We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent week at the Queen Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon Ca Va

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bon Ca Va
Ranked #51 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent week at the Queen Victoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room (typically 800 Baht per night -- reduced to 650 for long-term stay), which was large, comfortable, and very quiet. Although the location isn't right in the center of the Old City, it is convenient to everything you'd want in Chiang Mai. The Thai food at the British pub downstairs is also surprisingly good. All in all, we had a great time here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWTripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    46
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
65
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at the Queen Victoria Inn for 5 nights in December and absolutely loved it. Fantastic room, in fact it was massive and came with an extra single bed as well, lovely and clean and definately more than what you expect for your money.
The pub downstairs offers really good food and is a nice place to have a beer at the end of a day exploring the city. Everything is within walking distance, the night bazaar, the Sunday walking street,, great location. There is a computer for the use of guests for free if you need to check your emails.
We booked 2 tours through the Queen Victoria and would recommend this service to anyone...if you are not sure which one, definately do the Elephant Nature Park, it should not be missed.
There is not a pool, but they have an agreement with a private swimming club close by and you can pay a discounted rate to use their facilities.

I would recommend the Queen Victoria Inn to anyone wanting a friendly, clean, safe accommodation in Chiang Mai.....and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

I booked the Queen Victoria through their email. I was reserved a room with no deposit and no hassle. They also discounted the rate since I was staying a week. From arrival to departure every need was met by an attentive staff. Everyone was friendly and that means something extra when you are traveling solo. The rooms were well appointed (cable tv, dvd, a/c, free water, balcony, wifi and minibar). One of the most important parts of my stay was eating breakfast at their restaurant/bar downstairs. Nothing in Thailand has compared with the Queen Vic's breakfast (discouted for guests). They played sports on the t.v. throughout the day and was an enjoyable place to waste away an evening. I enjoyed every aspect of my time at the Queen Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj_usf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Very easy going atmosphere, tidy and clean rooms, walking distance to sunday markets(60B tuktuk to night markets)along with decent food. Decided to book the hotel because of the reviews think one hit the nail on the head saying "its a home away from home". Think if you've been to places like Phuket and Bangkok you tend to be weary of overfriendly people but all the staff and the owner are very much geniune, hats off to Pascal and especially Nong, only complaint is that I didn't stay long enough for the sunday carvery:)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank con55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Queen Victoria Inn in Chiang Mai, initially for one week but were so impressed with the hotel, friendliness of the staff and owner that we stayed an extra week. The rooms are of a really good standard considering the price and we were made extremely welcome by the really friendly staff.The food is both Thai (very good, and I'm a farang) and English with a wide range to suit all tastes. If there is anything you need to be done, either Pascal, the owner, or the staff will go out of their way to make sure it happens and will not try to rip you off on commission or any other "hidden" costs. All in all, a very easy and relaxing place to stay with absolutely no hassle...PS they show any football games which are televised in Thailand too...a Godsend for a Scouser in exile!
Enjoy, I know we did!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

I found all aspects of the hotel to be excellent.Room nice and big with full facilities.Wonderful choice of English and Thai food and a good range of beers.Staff very friendly and helpful.As a former hotelier myself i rate the Queen Vic very highly and definitely worth the money.Staying in the same room again in 2009 which shows you how highly i rate it

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sploggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

My partner and I spent our week-long holiday in Chiang Mai. I found Queen Victoria on Tripadvisor and decided to stay with them after reading all the reviews! I'm so glad that it turned out to be better than expected.
The staff there are extremely friendly and helpful. Especially Nong. He was there to help us from the first day till the very last day. He suggested trips for us, got us transport and made sure that we made full use of our time and money! He is an excellent staff. Good job!
The boss is extremely nice to us too! I had to check my exams results from Chiang Mai and was very happy with my grades. I was so excited that I screamed and jumped in the bar. *embarrassed* Needless to say, everyone working there knew about my good news. When night came, we had a couple of drinks. When we wanted to pay for the drinks, the boss Pascal said the drinks were on him for congratulating my exams results. How great is that!!?? Thank you Pascal!!
Oh.. Not forgeting the food. The food is mouth-watering and the quantity is huge. My partner had a full-day breakfast and wasn't hungry till late noon even though we went trekking and white-water rafting that day!
Unless you know exactly what you want to do in Chiang Mai, listen to Nong's suggestions. He can tell you the normal price to pay for each tuk tuk's ride since many drivers will raise the price when they know you are a tourist. Ask him questions and he will try to answer them. Thank you Nong! For making my trip such a wonderful one. Many thanks to everyone else in Queen Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#28 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#48 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#34 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#40 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bed and Terrace Guesthouse Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ca Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ca Va

Property: Bon Ca Va
Address: 252/13-14, Phra Pokklao Rd | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Queen Victoria Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bon Ca Va 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the city walls of historic old town Chiang Mai, the Queen Victoria Inn is a traditional English country-style pub offering great value food, drink and accommodation. Our 8 superbly appointed guest rooms offer some of the best value-for-money accommodation in Chiang Mai. All rooms have air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hot-water shower, balcony, TV and DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ca Va reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing