We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas dinners ever!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pun-Pun Guesthouse

Pun-Pun Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pun-Pun Guesthouse
Ranked #424 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best Christmas dinners ever!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I went for Xmas dinner. We were very hesitant upon arrival to stay. The restaurant is outside restaurant and is small. No ambiance or atmosphere. Felt like we had dinner in the jungle with my family and the mosquitos. It's backpackers haven as there is guesthouses. Very laid back service. Service was good. Alcohol list limited. No cocktails or wine. Dinner with all the trimmings was 590 baht per adult. Portions are totally American sized hence the American owner. Could not even put a dent in the food. Turkey, 3 types of stuffing, soup, salad, mashed potatoes, corn, sugar candied yams, pie. Not buffet style. Sit down 4 course. Will go back to try other menu items.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kyo
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Terrible place, not worth the price. I often stay in budget, older guest houses but the single room 350bhat in the teak house had: worn out sheets, hot water heater with knobs that fall off, broken curtain rods, uncomfortable bed, noise from the street traffic, dim lighting, don't even provide toilet paper or H2O. Complaint about bugs was shrugged off. Management is nice enough but the whole place needs some TLC and a work over. I've stayed in similar standard but better quality rooms for about 220 bhat in Chiang Mai. Look around, this is a LAST option.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nibor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Guesthose is placed i little bit far from city center (10 minutes by bicycle), but what an adorable host are waiting for you. They have a lot'sof onformation, advises, can help ypu arrenge bike or bicycle rent and so on.
My room was very spacoius and very clean, i've booked it via e-mail.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inc_foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pun pun is a classic old style Backpackers Guesthouse, Simple, Not pretentious, Not fancy, best of all, not expensive. The location is good to get anywhere in town. The best feature is John the owner who has a great sence of humor and a fantastically accomodating staff. the food is both Thai and western with generous portions and great taste. Try the Superman Breakfast if you are hungry or the Meatloaf for lunch. For Thai food they are great as well.
If you want fancy or spanking new, find another if you appreciate a quaint place with a truly warm welcome this is the place.
If you do not stay here consider oit for a great meal at a great price.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stay away from this filthy guest house. One of the worst i,ve seen, despite the fact that the american owner is nice, the place is rally dirty and, quite frankly, the back of the place facing the river is smelly and near where hoteles people estay and can easily jump the short fence. By the way, at night the place has no security whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pere c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Real old-school backpacker place in Chiang Mai. Most places are new and boring now but this place is the way I remember SE Asia! Best food around too, hands down! Huge portions made right! I had awesome fish and chips and the wife loved her pork knuckle as well. The owner is amazing too. Nicest guy you'll ever meet!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakegeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

I loved it. Owner John will set up whatever you need while the Thai staff makes great meals (Thai or western, you must try the tomato or lime juice). Despite no aircon, the rooms were cool and I saw no mosquitos (despite holes in the wall). Houses are wood and rickety but kitsch and don't feel like they are on the road. Pleasant to have an afternoon drink in the restaurant. Showers were hot but pillows were hard, free slow computer, it's a balance, but budget travelers should like it a lot.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank nickhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Faham Lodge
#420 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#126 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pun-Pun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pun-Pun Guesthouse

Property: Pun-Pun Guesthouse
Address: 321 Charoenrat Road, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pun-Pun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pun-Pun Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing