We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, friendly”
Review of Manee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manee Guest House
Ranked #101 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, cheap, friendly”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights here at 400 baht a night, with b'fast included. The manager Amy is one of the friendliest and funniest women I have met in Chiangmai. The rooms were clean en suites with laundry service provided. Car and scooter hire service downstairs with lots of tour options also. The location was great too, rooms overlooking a temple, and a short walk from the night markets. It is tucked away enough to be peaceful at night although, during my stay, renovations were taking place out the back with a swimming pool coming soon. Once completed I was informed that the price will skyrocket to 1000 baht so enjoy this friendly and quite guest house now while it is affordable!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmanwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
73
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently spent 10+ nights there prior to Songkran. Rate was 500 THB / night. The room had AC, fan, fridge, cable TV, hot shower, a desk and dresser with hanging space. There's also a little nook off the side of the room to store your things. Room is good sized and clean, the whole hotel is very clean. The staff come by daily to change out whatever you need. Two free bottles of water / day. Staff are helpful and friendly but didn't use the tour agency located inside. For the price, the combo of hot shower, AC, fridge and desk/dresser seemed a good value, especially during Songkran. Bed is also decent. OH, and the location is excellent - plenty of eateries nearby and a temple right out front, which occasionally means some interesting music playing.

On the downside, sound travels between rooms easily. The curtains are really thin so that morning light comes streaming in - bring a sleep shade and ear plugs if you're sensitive. Technically, there's a breakfast but it's weak bread, butter, jam and tea - I didn't bother. Also, with fridge, TV and lamp plugged in, you have one power outlet left in the room.

All in all, a very solid offering. With proper blackout curtains, it's a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, farthest from street are quietest but not hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmethewanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently went to Chiang Mai for songkram and at a friends recomendation we stay at Manee guest house its just a very average place I can not find anything good to writte about it, the service was crappy, the rooms bare and poorly decorated, maybe the only good thing is the location but not a place to come back for sure. After looking around we found much nicer places with similar prices. One anecdote I was travelling with my two year old son and one night he was a little bit sick at the reception they charge my an extra 300 bath for the extra cleaning expenses mind you we are talking about a two year old in short we left very disapointed in short after over a year living in Thailand and traveling around this place is bad very bad it lacks in service terrible for a hotel and for the price they charge what you get is horrible much much better options in Chiang Mai , trust me don´t waste your time and money in this hole the only reason we stayed there was because we had booked there and duiring songkram everyother place was fully booked. Never again Manee guest hose!

Room Tip: While we were there the hotel seemed to be under construction dust all over the place I can not thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suratthani
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and felt so comfortable and looked after by Amy and Bow that I stayed another night and then returned for another night after going to Chiang Rai. The hotel is in an excellent location in the midst of all the charming, active spots in the old city. Many low cost excellent restaurants are within 1 block. I look forward to staying there again. Thank you Amy and Bow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean nice sized rooms. There is a small alcove just for luggage which frees up a lot of space. My only critique is inadequate curtains. But Amy and Bo make it welcoming and warm. Very nice to sit downstairs and relax. Perfect location. Rooms in the back are quieter. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The guesthouse is a very nice place, very friendly stuff, rooms are clean and comfortable and you always find someone for a chat. 24 hours someone keeps an eye on safety. Had a great time and will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

One of the cheaper places we stayed but very clean, nice and quiet and convenient. Friendly owner and good laundry service. Tucked away at the end of lane.

Rooms were of a good size with nice en suite

Good breakfast place next door

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hippichicknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#40 of 736 in Chiang Mai
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#75 of 736 in Chiang Mai
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 736 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#50 of 736 in Chiang Mai
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#202 of 736 in Chiang Mai
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manee Guest House

Property: Manee Guest House
Address: 23/5 Moonmuang Rd., Soi 7, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manee Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing