We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a great hotel the staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble for them they even found me a tape measure so i could buy an extra suitcase for hand lugage as we brought so much in the market. Food is lovely and very well priced, the place is very clean they are always cleaning everything. Free internet computers in the reception to use and free bike hire to cycle into town however town is only 10 mins walk its ideally placed. Its just so peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    436
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
539
948
93
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here after reading the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed - its lovely. The staff really are amazing they certainly make the place so special, and really cannot do enough for you. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

A friend and I stays for four nights at Rimping Village, because it was the highest rated accommodation closet to the city and we are so happy we did....loved it. What takes this place from being a nice location with a decent breakfast how ever, is the staff! They are amazing! They could not have been more attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. If you are not to certain about where or what to do in the city, they arrange almost everything to a tee for you, (and since it was at the end of the trip, we very much appreciated being taken care of.) Definitely the most engaging service we received on the trip.

Room Tip: Get a pool facing room. The family rooms are very large, with giant bath tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esthersnippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were on honeymoon and really appreciated the personal touch by the staff (many rose petals in the room and a welcome note). The location is slightly outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre and gave us a feel of coming back to a haven in the evening with a relaxing swimming pool area. The Banyan tree is amazing. The rooms are not huge and it is not very modern but we found it suited to our needs. Excellent buffet breakfast. Definitely one of the friendliest staff of our holiday! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneBrittanyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

As others has written, there is not enough that the friendly and efficient staff can do for you.
But, mosquitoes abound, and the room could be a bit larger. Food was very good. And, if you do not care to eat at the hotel, the ever helpful staff will find you a decent place to eat close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Rimping Village-where do I start! We were met at the airport by Arm( sorry but didn't get the correct spelling of his name!!) in a lovely Merc people carrier.The hotel doesn't look spectacular but it really is a hidden gem.The staff are excellent,we cannot praise them enough, always smiling and laughing. Nothing was too much trouble for them.A phone call to our previous hotel in Bangkok,where my husband had left vital medical equipment,resulted in delivery the next day.What efficiency ! The hotel is ideally located for local markets,night markets,restaurants,wats etc.We stayed there for 6 nights as we wanted to go to the Golden triangle etc never having been to Northern Thailand before. Again the staff were great at booking trips and recommending places.The hotel room was superb and spotless as were all the communal areas.The pool was a good size and enough beds and towels for all.Breakfast was good with lovely pastries that varied every day.(my only criticism -the hot food should be hot ) The bar, although quiet was good and we got a superb recipe for a Mai Tai- the best I had all holiday. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cncWarringtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Second visit to Rimping Village. Just as good as first. Staff amazing nothing too much trouble and always smiling in our case this might have something to do with my husband trying to speak Thai!!! The rooms are great and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities and fresh fruit every day. Just a few minute walk from the night market and lots of great restaurants and bars although the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent this year. Lovely pool (very cold though) and lots of beds and clean towels. Only tiny downside - it would be nice to have a drink in the hotel after 10pm. Hope we will be back soon John and Carol Taylor U.K.

Room Tip: Maybe first floor but hotel very quiet after 10 pm anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watfordcarbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing