We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly hotel, great staff”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #14 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Perhaps our vision was somewhat clouded by staying in "average" hotels in northern Thailand for a couple of days, but we consider Rimping Village an excellent hotel. The place is small, quiet, looks nice, our room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable, breakfast was great with excellent choice and, like others mentioned already, the staff is excellent. The girls speak good English and do everything to help you. One of them even greated me in the 7/11 (though I didn't regognize her, I'm from the reception in the hotel, she said).
Rimping Village is close to the night market, but a bit further from the old city.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff met us when we arrived at 1am wih big smiles on their faces, helping us to our rooms and welcoming us to Chaing Mai. Very nice staff who are always looking to help you with anything. Rooms were pretty average, but they were clean and a good value. Good breakfast. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here a week ago while in Chiang Mai for a couple days with my girlfriend. The pluses: staff is very friendly and helpful with booking transportation/activites, the rooms are large and clean, the wifi works well, and they serve a decent hot breakfast. The minuses: the property feels 70s-motel old, and needs some updating, especially the interior of the rooms. The large-building-around-pool setup probably lends to my motel impression. Location, a tuk-tuk ride away from the old town, is not ideal, since so much of the rest of Chiang Mai is walkable.

To sum up, while I won't be out recommending the place far and wide, if you got a good deal and you're looking primarily for a no-unexpected-surprises stay, you could definitely do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on our honeymoon and we had a balst in northern Thailand. The staff at Rimping Village made our stay. They were so helpful in booking our excursions, even the last minute night before cooking class, to arranging a driver for the day to take us to the wat's and waterfalls at a great price. The grounds were nice, but could use some updating, but our room was great and tucked away, so we felt really comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rimping Village and had a lovely stay. The rooms are a decent size and quite comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. They were more than helpful in booking day trips. Although the hotel is in a somewhat busy area the hotel is quite and very relaxing. Very easy to walk to wonderful restaurants. I prefer smaller hotels and Rimping Village was a very good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I only stayed in this hotel for 1 night and would have stayed longer if it hadn't been booked out. The staff were my favourite thing about this hotel as they were very helpful. The room was large and I appreciated the bath (even if the bathroom was older style). The pool area was nice. I enjoyed breakfast. The location is a little further away but still within walking distance of the old city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I am sitting outside my room of the Rimping Village right now, relaxing on the terraced area where they have placed very comfortable chairs. It is raining, but I am comfortable and happy, looking out over the pool. I just had a delicious breakfast with excellent latte, fresh fruit, eggs made to order, and lots of other options. My room is huge, the internet has been fast and reliable, the staff accommodating. I am within easy distance to some great areas for walking around, including the night market and many delicious food options? Chiang Mai, as is true seemingly everywhere in Southeast Asia, has a zillion massage places, so I went to one recommended by the hotel where I got an hour long amazing foot massage for $8, and then later on that same day a 90 minute full body Thai massage.

The front desk made arrangements for me to have a tour yesterday, and they also have a fleet of bicycles to loan out to their guests... although, please take care because inexperienced riders may been intimidated by the crazy traffic patterns and bumpy road surfaces.

My only minor quibble was with my shower; only in the sense that the water pressure was so unpredictable here that showering becomes an adventure; shivering cold water that suddenly becomes scalding hot then goes cold again, all within the same minute. So, whatever...

This place is a true gem. 5 stars for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank chloes_dad_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 393 in Chiang Mai
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $71 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing