We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location for exploring the old city”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good location for exploring the old city”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel has quite a large compound, nice layout and has a rustic feeling in the room. I stayed in the suite, which has a very large tub, and spacious. The bed however is a bit hard for my liking, and the first night I came in, there were a swarm of mosquitos greeted me. They do have an electric mosquito repellent in the room, but I had to call room service to spray the room. Breakfast option is a bit limited, and service can be a slow at times. Location of the hotel is very good to explore the old city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    403
    76
    27
    8
See reviews for
139
409
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of November for 4 nights before travelling on to Phuket. The hotel is in good location within the moated old city area of Chiang Mai. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and the night market is within walking distance, or you can just take the free shuttle from the hotel. The hotel is clean and spacious and I really enjoyed the breakfast, its buffet style and everything that should be kept cool is on ice and covered over to prevent flies from walking on it!

The beds are hard, which we hear is a Thai thing anyway, but it didn't stop us from sleeping. Although I was glad that our next hotel had a much softer bed and we were only sleeping on it for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly particularly Tip, who works on the tours desk, she was really helpful and informative and also very kind and friendly to us.

I think if we travelled by to Chiang Mai then we would probably try and stay in another hotel, not because there was anything wrong with this hotel, but because I think you could probably find better for the price and we were not blown away by the hotel. But really, this hotel is very nice in itself and we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chars_Al06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed in the Bodie in 2008 for 7 months, and as far as i know no one has beaten this record.
We set off from england to travel the world, and found the Bodie by accident, and ended up living there for 7 months.
We had a 3 1/2 year old daughter MOLLY, and our stay at the Bodie was just fantastic.
We have been back 3 times since , and have just booked to be there in april 2012 again.

Yes during the FROG season they can be noisy, but you will get that at any hotel at that time of year. Frogs need a little Nookie too, and they make the most of it during the mating season, come on we have all been there, A little nookie can be noisy sometimes, so dont blame the hotel because the frogs get a little passionate , thats part of the joys of traveling , to experience different frog songs.

We have become great friends with some of the employees of the Bodie, and nicer friendlier staff you will not meet. Find Meaow on the reception desk, or Tai , wonderful lovely people.

I am not going to write anymore, because if you are looking for a hotel to stay, how many hotels do you find where a family have stayed there for 7 months, that says it all, the bodie is the best place to stay in Chiang Mai.

Meaow is ..........Con sue i ........ ( spelt wrong ,but say it as i have written it) ,

Love you all at the Bodie, and cannot wait to see you in April.

Justin Julie Molly.................................................

Room Tip: Ask for Mollys room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExeterBobbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel really exceeded my expectations. The location was perfect for the Sunday walking street market, close to shops and restaurants and yet peaceful and quiet when inside.
Rooms were very spacious (we had a king bed plus 2 baby cots plus there was a few chairs and desk and still ample space).
Breakfast was simple but lovely to be near the gardens.
Pool was a little cold but again it was a nice setting.

Had lunch one day and this was a let down (probably the only thing that could be improved). And i would have liked softer towels in the room. These are only small negatives though as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

All in all I would stay here again if in Chiang Mai and recommend to others.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the central grassed courtyard so think they are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location in the old city and is definitely a serene oasis to relax in after tromping about the city. In fact some days we were there we barely left the hotel. The neighbourhood has plenty to offer (we've stayed in a number of old city locations in Chiang Mai and this street wins for food, spa and ambience offerings) as well as being walking distance to the Sunday Night Street market (the real zoo in Chiang Mai ;) The rooms are large, upper floor rooms have a balcony / lower floor rooms have a patio, and clean and well appointed. The bathroom was big, but could have used a little updating to fit into the 'wow' category. The breakfast was excellent, with enough choice in the buffet without overwhelming. We had perfectly cooked eggs benny and fruit salad every morning. Service was very friendly and helpful every day. The pool was fantastic.

We didn't eat any other meals here, as there was so much lesser expensive options on the road. Highly highly recommend "Ginny's Cafe" the eatery next door. Honestly some of the best Thai food I've had and they make a mean burger as well if you're craving western (for about 80 Baht a dish (under $3). Also a very good local soup restaurant at the end of the road (not gate side) and a fantastic nightly street food market (where you have to try the Roti and Pa's Fruit Smoothies!). Finally it's less than a ten minute walk to one of our favourite character but packed Northern Thai tapas restaurant called Huen Phen - which you can look up here on Trip Advisor.

I would definitely splurge on this hotel again, tho my only caveat is that we got our room for half the rack rate (so 3000 Baht rather than 6000) which I felt was fantastic value for the money. At 6000 I would have expected a little more from the room (which don't get me wrong, was lovely, but not over $200 per night lovely) i.e. a newer more wow bathroom.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better in that they have a little private balcony (whereas downstairs have a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

When we first arrived at bohdi, I was a little caught off guard...here's a beautiful hotel in the middle of a run down street...it seemed very out of place. But don't judge the hotel base on its street...once we explored Chiang Mai more, we realized how conveniently located it is to almost everywhere we wanted to go to...restaurants, shopping, massage, etc. Location is awesome! All the streets of Chiang Mai is a little run down but it's just the characteristic and culture of it that makes Chiang Mai what it is. What an awesome city! (our favorite city in Thailand by faaaar- we also visited Phuket n koh phi phi) anyways, back to the hotel - beautiful pool, which was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was delicious and included and the staff at the breakfast buffet were splendid! Super sweet and hospitable. The rooms were clean and nice - didn't get a chance to use the tub, looked really nice to have soaked in there. Overall, excellent hotel. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choonifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel was a little gem in the middle of the Old City. Walking distance to Sunday Walking Market, local temples, and within about 1 hour driving time to Doi Suthep, the Elephant camps, and Tiger Kingdom. Clean, adorable rooms, amazing breakfast (included), very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful infinity pool. Excellent hotel, good rates, definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing