We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here 5 years ago; now worn and bathroom mold”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“stayed here 5 years ago; now worn and bathroom mold”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Last stay here was business in 2009 - excited to stay here in 2014 with family. We rented two rooms per night. Very disappointed. Yes, grounds are nice(mosquitoes were a problem at this hotel not at others we stayed) staff wonderful, location good, etc. reviews say it well. BUT, overall the property is not maintained, ie. woodwork, etc. breakfast was the most limiting of any hotel we stayed at, beds are very hard ( travel much in Asia and these are about the hardest) and most importantly bathroom showers have a lot of mold -- IF showers were properly cleaned between guests this would not happen. Hotel tried to make it right, moving us to another room - however that room had identical problem -- total 4 rooms all very bad mold in shower. City sold out leaving us with few options. No senior manager ever addressed the problem with us. Hotel manager was on vacation; left feeling very unhappy. Cannot recommend and I stayed here frequently in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    408
    79
    27
    8
See reviews for
141
416
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved our stay here. The first 3 nights of a 7 week extended honeymoon so on a budget but trying to keep a little luxury. The hotel is located in the sleepy old town with enough going on around you for a meander on foot most days. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable (we asked for a mattress topper on our bed). There was a huge bath tub with shutters that open out onto the room as well as a huge shower. Free wifi, plenty of plugs and a very good breakfast everyday (continental, cooked and asian cuisine). Staff were helpful & friendly. We grabbed a taxi easily and fast from the airport which was cheaper than the hotel service but used theirs for our return for simplicity.
There's a really good health food cafe called Dada round the corner to the right - all the food/ juices are great breakfast/ lunch/ dinner
And a great & cheap massage spa called Lila - turning left out of the hotel
During our stay we also did a street food tour on the first night - not great but a nice way to introduce different foods
Baanchang Mahout training - really good once you get used to the fact that the rescued elephants are chained most of the day

All in all this is a perfect boutique hotel for a short break in the city, book early it was always full (but never noisy)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This place lived up to its name - the atmosphere was perfectly serene. Nice rooms with thai character and great garden in the center of the hotel. Free breakfast was great as well. Location was fabulous right in the middle of the action but the hotel was walled in so it felt like an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle. Docking one star because shower was only cool water, which was the last thing we wanted after days spent in the cold weather outside (it was about 50 Fahrenheit while we were there).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Bodhi is a great boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful (though speak little English). The pool is lovely!!

Free breakfast was included and was super delicious.

The only bad thing I have to say is the beds are terrible. Sooo hard.

Also this hotel is more so for couples than solo travellers or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is built around a court yard I with lots of wood and louvred to give it that Asian feel. The rooms are a good size. We had a balcony with attached day bed style seating, overlooking the central water feature. The bathroom had a huge round bath for two, and you could open the wall up to see into the bedroom and out to the courtyard while relying in the bath. All very nice.

The bed is large... But very hard. They were able to put an overlay on for us to stop the morning aches and pains.

The location in the old city is fantastic. Not far from the wats, the night market, the central produce market and the walking streets.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the local cafés is very good. Not so many street vendors in this area, they are all at the markets, but the cafés are good and very cheap.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bska59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November. Our first choice of hotel was fully booked due to the fesitval but it all worked out well in the end.

Here's what you need to know if you are thinking of staying:-

THE PROS

1. Location. As many people had already highlighted, this hotel is walking distance from most of the major sights in Chang Mai. It's probably a bit too far to walk to the night markets but the hotel put on a free shuttle service every night. There is a Thai boxing stadium close by and loads of good places to eat.

2. The staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (very early) but they gave us a drink, looked after our luggage and made suggestions for things that we might want to see.

3. The breakfasts were fab - great omelettes and lots of options!

4. The room. We had an exec room which was huge, had a double bath tub and a big, comfy bed. It looked out onto the big court yard which meant lovely views but a few mosquitos (which is a problem that the hotel were tackling whilst we were there).

5. The pool area. It was great to go for a dip after a days sightseeing. The pool area was spotless, there were always enough sun loungers and towels on standby and having the bar with their happy hour offers right next to the pool was a very wise business move!

THE CONS

There aren't any! This is a fab little hotel, with great staff and in a fab location. I would stay there again if I went back to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Walking distance to the night market and the nice parts of town. So much wonderful stuff right outside the front door. Great meals, lots dinner/drink options within 5-10 minute walk. Really an incredible location. Cannot say that enough.
The service was great, front desk was helpful, kind, and informative. They also set up taxis and rides for us whenever we needed.
The room itself was awesome. Wonderful little porch area to enjoy a coffee/beer. Big, comfortable bed, HUGE bathroom. Really a 5 star feel without the pretentiousness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#43 of 383 in Chiang Mai
920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing