We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city”
Review of Bodhi Serene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Ranked #35 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

When You enter the 'hole in the wall' that is the entrance to this hotel, you walk directly from the pulsating life in Chiang Mais old quarters into a calm oasis. The hotel is quiet, luxury and extremely well situated in walking distance to almost all you wants to visit in Chiang Mai. There is an abundance of nearby bars and restaurants and if You want to dine at the riverbank, there's always a tuktuk waiting.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janboegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    413
    80
    28
    8
See reviews for
146
421
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Large tastefully designed rooms with big bathrooms and good sized balcony looking over a quiet inner courtyard garden. The openair lounge / bar area has a lovely ambience, particulary in the evening. Good internet connection and nice free internet room with pc's available for guests. The staff were friendly, especially the staff in the pool bar / restaurant who frequently went out of their way to help, and advise. The hotel has a mini bus that they use to transport guests to the night market each evening free of charge.

The hotel charges for airport pick up / drop off. We had a problem with our shower that we complained about every morning but nothing was ever done about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty_hotpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Everything from staff to sleep quality, this place has it. Good looks, peaceful atmosphere, great location. If your staying in Chiang Mai and it suits the budget then look no further. Good, cheap laundry just a little down the street to the left as walk out and some really good eating in DaDa Kafe, Lisaan ( cheap, trendy place with great local food), and not to mention the walking street restaurant which is a lay-by food place on the street. Upmarket eateries all over the place as well. Difficult to be disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moffit808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Helpful staff, lovely room, good service, easy walk to Night Markets

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triss_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Wonderfully helpful and thoughtful staff, a great central location, beautifully decorated rooms. This was one of the best hotels I stayed at on my trip, and would definitely recommend it to someone going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelinogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My sister and I enjoyed 5 nights at this little boutique hotel, Bohdi Serene. It is in the older part of Chiang Mai but perfectly situated for us and within walking distance to the place we needed to be. On Sunday evenings there is a large market so you don't need to go to the major market in the city. There is a tall brick wall at the entrance and once you enter it is like being in a refuge that blocks out all the unpleasantness of the city. There are trees and pools that create a garden- like atmosphere. The breakfast is excellent and varied. Each room has a balcony or patio. Ask for ground floor unless you like climbing stairs. Staff are very attentive and strive to meet your every need. We would highly recommend it for anyone who doesn't like high rise huge hotels. I have stayed in 3 other locations in Chiang Mai. This is my favorite and I intend to return there next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Bodhi Serene is a great hotel that is centrally located, but also doubles as quiet and peaceful escape from the city. We stayed there for 5 nights. The first night we had a bit of an ant problem – but they remedied that by moving us to a new room which was clean and bugless. The staff was great and the breakfast was one of the best I encountered on my trip to Thailand.

I booked my trip through Asia Rooms which got us a great deal! The rooms were lovely with spacious bathrooms – with a separate Jacuzzi tub and shower. The beds were fine and not too hard. The overall look of the hotel was great – loved the layout. And the pool was nice and not too busy during the time I stayed.

The staff helped us to arrange daily outings and provided great suggestions and service.

I’d definitely go back again. It was the best place to end our trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CisForCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodhi Serene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Serene Hotel

Property: Bodhi Serene Hotel
Address: 110 Ratchaphakhinai Road, Phra-sing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodhi Serene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bodhi Serene is located within the old city walls of down town Chiang Mai surrounded by many ancient temples and is a mere 20 minutes from the airport, train station as well as the bus terminal. It is also visually and architecturally stunning with exotic Lanna style influenced by Chinese designs. There are only 38 rooms to offer most of which overlooks our central courtyard area with a tropical garden and waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodhi Serene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodhi Serene Chiang Mai
Hotel Bodhi Serene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing