We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, service and quality of stay!”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #13 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Regina Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and quality of stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Based on the Trip Advisor review, I booked this hotel. Not knowing if I would like it, I only booked it for 2 nights. After I arrived, I was so pleased with the quietness of the room, the cleanliness and room quality, and the breakfast buffet, I ended up extending the stay 3 additional nights. The staff is very service oriented, it's a good location close to the city, but far enough off the beaten path, it is quiet and relaxing. I definitely would recommend this for all these reasons and on top of that the price for a room is a great value.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms that face the pool and whose backs were to a secluded lot behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottAfghanistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    452
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
559
965
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy but the customer service was excellent and made this a most enjoyable stay. We enjoyed the free bicycles as this made getting about a lot easier as the hotel is not in a very central location and it takes about 25 minutes to walk to the tae pae gate area so some nights we had to get the hotel to book us a tuk tuk.

The hotel price may be a little high to others we saw advertised in the area but we doubt they offered the same personal care and attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Rimping Village is gorgeous, the staff are so friendly and informative. Breakfast is included (depending on what you've booked) a good selection of western and Thai food. Even their restaurant is decently priced. It is located on the other side of the river but it's a 5 minute walk over to the start of the night bazaar, and about 15-20 minute walk from the TaPae Gate. Good mix of people stay here, there is a pool and they give you free choice of DVD and books and offer free transportation to and from the airport. Definitely recommended for those who aren't backpacking, but want reasonable priced and lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejalb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location. The room is very clean. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Special thanks to Inggy Kate, Fah and their manager for their assistance. We are so gratefull for your help in arranging our itinerary and car service during our stay in Chiang Mai:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed on 22nd to 256th September - simply great. This hotel is not a very luxurious 5 star property, it is very good neat and clean 3 star kind of a hotel. But the staf ad service is 7 star - no doubt about that. The service is far better many 5 starrers around the world. They confirmed our Patara elephant farm reservation, arranged bus for tiger kingdom, called for a tuktuk to go to the Chedi Luang. very helpful staff. The food was good we had some lunch and dinner there. Breakfast is also good with sticky rice with Mango, served everyday. I would suggest it anyone with eyes closed.

Room Tip: Take a room on first floor. check A/c sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGHMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, at the center of Chiang Mai, within a walking distance from the night market (10 minutes). Large room, good and rich breakfast, extremely friendly and helpful staff. We also liked the swimming pool. Made our stay in Chiang Mai wonderful!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor appears to be the biggest ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location was pretty ideal - very close to the Night Bazaar and easy walking distance to the city. The staff was very accomodating, gave us free rides to and from the airport, called to make all our reservations for us, etc. Our room had mosquitos every few minutes and a lizard on the ceiling at one point. We asked the staff for help with the mosquitoes and they gave us an electric tennis racquet thing which zapped them, but it didn't help much. The bathroom could use some updating and I couldn't get the temperature right. The breakfast was just okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing