We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a Great price”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here in early November and were thrilled with the hotel. It is worth mentioning that this is a boutique hotel and not a 5* tower block chain hotel (which some reviewers seem to have forgotten when reviewing the hotel!).

From the outset, we were impressed with the hotel and staff. We arrived in Chiang Mai on a night bus (long story!) and were much earlier than we expected to be there but the friendly receptionist made as feel very welcome and we were able to have breakfast and use the internet facilities in reception until our room was ready a couple of hours later.

The rooms are fine. They are a little dark with a limited view but are well kitted out and a really good size. The hotel itself has a good sized pool, plenty of sun beds and is about a ten minute walk from Chiang Mai and is well positioned - far enough away for it to be quiet but close enough to be able to walk into Chiang Mai itself and stumble home after dinner! It's around a ten minute walk from the night market and is easy to find again late at night.

The breakfasts are good with a lot of variety. We did have dinner there one night and were a little disappointed with this. The service was good but the food didn't quiet meet the expectations that we had and there are better (and cheaper) places to eat in Chiang Mai itself. It is worth recommending the smoothies though as they were very good.

Checkout was easy. We ordered a taxi to the airport and this was very straight forwards and they gave us a 'take-a-way' breakfast which was good.

I really would recommend this hotel. The service was great, the staff were very friendly and really were prepared to go that little bit further to help. As mentioned above, this is a boutique hotel and for the price, it's a real bargain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeyd1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
There are newer reviews for Rimping Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and came back for another night after traveling to Pai. the hotel is beautifully decorated, feels like a countryside hotel in a quite street just a few minutes walk from the night market. the familly room we stayed in was spaciouse and comfortable with free drinks and fruites. the sweeming pool is great and everything very clean and decorated in good taste. breakfast was very good and when we didn't feel like going out in the evening we ate at the hotel's restaurant which was also very tasety. but above all was the stuff! they were all so warm and nice and made us feel like at home. when we came back from Pai they met us like old freinds. we hope to get back to this great hotel someday.

Room Tip: the second floor has balcony with chairs overlooking the pool and it is very nice to sit there
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dikla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't really understand the reviews here. I mean I guess it depends who you are travelling with and what purpose. We were on honeymoon and this was not a good fit. I took from reviews that "5 stars" actual meant "5 stars"but it simply isn't so.
We didn't the great service - they forgot to pick us up at bus terminal.
Restaurant and food - not good.
Floating wiener bites and bowl of salad at end?
I agree that coffee is not good as other reviews.
Rooms are dark and basic.
The place is ok but meant for families and people travelling through. Not meant for honeymooners - no romance here!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlovers7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of November 2013. This is a lovely hotel - the staff are so friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful. They helped us to organise all of our trips in Chang Mai and helped us with any other questions we had.The room was lovely and very clean, and the pool was also nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Perhaps our vision was somewhat clouded by staying in "average" hotels in northern Thailand for a couple of days, but we consider Rimping Village an excellent hotel. The place is small, quiet, looks nice, our room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable, breakfast was great with excellent choice and, like others mentioned already, the staff is excellent. The girls speak good English and do everything to help you. One of them even greated me in the 7/11 (though I didn't regognize her, I'm from the reception in the hotel, she said).
Rimping Village is close to the night market, but a bit further from the old city.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff met us when we arrived at 1am wih big smiles on their faces, helping us to our rooms and welcoming us to Chaing Mai. Very nice staff who are always looking to help you with anything. Rooms were pretty average, but they were clean and a good value. Good breakfast. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here a week ago while in Chiang Mai for a couple days with my girlfriend. The pluses: staff is very friendly and helpful with booking transportation/activites, the rooms are large and clean, the wifi works well, and they serve a decent hot breakfast. The minuses: the property feels 70s-motel old, and needs some updating, especially the interior of the rooms. The large-building-around-pool setup probably lends to my motel impression. Location, a tuk-tuk ride away from the old town, is not ideal, since so much of the rest of Chiang Mai is walkable.

To sum up, while I won't be out recommending the place far and wide, if you got a good deal and you're looking primarily for a no-unexpected-surprises stay, you could definitely do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing