We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place!!!”
Review of Bon Ca Va

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bon Ca Va
Ranked #49 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
felixstowe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Love This Place!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Im 22 year old female travelling alone and it was my first time in Thailand. I decided to stay somewhere with an English twist. Im so glad i did,staff was so helpful and took me around to see the sights on their own time. My phone got stolen (not in thailand) and they all took care of it to get me a new one asap...they orgernised great trips for me,and i met some great people. Food is so nice and being a veggie made me anything i wanted,even off the menu. Internet when ever you want..for free.
I have now been here twice..its good value for money,friendly,and right by everything...i cant rave enough about this place..book now!!! Love it.

Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
67
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

sorry been awhile since my visit.....looks like ownership has changed....previous owners were unbelievable (seriously) ...but service doesn't seem to have suffered...
SIMPLY the best room in the WORLD for around $25 US....if don't agree > tell me where
room was spotless....very nice bed (very tough to find at this price)....great view of temple and mountains....great variety on the menu ....all i tried was excellent
hate to mention any negatives....but >....if big partyer ..it's a bit of a walk to action and things get quiet early....and somewhat of an obstacle course to get to room... esp if disabled in any way....if tall watch your head !!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Nice place to stay.New Friendly owners who are very helpful.Clean rooms,good bathrooms.Very nice food.Will stay again

  • Liked — Clean,Nice food,Helpful owners
  • Disliked — Sometimes Can hear noise through walls
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ttamdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I would run out of superlatives to describe the owner, staff and the property as they are really excellent in all aspects!!

Very friendly and helpful staff, being the owner a great host (it helps that he is a Swiss national), as he really has taken very well over the business in the past 2 months. I asked him to arrange me a one-day tour that the promptly provided and it was really good at a much lower price than those on the internet. He also helped immediately in getting some medicine after my wife fell a little bit ill and never charged it back. What a great person!!

Like others already stated, the location was inside the old city, close to all the main temples and the Saturday/Sunday Walking streets.

I disagree with the comment that we can't meet other fellow traveller as I had the chance to chat with a few on the 2 nights we stayed there and having the pub downstairs is a great asset for that.

Food was great and the music that you could listen was quite nice, making a very pleasant atmosphere and suitable to have a couple of drinks. But almost no noise heard in the bedrooms and at 11pm it closes!!

In general Chiang Mai is a sleepy town, no way comparable to Bangkok non-stop action so it was great to have a nice night sleep without being waken by street noises. Howver it's really a phantastic hub for day trips or longer in the mountains, elephant riding, white water rafting hilltribes visiting, trekking, waterfalls and breathtaking mountain scenarios among lush tropical forests.

So it was the perfect combibation and if I return to Chiang Mai, I would get back to this wonderful guesthouse!! Keep on the great work Pascal!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This guest house is a jewel within the walls of Chiang Mai.

The staff and owner (Pascal) are very friendly and helpfull and are full of good advice about whatever you want to do or go.

Rooms are very large and excellent value for the price and the free internet in the bar is helpfull.

Food is a litte expensive but prepared and cooked to perfection by a chef who knows his stuff.

Only a short walk from the weekend market but 10-15 minutes from the main gate.

Only small complaint is that at the time of staying the hotel only served beer in small bottles, no large bottles or draught

  • Liked — staff and value
  • Disliked — no large bottles of beer
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Darlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I booked via their website queenvicpattaya.com after seeing their rooms on the site. All the rooms have been upgraded within the last year and the facilities are great, frisges, safe, wifi, LCD televisions. Most rooms are 900 Bt or below, except for the suite they have for 2,100 Bt. I couldn't book that, it is always booked well ahead. The jacuzzi is very popular in there.

They even have English draught beers and ciders. Good choice of food too. All of the staff speak good English, and the owners, Vic & Jane can't do enough to make sue that your holiday goes well.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of staff. Level of furnishing. Location in n entertaining area.
  • Disliked — Nothing. I will visit again.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeterWChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Great Value for money, nice and very clean rooms, close to the sunday market, friendly staff, would stay there again. Not really a hopping place to meet a lot of other travelers, but it was nice and quiet, which I liked.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank downik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#50 of 757 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#44 of 757 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#51 of 757 in Chiang Mai
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#30 of 757 in Chiang Mai
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 757 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#79 of 757 in Chiang Mai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ca Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ca Va

Property: Bon Ca Va
Address: 252/13-14, Phra Pokklao Rd | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Queen Victoria Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bon Ca Va 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the city walls of historic old town Chiang Mai, the Queen Victoria Inn is a traditional English country-style pub offering great value food, drink and accommodation. Our 8 superbly appointed guest rooms offer some of the best value-for-money accommodation in Chiang Mai. All rooms have air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hot-water shower, balcony, TV and DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bon Ca Va reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing