We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relax”
Review of Thapae Gate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thapae Gate Lodge
Ranked #176 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relax”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

we stayed 13 days in this very nice guesthouse in moonmuang Rd. Soi 2 in chiangmai,
friendly staff and the best ever breakfast in thailand,
try the german cheesecake and the schwarzwälder kirschtorte,
you won´t regret

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank tangokl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Its a good hotel to stay ! The breakfast is awesome. The rooms are clean and its not so loud around the hotel. From there you are very fast in the city. The owner helps u with every question you have and it gots also great cakes and coffee !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewers have said its in a great location, close to some great bars and restaurants and to any other thing you may want to see or do in chiang mai. Got a number of bed bug bites but it is nearly to be expected in SE Asia. Breakfasts are good, a little pricey but a huge selection

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, the food is absolutely fantastic, staff are also very nice and the rooms were very reasonable for the money, only thing about room I stayed in was that the sink was on the balcony so brushing your teeth was an outdoors affair. Would not stay here again however as was a bit pricey, we booked through hostel world.com and had the room listed at a different price, I basically picked the most expensive double room thinking this would have aircon, but we arrived and it was for a fan room. So had to pay more than I expected for this room, and also a late bar around the corner that goes until 4.30 am that is really into dance music doesn't help a tired traveller

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We came here for breakfast on our first morning in Chiang Mai and ended up staying. The breakfast was nice although took a very long time to come, and when we asked for milkshakes the waiter pulled a face and told us it would be 20 minutes before he could make them - when they came they weren't great - he needed telling to blend the icecream into the milk or whatever the strange tasting liquid was.

The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Not much water pressure in the shower. Sink was outside on the balcony rather than in the bathroom, a bit annoying at night when brushing your teeth and getting bitten by mosquitos.

We were kept awake late by a local bar as you could hear the music from our room. Even when this stopped you couldn't sleep very well due to the rain pounding down on the iron roof outside, even when it stopped there was a constant drip which drove us insane. So if you're a light sleeper then avoid or bring ear plugs.

Rooms were decent value for money. You're within the gates so a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Thaepae gate lodge was o.k.The price was good but the room was just horribly hot. We had a fan room on the top floor.Not a lot of fresh air flowing through.The owner wasn't that friendly and caring too.Its not a bad place but just really "German".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borntraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Thai staff were great and non-discriminating, but the owner runs it more like a famiky home, and unless you speak his language or are young you won't get much more thsn the odd smile out of him.

4 nigts we slept on hard beds and udes pillows that smelled like sweat, but hey for the price we didnt mind too much. Location is a little far from the busy city market, but 20-30 minutes of walking and you're there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torfun House
Torfun House
#335 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin House at Tapae
Twin House at Tapae
#131 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
R & N House
R & N House
#174 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chada House
Chada House
#213 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thailand Guest House
Thailand Guest House
#224 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Gate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Gate Lodge

Property: Thapae Gate Lodge
Address: Moonmuang Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Thapae Gate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Gate Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing