We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service & nice environmemt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #38 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service & nice environmemt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has shuttle transfer which is friendly and easy to book. Another private car service to attractions with reasonable price and travel counter services available all day. Staff are very nice.
Breakfast was average. You could fill up the stomach yet don't expect much.
A problem was many mosquito inside our room. I killed six easily on the walls when i first entered the room which i hope the hotel could work on it most.
After all, a good try if it's not that expensive to you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyleafinxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    397
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
136
395
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel was clean, friendly and room were spacious. Great hotel grounds and breakfast was a welcome treat. Bit pricey but very nice for the area. Staff was exceptional and very helpful. There were daily shuttles to the Night Bazaar and a unique activity each day...

Room Tip: we had a 1 bedroom included cooking facility, fridge and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a medium-sized boutique-style hotel. Rooms surround a beautiful garden but the passageways to the rooms overlook filthy buildings and streets outside the hotel grounds. Rooms are of good size but they are dark and showing their age. The highlight of the bathroom is the large round tub but parts of the bathroom are mouldy, as noted before, and have spiderwebs. I even spotted a tiny daddylongleg. Swimming pool staff is very friendly but some other staff tend to be a little irritable. Breakfast has an abundance of choices.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. |The key did not work when we first got to the room, and it took them about 15 minutes to fix it. One night we could hear a lot of noise as we were close to the alley, but it didn't bother us other nights. Tv channels are great. Breakfast is simple but plentiful, and is in a lovely setting in the gardens. Staff are really lovely.
The pool is nicer than it looks in the photos, although it was too cold to swim, we enjoyed cocktails in the sun.
Great location with plenty of shops/restaurants/laundry near by.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifitrixvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

i stayed at this hotel last week for 5 nights,,very nice,i was there for new years eve,,nice show ,,,,good breakfasts,,great staff ,,except they don't speak english other then kim and kaka ,they are great especially the manager kaka or kk ,sorry forget how to prounouce it,,,the travel agent desk in the lobby ,is not owned by the hotel ,i wouldn't use them ,the owner is very rude,asking for tips,etc ,and the girl although nice ,isn't into her job at all ,, very nice garden

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Last stay here was business in 2009 - excited to stay here in 2014 with family. We rented two rooms per night. Very disappointed. Yes, grounds are nice(mosquitoes were a problem at this hotel not at others we stayed) staff wonderful, location good, etc. reviews say it well. BUT, overall the property is not maintained, ie. woodwork, etc. breakfast was the most limiting of any hotel we stayed at, beds are very hard ( travel much in Asia and these are about the hardest) and most importantly bathroom showers have a lot of mold -- IF showers were properly cleaned between guests this would not happen. Hotel tried to make it right, moving us to another room - however that room had identical problem -- total 4 rooms all very bad mold in shower. City sold out leaving us with few options. No senior manager ever addressed the problem with us. Hotel manager was on vacation; left feeling very unhappy. Cannot recommend and I stayed here frequently in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved our stay here. The first 3 nights of a 7 week extended honeymoon so on a budget but trying to keep a little luxury. The hotel is located in the sleepy old town with enough going on around you for a meander on foot most days. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable (we asked for a mattress topper on our bed). There was a huge bath tub with shutters that open out onto the room as well as a huge shower. Free wifi, plenty of plugs and a very good breakfast everyday (continental, cooked and asian cuisine). Staff were helpful & friendly. We grabbed a taxi easily and fast from the airport which was cheaper than the hotel service but used theirs for our return for simplicity.
There's a really good health food cafe called Dada round the corner to the right - all the food/ juices are great breakfast/ lunch/ dinner
And a great & cheap massage spa called Lila - turning left out of the hotel
During our stay we also did a street food tour on the first night - not great but a nice way to introduce different foods
Baanchang Mahout training - really good once you get used to the fact that the rescued elephants are chained most of the day

All in all this is a perfect boutique hotel for a short break in the city, book early it was always full (but never noisy)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing