We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Garden of Peace in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a Garden of Peace in a big city”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have had a wonderful stay at Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa in Chiang Mai Thailand. I could not have found another place in Chiang Mai that is as beautiful and has such a welcoming and friendly staff. This truly is a restful garden amidst a busy city.
I stayed in a one-bedroom suite - VERY QUIET! Thai decorated and absolutely lovely. Very clean, comfortable furniture and bed, great food in the dining room and garden restaurant, front desk staff friendly and helpful, airport service, and the grounds are well-kept with an attention to detail. The location is about 20 minutes from Tapae Gate, and there are many tuktuks, or taxis that can give a lift to all areas of the city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay longer and rent a suite - lovely to unpack, relax, and enjoy the surroundings as you get to kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    282
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
202
527
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We loved staying at Shewe Wana- everything about it was just fantastic. Staff are so friendly and go above and beyond to assist you even when not asked. Our room was lovely- traditional Thai influence, very clean and the handmade organic shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and hand soap was such a brilliant bonus. Breakfast was delicious- the banana pancakes...YUM! Location is a little out of the way but you can be at the night bazaar in about 5 minutes and the old city 20 minutes by foot, otherwise taking a taxi or tuk tuk is easy. Stayed for our honeymoon and would go back to stay in the future. Just loved it!

Room Tip: We're quite sure that whatever room you get you will be impressed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick_dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

For our year end holidays, my husband chose Chiangmai for two reasons. One to relive his experiences 20 years since his last visit and secondly weather and to experience zipline. I was left with planning the accommodation. I was attracted to the Shewe Wana for it's setting, rooms and boutique setting. I did not want the 5 star high rise commercial hotel!

To my delight I was not disappointed. From airport transfer by a clean comfortable mini van, to the reception and a wonderful room with 4 poster bed to a comfortable king size bed that fitted my husband and 7 year old sun with room to spare! My husband remarked what a great sleep he had and we learnt later that it was a Sleepmate mattress! The elegance of furnishing can be savored not only in the bed but also spa like natural soap, bath gel, shampoo n conditioner - bamboo charcoal - that made my hair soft shiny and smooth.

The breakfast spread is great! With cooked items made as you order! I loved the decor of using old Singer pedal sewing machines as tables. The service was great too with Joy, the owner mingling with guests to ensure all is well. My son n I tried both pools. The water is clean and ample pool towels!

Love the garden that envelops the place! Though small it is enough to give you a wonderful ambience. The room came with dinner and the food was great! There is free shuttle to the night market where we took most of our dinners.

The location is not far from the buzz of the city. Just 30Bhat per person gets you there.

All in all I would return back to Shewe Wana on our next trip to Chiangmai!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphneTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our stay for 5 nights at Shewe Wana exceeded our expectations in every respect.
Staying over the Christmas period we wanted a quite boutique style retreat and Shewe Wana delivered.
Our deluxe suite was spacious, very clean and exhibited the traditional wooden furnishings blended to the enviroment and atmosphere being created. A cold beer on the private balcony was specially memorable
Loved the lush trees and gardens beautifilly groomed and which enhanced the jungle ambience of the property. .The staff friendly and very willing to please but, as we see often in Thailand, their grasp of even basic English, remains a frustration at times.
The food was a stand out, particulary breakfast which had variety and taste appeal.With the added touch of the owner, Kay meeting and chatting to guests from time to time, we always felt special and this gives us lasting memories of our stay at Shewe Wana.
Their coffe shop next door was a special escape for a delicious fruit smoothie.
The spa was on hand for the obligitory massage or treatments but is not the main focus of the resort. Easy and cheap tuk tuk ride to the main city shopping areas.
Two small pools but too chilly to sample.
If you are looking for the contempary style boutique hotel resort with flashy glass and modern architecture then Shewe Wana is not the choice but in our mind the perfect retreat in Chiang Mia for those who seek relaxation, luxury and value for money.

Chris

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_kidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

we arrived Chiang Mai and checked in early at Shewe wana on 23rd Dec 2011 at around 9am. It was a relief as we were quite sleepy and tired having to catch the flight early from Kuala Lumpur. We asked for a one-bedroom suite but unfortunately it was fully booked and had to settle with a deluxe room. No complaints though as the room was clean and nice. The resort was really beautiful and clean with good and friendly staff especially the owner, Joy. We also enjoyed the Spa, quite pricy but after 40% discount...no complaints! Best of all, free wi-fi in the room!!!
Location wise, the resort was not far from the city (walking distance) but we recommend taking the red taxi or tuk-tuk to go around.
However one thing that disturbed our stay was the noise from the people above our room (i guess it was after a Christmas party). Furthermore, there were noises from the parking lot or the main road since our room was at the end of the block ..
Other than that, we had such a wonderful stay in Chiang Mai and hope to return again soon!!

Room Tip: Go for the Suites. They are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Shewe Wana is a green oasis in a quieter part of Chiang Mai. We usually prefer smaller boutique hotels and found Shewe Wana a wonderful option. We stayed 7 nights in a tasteful one-bedroom jacuzzi suite at a fair rate - everything was clean and well-maintained, spacious with beautiful teak wood flooring and traditional Thai furniture, a living area, dining-kitchenette area, french doors to an airy patio, large walk-in wardrobe, large bathroom with jacuzzi stocked with organic products. What you see on their website is what you get. The hotel also has a indoor spa (which we regretfully did not have time to experience). The staff are all very nice and helpful with a good command of English. None of that hovering for tips - in fact we had to chase them down to tip! Shewe Wana is a 15 mins walk to the restaurants along Ping River and a 5 mins / 60 baht tuk tuk ride to the night bazaar. The location is great if you want good proximity to the action without sleeping right in the middle of chaos - and is not difficult to find for the tuk tuks. Guess our only gripe is around the limited breakfast spread - ok for a couple of days, a drag if you stay a week like we did. The breakfast staff got us a local special one morning and told us that they had bought the goodie at a local market 5 mins away by foot - before long we were grabbing our juice fix at the breakfast room and heading out to eat at the market every morning!

Room Tip: Pay more for a suite - ours was 211 which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriennewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Really enjoyed the stay here, staffwere helpful suggesting a packed lunch for or last day as we l had an early flight, rooms were basic but charming in their simplicity. The natural shampoo and conditioner provided was nice and we really enjoyed the breakfast. Location was great, closer top the river restaurants and within easy walk of the old town. Couldn't have asked for more. Laundry service was a bit pricy but results were good

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petefryatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
729 reviews
1.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing