We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless...Friendly...Helpful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Tulip House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Tulip House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spotless...Friendly...Helpful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed five nights at the Green Tulip. It is a very clean, efficient and best of all friendly. Nine and Stella are fabulous hosts that really look out for their patrons. You feel very welcomed and comfortable there. The breakfast is fresh and fast. They can book all the various excursions there for excellent prices. The rooms are basic, but all you need. We had a room with air-con and hot water, so we were very comfortable. It was fabulous stay and we hope to one day go back.

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly, Helpful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ThailandBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    145
    47
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
263
165
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

I agree with the majority of reviewers on this site. The Green Tulip is wonderful. They have a range of rooms to choose from. I booked two rooms for our family. One double and a twin with private bathrooms and air con. For around $25AUD each per night. The rooms were basic but immaculately clean and serviced daily. Stella and Douglas, the owner/managers, were delightful, and Stella will cook you up a storm at any time of the day. Nine, the head lady who lives on site, is an absolute gem. She is efficient and friendly. Everyone treated us like family and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was included and a choice of 3 settings was provided. It was cooked fresh and was more than adequate. The meals cooked by Stella are very reasonably priced (drinks too) and of excellent quality. Also, ask Nine to arrange your tours for you. She seems to know just about everybody and got us the best prices on the tours we wanted.

Location in on Samran Road about a 15 min walk to the night market area, or 50BHT ride in a Tuk Tuk. There is also a little mini market next door where you can buy basics. The stay at the Green Tulip was the highlight of our trip to many SE Asia destinations. The hospitality and cleanliness were features, and we look forward to visiting our new found Chiang Mai friends again someday. They worked hard to make us feel welcome and deserve the kudos.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no pool but what can you expect for the price!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueHeeler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

My first time visiting Thailand with my family, and I could not imagine a more wonderful place to spend part of our vacation than the Green Tulip House! Walking into the house, it is impeccably spotless, with a amazingly cheerful and knowledgeable staff (especially Stella and Nine, the two women who run this house:-), great atmosphere, and amazing food! Not only is this home the cleanest place I have ever seen in my life, the two women who run it make you feel right at home. They were able to give us advice on various activities to do during our short stay here, both touristy activities such as the Elephant Nature Park and temple outside the city all the way to local markets. My family had a wonderful time here and would come back in a heartbeat!!!!! Five stars for sure. I loved every second I was here and wish I could have stayed longer:-) Don't pass this place up, it is truly one of a kind!

  • Liked — the cleanliness and GREAT staff
  • Disliked — loved every bit of it!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mscello89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

A little afraid at the beginning. As a new comer to Thailand, we found this cheap Guest House in Chiang Mai, our first destination. Everybody was talking good things about the place... so, you know, can it be that good?, and well, it was not only as good as people say, but also it was much much better. You can't imagine the how clean the place is, how friendly the staff are (all of them, but specially Nine), how good the food is (recommended Tom Yam Gum and the pineapple rice) for that price. We only spent 3 nights (my birthday with cake included) there because of our tight schedule, but for sure, we would have been there longer if we could. Definitely a highly recommended place to stay... and also, follow the advise of Nine for the tours, she is good at that also!.

Thank you very much for all the people at the GTH.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, food, everything
  • Disliked — I had to leave... :-(
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Minostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

The Green Tulip House is a rarity. I could mention that the place is meticulously clean. Or the good food. Or the terrace on the roof. Or the comfy beds and silence at nights (at least while I was there) which makes you sleep well. Or the fast and free internet. Or...Well the list is long but by far the best part is Stella and her staff. These friendly people will do anything to make you feel at home. And I surely did!

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank waldur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

What a fantastic place to stay! I stumbled upon it purely by chance, and am so glad i did! Stella, Nine and the rest of the staff were really really helpful, they organised trips for me (at quite a cost saving) really looked after me! I have stayed in 4/5 star hotels in the past, but the next time i go to Chiang Mai, i will definately stay there! The standard was better than most "Good" hotels i have stayed in in the past, clean, tidy, good food, a really good place to relax after a day out. Cant recomend it enough! Worth going to Chiang Mai just to stay there!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Father_Fagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

I was a little disappointed in this place to say the least, The rooms however were clean and the Breakfast was okay - Other than that I found it a bit too basic - the location was in the middle of the old Town near Wat Phra Sing which may be fine for some but I found it way too far from the Bar, Restaurant area near the Night Bazaar - The shutters on the front are locked at 9.30pm and after that you need to ring a bell to get in - I found the staff okay but way too nosy and interested in where you had been and where you were going etc.
If you are happy with a clean room in the old Town and you dont mind being questioned constantly you may find this place okay but personally I wouldnt stay here again and cant come close to recommending it

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank scott167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#28 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#7 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#39 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Property: Green Tulip House
Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing