We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful traditional Thai style rooms & environment with AC & Internet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Beautiful traditional Thai style rooms & environment with AC & Internet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We booked their two room suite. It is furnished with traditional teak furniture (looks antique) its very pretty. It has a big living room (with flat screen & DVD player) & dining room (with a table). Two bathrooms with comfortable toilets, large showers and a jetted tub. It has two bedrooms - one of them overlooks one of their two pools on site. both bedrooms have a king size bed with all that great teak furnishings that give this place the Thai look and feel. Free wi-fi, which is very fast and easy to access. Upon checking in, the bags were brought up for us along with complementary fruit drinks. For being in the middle of the city, they did an AMAZING job of creating a jungle/secluded atmosphere with walkways surrounded by bamboo, flowers and Thai foliage. Chiang Mai is much cooler (about 10 degrees) than Bangkok so this room's balcony is wonderful to spend your evenings on overlooking the pool and the beautiful grounds. The staff was awesome... gave us a 7pm checkout for free to accommodate our late evening departure to Phuket. Other than the firm Thai style beds (we are some soft Westerners!) we wouldn't change anything. We all had a great time and loved our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levi-Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    264
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
190
491
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at Shewe Wana for 4 days and 3 nights. The place was amazing! The hotel is really a forest in the city as we were surrounded by plants and trees once we entered the hotel. Our room is very cozy and the bathroom is amazing! As the surroundings was quiet, we had no trouble sleeping. However, the room had a few mosquito so be sure to bring your umbrella. The water from the tap can be quiet unpredictable at times, with boiling hot water spilling out even though we had already turn the knob to 'cold'. But all in all it was amazing! The food there is AMAZING! I totally miss the breakfast there. Banana pancake, waffles, homemade breads, fruit salad, etc! The food was fresh and extremely nice! The variety of food is not as large as those big hotels but the quality of food is 10times better! On our last breakfast, the owner even had a special breakfast for us! Chicken porridge and youtiao on top of the normal spread! The chicken was extremely tasty and the youtiaos are to die for! It's even nicer than those in Singapore! on top of that, they do not add sugar or msg in their kitchen! definitely worth trying! The cafe connected to the hotel was also amazing we went there 3 times for lunch in our 4 days there! For 49 Bhat, you get to choose from a wide variety of healthy fried rice and phad thai! My favorites would be the tom yum phad thai and green curry fried rice! The portion is big and the food is damm delicious.! Try the banana and strawberry smoothies too! As we went during the off peak rainy season, they were not a lot of guests during our stay! We were given the hotel staff's full attention during our stay and even though we did not stay in a suite, we had a 'private' pool and jacuzzi outside our room. It was amazing to know that we are well taken care off as whenever we used the pool, a staff would materialize in front of us with towels. The staff there were also helpful in answering our questions and most were able to speak English. We managed to speak with the lady boss of the place for our breakfasts. She shared with us the nice organic tea that chiang mai produces everything about the hotel. The location of the place is actually a bit far from the Night Bazaar area but we enjoyed the walks to and fro the old city everyday. There's also a wet market a few minutes away from the hotel which would bring you closer to the people after visiting it. In all, this place is amazing for people who wants to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and relax during their stay in Chiang Mai. It's different from those big and commercialized hotels and definitely better in providing the extra personal touch! It's also safe as there's security cams around and a security guard at night. The lady boss even shared with us that they'd take note of where the guests were going and whether they've return safety for the night! :D The shampoo and conditioner was amazing too we bought 2 bottles back!

Room Tip: Stay at the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanSihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

This place is great! It is a convenient location close to the train station and night bazaar, and also some lovely restaurants along the Mae Ping river. Since it is also a spa, the feel of it is very peaceful and relaxing, and the garden is beautiful. There was a free breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, granola, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice, and a pancake or waffle item that varied each day. The first day they made mango pancakes, and we all loved them. The rooms were nice and clean, and the bathroom products were great. My friend and I even bought some shampoo and conditioner to bring home. The beds were comfortable. Even though it's close to the river and night bazaar, it's pretty quiet, and the pools are nice. The workers there were all extremely nice and helpful, and the front desk workers spoke English well. The fitness center was very limited, but Chiang Mai is a great walking city, and this hotel is close to the river and a park. We have visited Chiang Mai many times before and stayed at different hotels, but this is the best, and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaeBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel is in a OK part of town (lots of automotive stores), but not far from anything. You can walk to the Night Bazaar in about 15-20 minutes or just take a cab and it will be less than 5. The hotel is kind of tucked away and you would not even know you were in a city once on the grounds. Great landscaping, pools, and spa. The breakfast was also a favorite when they served the mango pancakes. For the woman out there the shampoo and conditioner they provided was awesome. The staff did an incredible job to make sure you had a good stay. Great hotel to relax and rooms were large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Like anything in Thailand call and negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

I traveled for two days only to do see some tourist attractions; staff exceed any expectation since the time you arrived here, very kind, taking care of all you needs all the time, giving you suggestions and always with a sweet smile. Rooms are very good, free internet, very good food, everyhing was excellent for me and my friends, will stay again and recommend this hotel without any doubt . .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Beautiful facility with fine amenities. Staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. Location is within walking distance of the NIght Bazaar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivytenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay, this hotel was close to city without being on top of it, it was in a busy location but the oasis like grounds/surrounding and friendly staff more than made up for this. My room was a tad noisy but I did have all the windows open and opted not to use the air conditioning. Breakfast was yummy and the staff were attentive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing