We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wifi. Besides this, I would go to some other area”
Review of Thapae Gate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thapae Gate Lodge
Ranked #191 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We ended up here by mistake (we wanted to go further north, to Soi 6 or Soi 8) but the tuk tuk dropped us here. Nothing worth mentioning, except that the wifi worked perfectñy and reached our room (C7 on the 2nd floor). Paid 350 THB for it (with fan). Didn't have any problems with the bars outside because it's low season, but can imagine there's probably lost of noise in high season. Wouldn't recommend it. It doesn't have a pool, but paying 100 THB/day you can go to the pool of the hotel right in front.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Thapae Gate Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 133 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hostel on the surface is nice. I booked a standard room on the 3rd floor. Paid 350baht per night for 3 nights. The owners are German and Thai. The wife is sweet, the husband isn't. Shower/Toilet combo. Sink is outside on the balcony. This hostel is located directly across the street from Top North. The beds are tough..that's to be expected. I suggest aircon room for 100baht more.
PROS-Bright airy rooms, hot water, restaurant on site with very good food and lush garden area, cable tv in the room, GREAT LOCATION!!! Kuddos to GIL<<he's a very under appreciated worker. God bless him!
CONS-VERY SPOTTY 'FREE' INTERNET(they turn off the internet at night), the water in the sink is recycled and if you run the water long enough you'll catch some green gunk that comes out. It's hit or miss..but it happened to me when I was brushing my teeth. I thought i was seeing things. Theres no breakfast(not even light breakfast) included, so expect to pay to eat onsite.

I'd stay here again, but not extended stay. If i were German I'd definitely come back, but i'm from the states...so probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goMalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Our room was surprisingly chilly compared to other places we have stayed in Chiang Mai. The shower/toilet room was kind of gross, molded ceiling panels. The bed left some to be desired, but it was a place to sleep. We went during Loi Krathong, so it was very noisy well into the night! The staff was nice, but did not keep good track of your payments! The place did have free internet!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kydemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My rating would not be so bad if there wasn't that bar on the opposite turning up the music like crazy. It was extremely loud from around 11pm until 3-4am and we hardly could sleep. We stayed 2 nights. We thought it might have been a special event on the first night but it seems to be like this every night. I can't believe this wasn't mentioned on a previous review. Also the free Wifi was not working half of the time. The people who run this place were very friendly and the location would be quite good if there wasn't that noise.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

started my trip in chiang mai at top north guesthouse but left after one night and walked 50ft to thapae gate lodge guesthouse just across the narrow soi... this place is very clean, a great value and has the nicest couple running it ( husband goes by jack...but is thai)...i highly recommend....there are. lots of great places to eat (next door is perfect value thai food)... internet cafe... laundry....all within the soi 1 and 2( they are same street just connect)...if you are at all interested jack can arrange a visit to a children's home he sponsors (this can be a very special thing when done from the heart)...he also offers full service treks and is well connected in the area...a kind man and good english .... his wife and kids are there too, so you just might fall in love with the whole gang!!!
by the way..... children' s home is not a "business" like going to see the gibbons.... much more something to ask about only if you are sincere...
good luck,
scotty

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
2  Thank captsquidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

I went to Thailand in April 2007 and was looking for budget accommodation in Chiang Mai. As I was backpacking, my only 3 criteria were 1) that it was in a good location, 2) it was clean, and 3) cheap. Taepae Gate Lodge proved to be all that and more.

1) Location. The guesthouse is located in a soi (small road off a main road) so you might have a bit of a hard time locating it if you're in a cab but other than that the location was good. It's centrally located (it's right near the moat) and you can easily walk to various bars and restaurants on the main road. Markets and temples are a short "tuk tuk" drive away. Not to mention, there were other quaint guesthouses (if you're interested in meeting other people) and small restaurants and the most amazing Thai massage parlors located on the same street.

2) Cleanliness: We didn't plan on staying in the room the whole time while we were there so we just wanted somewhere to sleep that was clean. The rooms were small and the bathroom was a "toilet-over-the-shower" deal but amazingly enough, the bedroom and sheets and toilet were really clean. I had no complaints. There was no air conditioning but there was a fan that sufficed (and we went there in April which is the hottest season).

3) Cheap. For 3 nights we paid $28 USD. Since there were 2 of us we only paid $14 each.

Another big plus was that the owners (a married couple) were AMAZING. They really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to make sure we got everything we needed. They always said hello and even remembered our names and drove us to the airport when we were in a bind. There are various trekking trips and cooking classes and muy thai boxing classes you can book through the front desk as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ccoquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#132 of 386 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#108 of 386 in Chiang Mai
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yin Yang Guesthouse
Yin Yang Guesthouse
#47 of 882 in Chiang Mai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 775 in Chiang Mai
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#106 of 882 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Gate Lodge

Address: Moonmuang Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $13 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thapae Gate Lodge was one of Chiang Mai's "backpacker's heaven" with it's simple and quiet guestrooms. CURRENTLY UNDER RENOVATION! - OPEN FROM 15th JULY/2017! After we took over the building from the owner who has been successfully operated it for more than 8 years we did some major renovations and face-lifting what I believe that will bring this estabilishment to the next level and we can call it a "FLASHPACKER'S HEAVEN" :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thapae Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Gate Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing