We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worm hospitality at the Rimping Village”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #12 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worm hospitality at the Rimping Village”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 6 days at the hotel - our 3 children in one room and us in the next we felt very safe there and comfortable.
Lovely pool and nice breakfast.
We took some one day trips from the hotel the driver was very helpful and the price was fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nili R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    446
    70
    7
    6
See reviews for
551
961
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sharm
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only two nights in July 2013 but loved every minute we were there. The service from all the staff is excellent. The moment you arrive to the day you leave, you just feel comfortable. The staff are very knowledgeable about the local area from Thai massage to Vegetarian restaurants. They are not in the slightest bit pushy. They confirmed our Elephant trip for the next day (can also highly recommend Elephant Nature Park) and even organised our local taxi to the airport which was cheaper than their own shuttle service. The free wifi, fruits, tea/coffee, water, safe, hair dryer, umbrellas, torches are all nice touches and a travel adapter plug is just a phone call away. Breakfast was more than adequate. They even noticed it was my birthday and a small cake was waiting in our room with a couple of candles!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry17Sharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staff was so friendly and nice and they really made us feel welcome. The service was impeccable. The concierge team really went out of their way to help with anything we needed. Awesome location away from everything but close enough to all the pampering and ammeneties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I along with the rest of the family ( 6 of us) spent three lovely nights in this well maintained hotel which is within easy walking distance to the old town and the night market.

The rooms being very large accorded us to have one child in each room on a mattress on the floor.The room was fully equipped with a large bathroom with very good fixtures. Fruit and water was provided in the room each day.

They have a nice sized pool with plenty of lounges and towel service. The buffet breakfast was excellent with good choices including cereals,yogurt,fruit,pastries,hot foods both western and local and one can order eggs in any fashion they wish.

Service at breakfast was very good as it was throughout the property.Each day we enjoyed drinks and appetizers from the pool side bar.

They provide umbrellas and bicycles and pick up service at the airport with a luxury mercedes van.

Check in and check out was very efficient with the front desk staff being very helpful and attentive to our needs.

Would highly recommend this property for families and coupled alike.

Room Tip: Regardless of location make sure you take a second floor room.Also note that some bathrooms have tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed the following for A single night end of October. It's extremely an old house but it wasn't as well negative for me whenever you look at the cheap room rate. Place is near the trendy spots of Nimmanhemin but absolutely nothing much right by the vicinity with the hotell. Our room faced the hills and it was very pretty. I also liked that the window could be opened. The only nasty surprise was as soon as we asked for ice. A big bucket was brought up and we discovered that it prices THB71! I have by no means had to acquire ice ever throughout my numerous hotel stays! I wouldn't have minded so significantly if they informed me upon ordering. Overall, for ones cost we paid it was extremely very good value. Quite a few tuk2 and taxis run pass the hotel. However, it was as well far inside the ciy center in case you plan to visit the night bazaar and markets. We had been there for only 1 night as being a transit between Pai and Bangkok. Thus, it was OK for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the Rimpling Village for five nights. The hotel is very special and it is all the little things that makes it so. I am not too sure how they arranged this but I had given them the wrong flight details for when I arrived but two of the staff were there waiting for me. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and as a lone traveller the is much appreciated. The rooms are comfortable and clean. They are a little on the dark side but this is quite welcoming after away in the sunshine. The pool and the pool area are kept lean throughout the day. The breakfast is simple,but fresh and tasty. I also ate in their restaurant for dinner and the food again was very nice. A little more expensive than walking into town but on a couple of nights when there were downpours it was very convenient.
I have stayed in alot of hotels around the world and this is one of the nicest. Not in an ostentatious showy way. Here you can properly relax and at a bargain price too.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzybeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff, really helpful, one member of staff even rang train station for us to check seat availability. The lobby also offers 2 computers with fast internet access complimentary and microsoft office software (a major bonus for me as i had to complete a piece of work while here and other net cafes in chaing mai did not have word). we ate in the restaurant once, food was good! Pool is lovely and good holiday atmosphere... Stayed in 3 hotels while in chaing Mai and this was the best by far. Excellent wifi in room. Complimentary transfer offered to guests also.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
724 reviews
2.6 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#6 of 383 in Chiang Mai
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing