We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little too expensive for these services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sira Boutique Hotel
Ranked #212 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little too expensive for these services”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Very clean and quiet rooms.
A little too expensive, with no services included (spa, massages, etc.). Breakfast is correct but you'll find better deals in towns.
1800 THB/night

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jirimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    59
    27
    24
    11
See reviews for
24
101
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We spent three nights in this beautiful hotel. the rooms are spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable enough considering the mid-ranged price level of the hotel. The entire hotel is designed in typical Thai architecture, it can be rightly considered as a boutique hotel. The hallways and the lobby contain some nice artwork.

the breakfast is not outstanding but good, however, we cannot recommend the restaurant for dinner.

The reception staff is english speaking, very friendly and helped us booking trips and taxis. As we spent new year's eve in chiang mai, all guests were invited to have dinner with the owner's/management's family.

The hotel seems to be pretty new, 4 out of 5 taxi drivers did not know the hotel although it is centrally located. so make sure you take a card with you with the hotel's address written in Thai on it.

The only thing we did not like about the hotel: the rooms towards the street are not very quite, our room was actually very noisy although the management promised us the opposite at the reservation. and even though the hotel is situated within the 'old town' of chiang mai, the distances to the central parts are too high (luckily, cabs and tuk-tuks are cheap in Thailand)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank los_cielos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny England!
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed at the Sira Boutique Hotel for 5 nights whilst in Chiang Mai and we absolutely loved it. At approximately 44 GBP per night including tax and breakfast we were not expecting fireworks bearingh in mind we had just had two nights in Le Meridien Bangkok but oh how we were pleasantly suprised. Let me just say i have used trip advisor many times to research hotels but i have never written a review but i just feel i have to for the Sira.
I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and informed them that it was my partners birthday the day we arrived. When we got there we were preented with cold beers and an absiolutely gorgeous birthday cake there was even a handmade birthday card in the room for him. It was great.
Oak who appears to run the hotel is a great source of information and when we got there he gave us a map and highlighted places to go to visit, eat or shop. He then wrote down all the methods of getting there and the prices. Nothing really was too much for him. Whilst staying he arranged a trekking trip, muay thai boxing, motorbike hire and a visit to the zoo for us. All of the other staff are amazingly helpful also.
The location is great with the Sunday walking market just around the corner and all activities in close proximity by tuk tuk at a bargain price (Oak will tell you what to pay so that you are not being overcharged).
We very nearly booked into Le Meridien Chiang Mai for our stay but thought we would save some money for our trip to Railay, Krabi, after Chiang Mai. All i can say is i am so glad that we gave our money to such a gorgeous independent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Like everyone says, the Sira is a very nice hotel. However, it did not meet the 5 star expectations described by many. There were several minor issues such as the safe not working (they gave us the master key), the TV signal was lost for 2 nights (the manager blamed the place across the street that brings in the signal). The air conditioning unit shut off because the maid came in and turned the key out of the slot which shut the unit (tell them NOT to shut the air during the day unless you enjoy an 80 degree room). All in all, however, it is a very nice little boutique hotel. Chiang-Mai is a very cramped city (like San Francisco) so don't expect the Hilton (we stayed in the Hilton Millennium in Bangkok before arriving so got a bit spoiled)

1) Location: If you are not a typically fat and lazy American tourist, do not believe those that commented on the hotel's "inconvenient location". It's situated on one of the 4 perimeter streets that circle the Old City. If you enjoy walking and exploring the sights and sounds of the core areas as we do, it's perfect. Simply set out in any direction. The touristy night market is about 20 to 30 minutes by foot. (more on that later). Sure, you can pay a tuk-tuk ot cabbie but there's simply no need unless you are very tired. As for the sights that require transportation, the hotel has ample brochures and will gladly arrange a private driver or tour company. Just don't expect Thai people to understand why you'd possibly want to "birdwatch" in a national park. They simply don't appreciate the beauty of their country.

2) Night Market: One of the world's BEST night markets is held every Sunday night on the street around the corner and 3 blocks down, about a 6 minute walk. You will find everything you want or need and the prices are even cheaper than the main Night Market, which has a much more touristy feel. Ask the staff. And have the world's best spring rolls for about 18 cents USD.

3) Staff: Dozens of reviewers raved about the British owner, Rob. There was no such person during our stay. The manager and staff were generally helpful but like most Thai people, their English is not the best. I am not complaining about this; we do not expect every culture to speak our language; Upon arrival, the manager did sit us down and give us a rundown of the area. However, during times when he was off-duty, the front desk person may have to hunt him down to answer your questions. Part and parcel of travelling.

4) Breakfast: Included but not even close to anything special; your choice of 2 small eggs any way with minimal bacon or Thai style sausage (which is actually like an Oscar Meyer wiener with less flavor), cereal or fruit. Save your appetite for the street food anyway

5) The room:
Pros: We paid for the Lanna Room which means we got a private Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. This is absolutely awesome after a long day of walking. - Very nice large flat panel TV with many stations. - Beautifully decorated room and large bed but very firm (didn't bother me) - Lanna rooms are on the library (2nd) floor so none of that major stair climbing everyone complains about. Noise is limited to the electric tuk-tuk engines.
Free internet and 2 computers in the lobby;

Cons: Room is way too small for our comfort zone. Hard to get organized. NO SHOWER in the Lanna Room; just a Water-Pic. Hated this and couldn't wait for a real shower; if you sweat a lot, you may want to consider this.

All in all, probably one of the nicer places to stay; we walked all over and saw a lot of places that looked to be noisier. Price is very reasonable given the amenities. Recommended but if any of the issues I mentioned are a concern, shop around.

6) What to do: MUST-DO: Patera Elephant Farm "Elephant owner for a day" (see other reviews on this site) - Thai Chocolate Cookery - they pick you up, take you to the market, walk you thru how to make everything, then you eat it; free tea and soft drinks; 1200 Baht;
Doi Suthep: Although touristy, worth seeing; beautiful location -

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This hotel is a great value, clean rooms, helpful staff - always with a smile. The location is central to many attractions and easy to catch your ride to wherever you need to go. Each day, Rod took time to talk to us about our day and helped us plan the next activity. We would definately stay here on our next trip to Thailand and will always remember our week at the Sira Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMYSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We loved Sira! It was recommended by friends that spent part of their honeymoon here, and we were not disappointed! Rod, the British hotel manager, was very helpful. He gave great directions and advice on the things to do in the area, and even directed us to a great Muay Thai fight on our first night. The staff speaks English and Thai, which is very helpful for booking the numerous adventures in Chiang Mai, and they handled everything perfectly. The internet was free in the lobby, which was plenty for us. The AC in our room was shotty, but they did offer to move us to another room if we wanted. It was conveniently located to many attractions, and right on the moat so it was always easy to grab a taxi or tuk-tuk. Rod pointed out the best shopping attractiions and shopping. You can also get massages 24 hours a day, which is great! If we find ourselves in Chiang Mai again, we will definitely be back to SIra.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em11880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I have to agree with previous reviews regarding the location of the SIra. It's just a bit too far from all the nightlife and activity in town.

The hotel is probably more suited to couples looking for a quiet retreat. It is fairly nice inside, and the staff are helpful, but there just isn't much going on in that part of town.

Be warned that as it's a small hotel there is no lift, so if you end up on the top floor you'll have to ask for help with your luggage up the 3 sets of stairs.
The beds are rock hard in this hotel, in fact the hardest bed I've ever slept on. The rooms are nicely decorated with all the amenities that you'll need.

The hotel information in your room details some excursions you can book through the hotel, but I would advise you to shop around in town with the plentyful excursion outlets as you'll save some money by doing that.

Expect to pay around 200 baht from the hotel to the airport by taxi. A tuk tuk should be between 50 and 70 baht to get to most places in town. There's a 7 Eleven really close to the hotel with an ATM.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#67 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#112 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.9 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#149 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#63 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#246 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#129 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sira Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sira Boutique Hotel

Property: Sira Boutique Hotel
Address: Sriphoom Rd. 85/5 | Tamboon Siphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sira Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 17 luxuriously appointed rooms are furnished and decorated in Lanna style, with fine fabrics and colorful and tasteful traditional touches. Sira Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the edge of the old city, on a picturesque stretch of its ancient moat. Most of the old city's historic temples are within walking distance, their park-like grounds and surrounding, leafy lanes ideal for an afternoon or early evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sira Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sira Boutique Chiang Mai
Hotel Sira Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing