We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacking charm”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #14 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff at the reception was really friendly and helpful throughout our 4-night stay. The staff serving breakfast should be more attentive and more friendly to keep up the standard set by the reception staff. The rooms are fine, spacious and clean (although the bathroom is rather small). There is however nothing really charming about this hotel: The restaurant is rather cheerless - luckily we could sit outside to eat dinner and breakfast. We would have loved to relax a bit but there is not really a place to do so except for the poolside: the downstairs room is rather dark and the chairs in front of the rooms are placed in the passage way so there is no privacy there. The hotel is quite a walk from the town centre but apart from that the location is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vin3berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Absolutely the words to describe the place. Warm and Welcoming. Would not put it down to up market but very comfortable, clean, spacious and excellent service.
Never seen such big rooms in a while. We had taken 2 family suites but the 8 of us were always piled in one room and did not feel cramped at all. Bath rooms were large, clean and well equipped. Need not talk about the service as all the other have said id right. Breakfast could be a better spread and food at the restaurant is authentic and tasty. A bit away from the main action but very close to the river side restaurants etc. We absolutely loved it. Cheers to Rimping and its staff.

Room Tip: The 1st floor pool facing rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We decided to get away from the mega hotels on our trip to Thailand and our tour chose Rimping Village in Chiang Mai. The rooms may not be as luxurious as we are used to but the staff more than makes up for that with their caring attitude and service. It is a picturesque small hotel with good food and a welcome pool. And again I want to compliment the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading numerous reviews on here about how friendly the staff are, I was still blown away by how friendly they are. Words cant describe and it really does make your stay so much more enjoyable. The location is great just over the river from most of the tourist destinations, but made for a quieter more relaxed village feel. There are free bikes to hire and we felt comfortable being able to ride them around that side of the river with less traffic. Breakfast is lovely, the rooms are spacious, the pool is nice we never had a problem getting a spot. We had a very noisy family while we were staying there with 3 extremely loud children. The sound does tend to echo and ruin any tranquillity if you wish to relax or read a book by the pool. We were just unlucky and wish this family had of gone to Disneyland instead of Chiang Mai. But couldn’t recommend Rimping anymore and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuartclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a great time at this hotel...what little time we actually spent at the hotel. They had a very good breakfast and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. It was a little out of the way of the things that we were doing in Chiang Mai but with the city being so cheap, it wasn't difficult to get back to the hotel at all. The grounds are well landscaped and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The shower was great. And no bugs! Overall, no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor, rated #2 in all of Chiang Mai, and I was not disappointed! Not only was this a charming and relaxing hotel just beyond the bridges into the city, but the service provided by the staff was beyond compare. I travel a fair amount for business, and I've stayed in finer hotels around the world. But never have I received the personalized service that I received at Rimping Village hotel. The staff make you feel as though you are their most important customer, taking time with you to plan activities, transportation and assist with your every need. I want to especially thank Arm and Ing, who I would hire to work for my company if it were only possible! Arm especially went above and beyond - when he saw my disappointment in missing the annual Lantern Festival, he bought a lantern and planned a time when we could launch it from the hotel parking lot. This small gesture meant a lot to me, as I've been hoping to catch this festival for a long time and it never timed out with one of my trips. It's hard to imagine that a Front Desk employee at any other hotel would go to such trouble to meet the specific interests of one guest. And he planned this activity as we were checking in, at which point I was like any other customer at the hotel. So I"m confident that Arm and the staff at Rimping Village take care of every customer in this way. I would absolutely stay at Rimping Village the next time I am in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canyontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this excellent hotel as part of a Travel Indochina tour of Thailand. The staff were very welcoming, offering to spray us with insect repellent on arrival, and were always attentive throughout our stay. Rooms overlook the pool, and our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a quiet area of town, but only a 10-15 minute walk over the iron bridge to the lively night markets, which offer shopping, eating and entertainment opportunities galore. We would definitely stay here if ever visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $71 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing