We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location friendly service for exploring chiang mai”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked here because of excellent reviews on trip advisor.

Pros:
Location right in the middle of old quarter and walking distance from temples, shops, restaurants
Service is fantastic especially Tip at the tour desk who recommended and arranged massages as well as a private car for us.
Large spacious rooms with English tv channels (rare even for hotels in Bangkok)
Pretty pool on the 2nd floor and nice lobby area
Free pick up and drop off from airport

Cons:
Room while large a bit dated with very firm beds
Breakfast while good in variety was average in taste

But hey, we come to chiang mai to explore and this is the best place. Private car arranged from the hotel was a great deal at 800baht for 4 hours!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumpjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

lovely to stay at. Very central. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts. Very boutique - only 3 storeys high. Man on information desk was extremely helpful and provided transport for me to places when I wasn't sure where they were.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannette011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sounds like we got the worse room when we stayed at Bodhi serene hotel ,as our experience was not an enjoyable one. The double bed was very uncomfortable, so much so my boyfriend decided to try the second bed, a single without any sheets or blankets! It was the better option, but... really they needs a clean up and update.

The breakfast was nice.To the contrary, we did not find our hosts welcoming, with the exception of when the bill was paid!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Devra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went here with my boyfriend last year and am returning again. It was such a beautiful room (Deluxe) with a beautiful balcony that overlooked the private courtyard. The location really sold it, situated right in the middle of the old city with massage parlours, laundromats, restaurants and bars all within 2min walk. The staff were lovely and helped with taxis and tour information endlessly. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Withoutboarders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here back in January of this year for a total of 4 nights.

The hotel has character on first impressions. Chiang Mai's centre can get quite hectic, and it's a testament to this hotel that it can be so centrally located within the walls of the city, yet provide that feeling of escape and oasis once you enter its grounds. The grounds are quite lush and green lending to a very calming feel.

The rooms, likewise, have a calming ambience, and it really was quite peaceful where we were (one of the top floor rooms). Unfortunately however, we found our room to be showing signs of age. Damaged wood, uneven floorboards, back door that doesn't lock easily, bathtub with stains etc. Perhaps the worst bit, however, was the undeniable smell that came from the toilet at times. Whether this was an isolated plumbing issue with our room or the hotel in general, I'm not sure. Given the positive reviews by others here, it seems like an isolated thing. I make it sound like it's all doom and gloom, when it really isn't as bad as that. The rooms are quite serviceable and are generally quite clean. However, given the price you pay, I'd expect something of higher quality. I caught up with a friend who was staying nearby at another place at about 5 times less the price, and I can honestly say this accommodation was not 5 times better.

Breakfast was a let down. Not really that tasty, and cold, cold, cold. However, they were happy to reheat my waffle and pancake on request. Once again, it just wasn't up to the standard that the hotel sets with its asking price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent a week here in July with my partner. My second time in the city. Last time stayed just out of the old city so know this time where the place to be was. Bodhi Serene is this place. One entry in and out so feels very safe. Location is perfect with plenty of cafes, laundries and restaurants nearby. Walk it easily to both Saturday and Sunday night markets.
The hotel itself was beyond reproach. Smooth check in and out. Great rooms - executive suite. Big spa bath, huge shower, king size bed and sitting area with kitchenette. On reflection we probably didn't need this size room but in low season the rates are very reasonable.
The pool is fabulous. Plenty of sun and it's refreshing and big. Enough sun loungers. Didn't eat t the restaurant so can't comment. Breakfast was good.
Tour desk very helpful.
We hired a driver who sits out the front for the day - took us to silk, silver, lacquer, paper factories and Siam Celadon. 300 baht. This seemed ridiculously low so gave him 600 and still felt it wasn't enough!! He has a grey SUV type car.
Will return in April 2014 on our next visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we found the bodhi in a perfect location right inside the old city. the breakfast was lovely in a perfect garden setting and all the staff were very friendly. The rooms were comfortable although the bathroom could do with some regrouting of tiles etc. The pool was great and the tour lady next door to the bodhi (T) was very helpful.

Room Tip: get a room on the first floor as mosquitoes could be a problem with the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 393 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 393 in Chiang Mai
966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $76 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing