
2 pools and both a great size. Exquisite orchids everywhere and a herb garden with ponds no end. You would never even know the city of Chiang Mai was right out front. We could walk to the night markets in less then 10 mins (we went every night)....however we did tend to get lazy towards the end and started catching tuk tuks, only costing 40thb. Awesome, beautiful. I am in love with Chiang Mai now and I believe the accomadation at Shewe Wana is definaltley partly to blame for this :-)
A big thank you to the staff and we look forward to coming back some day.
regards
Dale and Shirley

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyBooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    228
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
178
418
52
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed a week in the Shewe Wana recently and were not disappointed. We had been upgraded to a De Luxe double room on the first floor. The room was functional but not on the large side compared to other hotels in Thailand. The standard rooms are even smaller, but do not let this put you off as everything else was top class. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 rating is the size of the rooms and the fact that floors are concrete and the bathroom looked as if the tiling had not been finished.
Service and food was excellent and the owner Joy is so friendly and always available for a chat.
As has been said, it's only a 15 minute walk to the night market and a 25 minute walk to the old town or 60Baht in a tuk tuk. We tended to walk to the town and Tuk Tuk back.
The two pools are excellent and were always quiet when we were there. One pool gets virtually no sun and the other loses the sun at 3.30pm, so if you want to sunbathe go early. Airport pick up and delivery was prompt and friendly. We had a complimentary dinner on the first night and free drink (did not appear).
We had a look in a top grade suite and were so impressed with quality, if you can afford it stay in one of these.
The Massage suite is very expensive compared to what you get in the city.
All in all we were delighted and would book again.
The

Room Tip: 1st floor towards the back of the hotel or one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceclowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This resort was just fantastic. It was such a lovely oasis after being out in the hustle and bustle all day. It was laid back and tranquil. The gardens were amazing and the pool was so refreshingly cool that I could have stayed in it all day.

The rooms were very clean and tidy and quite large for the price.

The owner was super friendly as were the rest of the staff.

The food was fantastic (try the banana pancakes) and my husband has been on the hunt for a pad Thai that meets their standards since we got home.

We had such an amazing time there that my parents booked in on their last trip and they have also been raving about it ever since.

To get some perspective we stayed in other 3 4 and 5 star accomodaton our trip but nothing compared. We liked that it was a little away from the centre but probably one of the closest hotels to the night bazaar. Great place to stay!!!'

Oh and try to catch the overnight train from Bangkok to chiang Mai (first class sleeper cabin) it's def not our first class but it is an experience not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOBSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

First and foremost, my girlfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Shewe Wana. This boutique hotel is prefect for individuals, couples, and families looking for a quiet and clean place to stay in Chiang Mai that doesn't look or feel like a hotel.

The hotel is situated across the Ping River to the east of the city center. Walking from the hotel to the Night Bazaar will take you around 15 minutes. A tuk tuk to the Night Bazaar will take you around 5 minutes. There are nice restaurants on Ping River, same side as the hotel, which will take you around 10 minutes. As with any city streets in Chiang Mai, the traffic and the commotion outside can be pretty loud. However, when you step into the entrance of the hotel and walk back through the beautiful garden, where your rooms will be, it is quite peaceful. The garden is pretty large, filled with local plants which keeps the rooms facing it cool and quiet.

The hotel room that we stayed in was quite large with a refrigerator, cable TV, and AC. When you walk into the room you feel as though you are in a large classic Thai residence from the wooden doors to the beautiful furniture in the room to the organic charcoal bamboo soaps and shampoos that were placed in the rooms every day.

The breakfast in the morning is great. There is both an American and a Thai breakfast which they serve in a buffet and sit down style. Do try the pancakes and french toasts; they are delicious. We also had lunch and dinner there too and they were also tasty, fresh, and clean.

The staff is very attentive from receptionists to the cooks. Since it is a boutique hotel many staff members perform many different roles which is a good thing because you can ask anyone questions about the hotel and Chiang Mai and they will most likely have an answer for you. Also when you there, P' Joy, the managing director of the hotel is always there to be help. She made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable with her knowledge of the area and her friendly nature.

Throughout our trip around Thailand we constantly told other travelers to stay at Shewe Wana if they were going to Chiang Mai. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank North S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

After passing through the unassuming entrance, we were greeted at reception by a friendly, attentive staff dressed in traditional northern Thai costume. Although located on the busy main road into the central city, once inside it was a picture of peace and serenity. The grounds are like a botanic garden beautfully designed and maintained. There are two swimming pools to choose from and offered us a refreshing dip after a day of sightseeing. Shewewana has a 6 passenger 'tuk-tuk' which we took to visit some of the sights in the older part of Chiang Mai, notably Wat Ket Karam. There is a traditional large open market a few minutes walk from the hotel.
For breakfast, we had a choice of resturant service or self-sevice buffet with a varied selection of Asian or Western food; we chose the buffet during our stay.
Being on a main road has its advantges in that just step outdide and we had a choice of red mini-bus, taxi or tuk-tuk to go to the center of Chiang Mai. We also had the pleasant surprise during our stay to see two parades pass right in front of the hotel: Chinese New Year Dragon and Chiang Mai Flower Show parades.
We both had the best massages ever in the spa; a quiet, serene environment with the best massuse to be found anywhere.
We will definately be back on our next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

After visiting and searching on the web, we really wanted to stay at this little paradise in Chiang Mai. Due to the price we were only able to stay at Shewe Wana Boutique Resort & Spa for two nights before staying at another hotel in Chiang Mai. However upon arrival (around 6 PM) we saw that the area was deserted and far away from the Night Bazaar. The staff welcomed us with open arms, though the room was situated somewhere, lost in a corner, very basic and small, concrete floor (read: no wooden floors, carpet or what so ever). But the biggest problem: the beds. They were so high that we had to climb onto the beds. Not very convenient at night when you have to go to the bathroom or for disabled people. We decided to stay the night and check the next day.
Breakfast was ok, small buffet, the rest could be ordered from a menu, free of charge but not very inviting.
After breakfast we went to the reception, they explained that all the beds are high (higher then normal standards). However they offered a suite, since we had paid our travel agent in advance (and it would be difficult to get a refund). We decided to check out, since all the beds had the same height and my mum would have a hard time with her disabled leg.
The reception was really helpful with the whole situation, helped us with getting a cab, apologized and even gave us a few bottles of organic shampoo and body lotion.
Conclusion: nice hotel if you are looking for green, simple and organic. Interior not really modern/updated (bit dark), but clean. Not close to the Taipei Gate and night bazaar, however there are some shops and there is a local market nearby. And remember the height of the beds. A big compliment for reception and reservation department for their help.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

we have been positively suprised with our stay at Shewe Wana - this hotel indeed was excellent in most every aspect.
booked a Jacuzzi suite and liked it a lot - clean and spacious - seperate livingroom-area with a kitchenette - large windowfront; balcony outside, nice bathroom with whirlpool.
the hotel is stretched out alongside a narrow, long garden; very green, flowers abound and there is a nice small swimmingpool in the frontend of the garden.
our room was in the rearend of the garden, far from the street, so it was very quiet, in fact we didnot hear any "noise" during the time we stayed there at all.

the service-staff has been excellent - very helpful with arranging a (free of charge) airport-shuttle very early in the morning, and they arranged/opened the breakfast-buffet 1,5 hours before scheduled for us and another couple guests that had to go very early to the airport.

the only downside of this hotel: its a bit further out from the city center, and the neighborhood of the hotel is quite run down; that didnot bother us too much though, so we can definitely recommend Shewe Wana and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#29 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 361 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing