We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise in chiang Mai”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise in chiang Mai”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Bodhi is a great boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful (though speak little English). The pool is lovely!!

Free breakfast was included and was super delicious.

The only bad thing I have to say is the beds are terrible. Sooo hard.

Also this hotel is more so for couples than solo travellers or friends travelling together.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    405
    78
    27
    8
See reviews for
139
412
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is built around a court yard I with lots of wood and louvred to give it that Asian feel. The rooms are a good size. We had a balcony with attached day bed style seating, overlooking the central water feature. The bathroom had a huge round bath for two, and you could open the wall up to see into the bedroom and out to the courtyard while relying in the bath. All very nice.

The bed is large... But very hard. They were able to put an overlay on for us to stop the morning aches and pains.

The location in the old city is fantastic. Not far from the wats, the night market, the central produce market and the walking streets.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the local cafés is very good. Not so many street vendors in this area, they are all at the markets, but the cafés are good and very cheap.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bska59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November. Our first choice of hotel was fully booked due to the fesitval but it all worked out well in the end.

Here's what you need to know if you are thinking of staying:-

THE PROS

1. Location. As many people had already highlighted, this hotel is walking distance from most of the major sights in Chang Mai. It's probably a bit too far to walk to the night markets but the hotel put on a free shuttle service every night. There is a Thai boxing stadium close by and loads of good places to eat.

2. The staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (very early) but they gave us a drink, looked after our luggage and made suggestions for things that we might want to see.

3. The breakfasts were fab - great omelettes and lots of options!

4. The room. We had an exec room which was huge, had a double bath tub and a big, comfy bed. It looked out onto the big court yard which meant lovely views but a few mosquitos (which is a problem that the hotel were tackling whilst we were there).

5. The pool area. It was great to go for a dip after a days sightseeing. The pool area was spotless, there were always enough sun loungers and towels on standby and having the bar with their happy hour offers right next to the pool was a very wise business move!

THE CONS

There aren't any! This is a fab little hotel, with great staff and in a fab location. I would stay there again if I went back to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Walking distance to the night market and the nice parts of town. So much wonderful stuff right outside the front door. Great meals, lots dinner/drink options within 5-10 minute walk. Really an incredible location. Cannot say that enough.
The service was great, front desk was helpful, kind, and informative. They also set up taxis and rides for us whenever we needed.
The room itself was awesome. Wonderful little porch area to enjoy a coffee/beer. Big, comfortable bed, HUGE bathroom. Really a 5 star feel without the pretentiousness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and they only had one room available. It was ok, nothing too fancy. The photos make it look upgraded but it's pretty cheap updates. Bathroom had mildew and the beds were so hard that it felt like I was sleeping in a rock! We only stayed one night and moved to another hotel for cheaper and better beds. If you enjoying sleeping comfortably don't stay here too long. I read that someone asked the front desk for mattress pads. We didn't but seemed like it worked for them.

The breakfast was not all that great either . It is set up in a nice court yard but given how much we paid we were expecting a little bit more.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mehinojosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Has to be one of the best inside the old city.
The hotel itself is set around a pretty garden, the room we stayed in was very nicely decorated, clean and well maintained.
We didn't have an evening meal here, but the breakfast buffet was very good.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay here against on the next trip to Chiang Mai.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BibandTucker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here last week and we enjoyed it very much! The location is very good in the old center of Chiang Mai. A magical swimming pool and the breakfast is very good (the best in Thailand in my opinion) Rooms were large and clean, staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuriAmanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,812 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing