We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #13 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just left this fab hotel after 6 nights. It was great. The staff are amazing, very friendly, attentive, nothing is too much trouble. It is very well maintained, clean, good food and great location. They are happy to help you with anything you need. One of the best managed small hotels we have ever stayed at - perfect for a family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tam1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
There are newer reviews for Rimping Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks late August 2012.

Staff
The staff at this hotel were excellent in everything they did, from the reception staff, housekeeping, ground keepers, restaurant... a special mention to 'Kamy' thankyou for everything during our stay you were wonderful and helped make it a great holiday.

Room
The room we had was 411 one of the deluxe rooms away from the pool area, ground floor with the balcony looking over a courtyard. Very spacious room with flat screen tv and all the usual amenities. The bed was quite firm and pillows quite soft. Every day the room was cleaned well and efficiently.

Breakfast
We thought the breakfast was adequate but perhaps they need to look at altering the variety from time to time. Eggs were cooked to order, but no table service tea/coffee.

Pool / Restaurant and Bar Area
The pool was more or less a rectangle surrounded by concrete on which were the sun lounges. The bar which is in the restaurant just didn't seem to fit anything that you would expect from a Thai Resort, I think that is one of the reasons that at night very few people would use the restaurant or bar. Ideally they need to integrate the pool, bar and restaurant better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Travelling around Thailand I think this hotel was the best that I stayed.
The location is great, near but not in the middle of the noisy, easy to move by tuk-tuk or bike.
The service is on the best that I have experimented abroad. Really nice and honest people. They help you to book all the tours and even tuk-tuks.
The rooms are astonishing, do not need to book the most expensive one, maybe worth it if you are in honeymoon.
The swimming pool was great. All the facilities are very simple but elegant.
The wifi signal is strong, enough to talk by skype.
Food is very good and the prices are very reasonable.
Congratulations to the owners, well done.

Room Tip: All are very good, maybe if you are traveling for honey moon ask for the Deluxe, not much more expen...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this small hotel. So calm and peaceful. Staff the friendliest ever. The even see you off and welcome you back "home". Nothing is too much trouble. Clean homely pleasant rooms - we had the lovely large deluxe with the chaise langue pretty pool with plenty of shade and towels brought around to each guest regularly. Breakfast lovely, though it would be good to have some tomatoes and mushrooms maybe, but that's just a personal comment. Staff very attentive at breakfast. Was almost hesitant to post a review because I would like to keep this gem a secret. Some people may find this hotel a bit of a track from the town, though..

Room Tip: There is now a new wing which is more private and has its own separate balconies instead of open cor...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessicalouiserabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can't recommend this hotel enough. While the rooms were perfectly fine, and the restaurant really tasty (and inexpensive), it is the amazing staff that makes this place so great. My friend and I arrived via overnight train following a seven hour delay due to weather. Within minutes of our check-in, the staff (Kami especially) had a driver booked and waiting to take us on our sight-seeing expedition - we rode elephants, petted tigers and saw cobras up close. The night market is a short 5-minute walk from the hotel into town. I want to go back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank AbbintheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

One of the best hotel we stayed during our 10 days visit to Thailand. Our only regret is that we had only 1 night stay as we arrived late in the evening and had to leave the next day to Chiang Rai.

I guess the staff makes the hotel outstanding. Tommy at the front office was exceptional, very friendly and helpful. A very patient guy, he made sure we settled into our room and provided us with very uselful information about the hotel and Chiangmai.

The room we had was hugh, well maintain and very clean. Well furnished with a living room and modern facilities. We slept well in the comfortable bed and perhaps due to their location, it was quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast is a simple affair with all the usual offerings. They do have eggs cooked to your likings. There is the usual breads, warm items like sausages, ham, etc, cereals, Not really an elaborate spread like the Hilton or Marriott but good enoughto start the day. We prefer a simple breakfast as it keeps us from eating too much.

My wife was pleasantly surprised upon checking out as Tommy had prepared a small present for her. He checked oour passports upon check in and made a note it was her birthday on that day.

This is one hotel we will definitely be staying on our next visit to Chiangmai. The next time will be a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug32_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. 2012.The hotel says they are "unpretentious" and that's exactly what they are ... simple, straightforward, and a good place to stay. We were greeted every morning and evening by the staff (very sweet staff), breakfast was simple but got you started and rooms were good quality but not glamourous. Incredibly close to the night baazar, Sunday market (waaay better than the night baazar), a few wats, and a restaurant called Lemongrass which you must go to. The bathroom is tiny, the beds a little stiff, but again, "unpretentious" so overall, we were very happy. Highly suggest!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 387 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 387 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing