We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its best...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimping Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rimping Village
Ranked #11 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife and I travelled around Thailand and were blown away by the hospitality and friendly attitude of the staff here. They were simply amazing! From the get go they insisted we give them our tour itinerary and they rang each and every one of them up to make sure they were still right to pick us up! On one tour we left so early that the kitchen wasn't even open yet, so they organised a packed breakfast for us with sandwiches, yogurt and drinks! location is just perfect! We walked to the night bazaar every night which is by far the best night life we came across in Thailand. We are quiet people by nature so if you are looking for a louder/wild party atmosphere then stick to Pattaya or Phuket. However there is still plenty of options here to get your party on! The vibe is very relaxed and the restaurant at the resort is so peaceful! Free wifi and bottles of drinking water is something you take for granted, but there are plenty of places who charge you for that. Free bicycle hire as well! We hired them and the streets in Chiang Mai are easy to get around! The people in Chiang Mai in general are just so much friendlier. its a very safe place and even though the resort is set close to the night bazaar, it has a very 'million miles away' feel! best value for money resort!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    433
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
533
942
92
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I just spent 3 night in Rimping Village in Feb 2012 with my wife based on review in TripAdvisor. Its an experience we never had before, though I been traveling around quite a lot, staying in 5-6 star hotels.

We arrived Chiang Mai by train from Bangkok at 9am which was delayed by 1.5 hour, when we arrived at the hotel, the room was not ready (of course), we were served with cold towel and fruit juice when we were at the reception counter, what surprised us next was we were told that there was complimentary breakfast for us free; that is something unusual.

Like all other reviews the service is like nothing we've experienced. The reception introduced us to the wet market nearby for a very good and cheap local Thai food, when you mentioned that we want to have meal what local used to have. They even write down the dishes in Thai, so we just show it the the store owner to get the food.

The location is not too bad, 10 minutes walk to the night market and 30 minute to the old city, there were super market, restaurants, laundry, convenient stores around. So you can get your daily needs easily.

Rooms are simple, clean and spacious.

It is a very tranquil and very clean resort, and the staff are really friendly and ready to go extra mile to serve the guest and make their stay comfortable and pleasant. You can tell these are came from their heart.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ongtyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The reviews previously posted are now confirmed, an excellent hotel for a chilled break in Thailand. Having arrived today the staff provide exemplary customer service and ensure your stay is something to be remembered.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setúbal, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The quality of service is unbeatable.
Best staff ever encountered in a hotel, always with a smile when whe arrived from shopping or touring around. Always wanting to be useful.
The rooms are clean and spacious enough for a couple with a teenage child.
We went there in June, so the place was not to crowded, making it perfect to use the pool or restaurant.
The restaurant have plenty of variety to choose, from Thai food to international cuisine.
The location is just a 5/10 minutes walk to the night market, or 15 minutes walk to the old city. You can also use a bike to move around, free of cost, ask for it at the front desk.
Chiang Mai is a just marvelouse place to spend some days and staying in Rimmping Village was just perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosBeijinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rimping Village is a very comfortable no-nonsense place. Staff is proffesional and really very friendly and helpfull. The complementary bicycles are very well maintained and a bonus. Sufficient natural shade in the garden for those who prefer shade to hot sun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Out of all the places my friend and stayed in Thailand during our recent amazing trip that took in both the north and south of Thailand, Rimping Village really stood out as one of the best! The food was just delicious and so fresh, with plenty of variety at breakfast. Much more so than anywhere else we stayed. But I have to say that the service was second to none. My friend left her jeans in a drawer, and when we passed through Chiang Mai a week later to collect them, we got the whole welcome treatment again, complete with drinks, when we were only popping in. We ended up staying to use a room for showering and had dinner. They even called the airport for us to check on the overweight luggage policy for Air Asia when we were concerned. This is not just standard service. It all came from the heart! Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Health4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

i went to thailand recently with a couple of friends, and we were completely impressed with both the facilities and the staff at rimping village. we only stayed in chiang mai for 3 days, and the staff were so helpful with the organisation of our activities. they booked us taxis for the day, organised our transport to the next place we were staying, and recommended and booked activities for us (which were all amazing experiences). i don't think i ever saw one of the staff without a smile on their face, and they were so accommodating.

the hotel rooms were simple and beautiful, and the pool was simply stunning. it was a really tranquil resort, and we all felt very peaceful there. it's within walking and/or riding distance of the night bazaar and the old city, as well as super markets, clothing stores and restaurants. you can rent bikes at reception for free, which was very useful. there was also free internet at reception which was a nice addition.

when we left, we were waved off by all the staff at rimping village. we were so sad to leave all these beautiful people and this lovely hotel, but i know that i will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimping Village

Property: Rimping Village
Address: 13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., | Watgate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rimping Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimping Village is located in the city centre, close to the historic attractions the city offers including the famous Night Bazaar and the charming Watgate community by the Ping River. Enjoy an atmosphere of relaxation that is part and parcel of the Northern tradition. A cool, refreshing swimming pool is placed below a huge banyan tree so that guests can absorb the mood of nature while finding relief from the tropical heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rimping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimping Village Chiang Mai
Rimping Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing