We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel style super 8”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #13 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto ontario
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Motel style super 8”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't really understand the reviews here. I mean I guess it depends who you are travelling with and what purpose. We were on honeymoon and this was not a good fit. I took from reviews that "5 stars" actual meant "5 stars"but it simply isn't so.
We didn't the great service - they forgot to pick us up at bus terminal.
Restaurant and food - not good.
Floating wiener bites and bowl of salad at end?
I agree that coffee is not good as other reviews.
Rooms are dark and basic.
The place is ok but meant for families and people travelling through. Not meant for honeymooners - no romance here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovers7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    452
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
559
965
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of November 2013. This is a lovely hotel - the staff are so friendly and couldn't be anymore helpful. They helped us to organise all of our trips in Chang Mai and helped us with any other questions we had.The room was lovely and very clean, and the pool was also nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Perhaps our vision was somewhat clouded by staying in "average" hotels in northern Thailand for a couple of days, but we consider Rimping Village an excellent hotel. The place is small, quiet, looks nice, our room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable, breakfast was great with excellent choice and, like others mentioned already, the staff is excellent. The girls speak good English and do everything to help you. One of them even greated me in the 7/11 (though I didn't regognize her, I'm from the reception in the hotel, she said).
Rimping Village is close to the night market, but a bit further from the old city.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff met us when we arrived at 1am wih big smiles on their faces, helping us to our rooms and welcoming us to Chaing Mai. Very nice staff who are always looking to help you with anything. Rooms were pretty average, but they were clean and a good value. Good breakfast. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here a week ago while in Chiang Mai for a couple days with my girlfriend. The pluses: staff is very friendly and helpful with booking transportation/activites, the rooms are large and clean, the wifi works well, and they serve a decent hot breakfast. The minuses: the property feels 70s-motel old, and needs some updating, especially the interior of the rooms. The large-building-around-pool setup probably lends to my motel impression. Location, a tuk-tuk ride away from the old town, is not ideal, since so much of the rest of Chiang Mai is walkable.

To sum up, while I won't be out recommending the place far and wide, if you got a good deal and you're looking primarily for a no-unexpected-surprises stay, you could definitely do a lot worse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on our honeymoon and we had a balst in northern Thailand. The staff at Rimping Village made our stay. They were so helpful in booking our excursions, even the last minute night before cooking class, to arranging a driver for the day to take us to the wat's and waterfalls at a great price. The grounds were nice, but could use some updating, but our room was great and tucked away, so we felt really comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rimping Village and had a lovely stay. The rooms are a decent size and quite comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. They were more than helpful in booking day trips. Although the hotel is in a somewhat busy area the hotel is quite and very relaxing. Very easy to walk to wonderful restaurants. I prefer smaller hotels and Rimping Village was a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
744 reviews
2.6 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#7 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing