We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
121
73
25
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
73
25
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vw van industrial look industrial style polished concrete great location old city sunday night market outdoor lobby hotel nights sunday walking street concrete floor small alley the hotel staff security guard swimming pool highly recommend staying here loy krathong festival
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 231 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at Thapae loft for our visit to Chiang Mai. Although the decoration was unique (concrete walls and floors) the rooms were spacious and kept very clean. The staff were very friendly and approachable and has an added bonus of being manned 24 hours. The only minor comment is that our shower seemed to be leaking out to the bathroom floor, but it was limited and it did not affect the use of the shower itself.
The hotel is situated within the old City and walking distance to Thapae gate. A great base location for exploring!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank foodietraveller8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Wonderful staff! They were very friendly and gave great recommendations for various activities around the city. Room was clean and well kept, and had a very comfortable bed. Perfect location for wandering around old Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Great location, the staff is super friendly and the hotel is beautiful and very clean. Front desk agents Patrick and Leti are super knowledgeable of what to do in town and recommended us with the perfect tours. My friend and I are very please with our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank robinsone2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Quirky hotel with industrial look, VW camper van transformed into a bar and another as a taxi. Loved it, staff so friendly and helpful. Great location right within walled old city in Chiang Mai. Hotel was spotless. Bed was very comfortable tho quilt rather warm even with aircon on. Soundproofing was great, we were in room 201 right above reception, bar and swimming pool to right, weren’t disturbed at all.

A couple shelves, coat hangers or more drawers would be ideal as wasn’t enough for clothes storage. Be careful as floors can be slippy but this could be said for tiled or wooden floors too.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Location for Thapae Loft cannot be beat if you are looking for a place to stay inside the walls of the old city.

Staff was pretty helpful when asking for recommendations.

The pool is nice and the breakfast was also pretty good. You have a lot of options on what to eat, although it is a very light breakfast.

The concrete floors in this place are extremely slippery, like dangerously so. Also I am pretty skeptical of the pictures on their website. While the measurements of the room are accurate the picture of the room we were staying in (Loft Suite . . . definitely NOT A SUITE) makes the room look much, much larger than it actually is. Bathroom is also pretty small.

Finally the fact that you take your key to disable the electricity makes your room extremely hot while you are gone.

It was nice, the staff was friendly, I just believe there are much better values in the city.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidB8309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews