We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Sunday performance of Into the Light Focus on the Actor

This was a brilliant Sunday afternoon of entertainment. The actors were all fabulous and it was... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2017
Denise K
,
Brisbane, Australia
Must see a show here

Gate theater was built up in 1928 and it still keep in really good condition now If you have time... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2017
Travel814183
,
Statesboro, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chiang Mai
from $27.00
More Info
from $21.94
More Info
from $28.48
More Info
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
11
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

I have been in the audience and on the stage, and every experience with the Gate Theater has been very positive. It's easy to end up doing the same things over and over in Chiang Mai, so don't miss out on an opportunity to enjoy something different, interesting, and entertaining!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Mehergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016

I thought I'd be watching amateur dramatics but the Artistic Director punches these shows into professional productions. Very accessible and a fraction of the cost of big city live theater. You get so close that you almost walk right into the set. Fine entertainment on many levels.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2014

The Gate Theater is Chiang Mai's first and only English speaking small theater group. I've been to several of their productions including "The Laramie Project" and "Land of Smiles" as well as "Love Letters" and always leave the theater with a smile on my face! If you're here in my hometown of Chiang Mai and happen to see one of their productions advertised I hope you try to fit a performance into your holiday and enjoy some of our wonderfully, talented actors and actresses.

Date of experience: August 2014
4  Thank nannyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Gate Theater's Mission Statement: To maintain an active non profit theater group within the city of Chiang Mai where residents can become involved in the performing arts, while seeking to entertain, inform, and educate, thereby, enriching the cultural life of the Chiang Mai area in general and the English speaking residents of the community in particular.

And they do it well!! TGTG has undertaken everything from comedy (The Odd Couple) to deadly serious drama (The Laramie Project); from classics (Blythe Spirit) to the latest documentaries (Land of Smiles). All under the capable direction of Stephan Turner, whose three decades of experience in live theater make every performance a clarion call for a little more.

Admission fees of 200-300 baht barely cover out-of-pocket expenses, so the formidable talent you experience is entirely free.

I'm not on TGTG's staff; I'm merely a patron; but I couldn't be more enthusiastic about having this talented group in our midst.

Date of experience: February 2014
5  Thank Fwheby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews