We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$18
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Booking.com
$18
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Agoda.com
$14
View deal
Priceline$17
Hotels.com$18
eDreams$18
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveler rating
489
187
40
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
489
187
40
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 721 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This was are second stay at Golden Bell Hotel and we were happy this time as well. The hotel has a very good location. It is almost in the city center, but in a small and calm street.
We had a deluxe room which is highly recommended if you need a little bit bigger space. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast had a big selection. The staff is also friendly, they give us one hour before check in time to room.
The only negative thing during our stay is the swimmingpool, which is too cold.
The hotel has a very good price - quality ratio.

Room tip: Deluxe Rooms are much bigger than Superior Rooms, if you travelling with big bags it can be more comfortable
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Szilvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Sawasdee ka Szilvi_Moder,

Thank you so much for taking time sharing your experience with us on T/A. We are all pleased you have had a good time with us and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

We booked a stay for four days. The staff was nice, but we found a cockroach in the bathroom and the room looked like it had not been vacuum cleaned in quite some time with old spider webs (see photos). We asked for a new room, which was gently showed to us. Just watching the second room that was offered to us, guess what? Another cockroach in the bathroom. We asked for a refund which was given to us without further discussion. The receptionist gently booked a cab for us and paid for it. I guess they need to do a full pest control.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavalenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Dear Cavalenc,

With deeply apologize for the inconvenience that happened during the check-in. We apologize for not being able to meet up the standard of cleanliness. We did call the pest control in the next day to ensure that this incident won't happen again.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Golden Bell Hotel for the Thai new year. I was treated very well and the entire staff from the cleaning team, to the restaurant staff to the front desk staff were amazing! They all treated me with kindness and respect! I never had to worry about booking any outings as the front desk girls (Jenny, Joy, Olive and Ao)were all knowledgeable and spot on with their recommendations.

The room was spotless and spacious with a great floor plan. There was plenty of room to hang and store clothing and the bathroom was also functional and spacious. There was a small refrigerator to store cool beverages. The A/C was very cool and refreshing after a long day and the pool was nice and refreshing and also had a small jacuzzi next to it!

The location is ideal being close to the South Gate, a nightly outdoor food market, a morning local market with food, drink and about everything you can imagine. They are also about 200 yards from the Saturday Walking Street! Travel was easy either by walking, tuk tuk, bikes from the hotel or ordering a taxi from the hotel (May I recommend Suay as he was very knowledgeable and made any drive enjoyable)!

I want to thank Golden Bell for a wonderful time! I will see everyone again next year!!!

Tim Hopcus

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank E8395MQtimothyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Sawaddee ka Tim,

Thank you so much for your positive review on T/A. All staff at the Goldenbell enjoyed your company and we are looking forward to seeing you again in November.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Please check out my other reviews to see I always leave an honest opinion.

Fantastic servce and welcome. Staff were second to none, never ever have I seen in a hotel where every single member of staff was so lovely, polite and friendly. EVERYONE !!!!
Rooms are quite basic and our bed was quite noisy even just sitting on it lol, but it didn't matter. Hotel is just off the main road with a two min walk to an entrance for the old city. Two min walk for the Saturday night market which was fantastic, and better still, no one hassled you !!! That was fantastic. Stall holders were lovely, but no pressure or shouting which made it a delight to walk through,.

Breakfast - I will be honest and say limited, but only to the extent that there were not loads of dishes out, but it was replenished very quickly. Cereals, toast, yoghurts, fruits, egg station, fresh cooked bacon, noodle soup, and various other dishes that you come to expect in Thailand. Very tasty and again, staff fantastic.

Pool, due to the pool being in the shade, it was cold, too cold for me lol, but apart from that would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibaba73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Sawasdee ka alibaba73,

Thank you so much for taking time sharing your experience with us on T/A. We all are pleased you have had a good time with us and in our beautiful city Chiangmai.

We all hope to see you back here again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Tte staff was wonderful and the room was well clean. However, the property is dated and in much need of some upgrades. In my opinion, the property location is not ideal since it is about 25/30 mins walk from the night bazaar and further away from others part of town

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank arianny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbell H, Goldenbell Team at Golden Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Sawaddee ka arianny a,

Thank you so much for taking time sharing your experience with us on T/A. We regret to hear that you do not like the location. We are right at Chiangmai Gate (south gate) which 5 mins from the famous Saturday Market and 10 mins walk to the Sunday Market. Street foods market available everyday from dark until late night. there are a lot of Wats (temples) nearby which everywhere is walking distance. In this case I think you may stay with us during the weekday where it is quite quiet compare to the weekends.

our property is almost 4 and half years old but we try to keep everything in a good condition and your comment will help us to take this action seriously.

Thank you again for your recent stayed with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews