We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel for young travellers”
Review of Green Tulip House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Tulip House
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good hostel for young travellers”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

most of the staff is awesome, differences are huge though. stella is awesome while the second host is droppig off quite a bit. good hostel for young travellers who enjoy partying and company. less recommended for people over 25.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    146
    47
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
264
165
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

For me, the most important thing is connecting with nice people. All of the staff at green tulip made me feel welcome and at home. The owner, Stella, is so lovely and I will always remember her as part of my Thai experience. The room I stayed in was very clean and cheerful with soothing green, blue, yellow and purple colors. And you can't beat the location- right in the center of the city, and the people park is so close by, as well as the weekend markets. I felt right at home in the Green Tulip House. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyfaye8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and didnt regret it. the rooms are nice, clean, the bathroom big.
We hadnt problems with the concern of others: that they push you to book tours. cause we wanted to do a cooking class and the elephant nature park and so we booked them there. everybody happy, no problem.
some little things were not so good: very loud, its noisy till the night and early morning. a bit far away from the action. no TV

price was okay for what we got. i can recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The service was amazing, Stella the host was always friendly and talking. She really made you feel like you where a friend in stead of a paying customer.
The rooms are very clean, they are basic but for the price you pay it is good.
The wifi doesn't work all the time, but the computers you can use are good and fast.
If you want to have breakfast or another meal here it is expensive but it's really good. If you want spend less money there are a few restaurants in the street.
I would definetly come here again and recommend everyone to go here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supertje999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place was very, very clean. The dorm room was in a perfect setting, you could easily chat and meet people. Stella is really helpful, nice and dynamic. However, the rest of the staff was not always as nice and helpful and sometime grumpy. Also, the restaurant is a bit expensive, I would recommend to eat just next door, it's cheaper and seems nicer (I did not have the chance to try). And a very annoying thing is the music playing very loud in the restaurant, you don't always want club music when you're eating your pancake for breakie. Last downside : it's far from the city center and you should expect to walk 20-30 minutes to reach the night market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The warm and welcoming staff make this hostel stand out from many other accomodations. Stella makes you feel at home and gives you explanations on what to do in Chiang Mai. The hostel offers many brochures on local activities, and helps arrange reservations. The hostel is secure, the rooms are very clean and comfortable for low budget, and even have a locked safe. The hostel has a great vibe, with colorful atmosphere, rooftop terrasse and ambiance music in the reception and hang out area, where it is easy to meet fellow travelers. The food is really good and the coffee is amazing :) Conveniently located within the old town but close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose to stay at the Green Tulip due to the great TA reviews about the ease of setting up activities. We were not disappointed! The premises was very clean, and the staff provided excellent service. We were able to sit down with a staff member to set up a few days of activities, and they also helped us by calling around for more local needs as well (for example, re-scheduling a spa visit so we could do more morning sightseeing).

The walls are rather thin, so much depends on your neighbors in terms of blissful rest. We had some rather crude blokes next to us one night (review guidelines say family friendly, so I shan't elaborate), and were delighted to note that they were not welcomed back the next night. I overheard the staff handling them with great poise and civility. I was thoroughly impressed with the professionalism.

We were happy to not be on the main drag (much quieter!), but still within easy walking distance of temples and shopping. Aside from thin walls, the rooms were spacious for the price and very clean, and the shower had plenty of hot water.

The only drawback is the weak "included" breakfast -- weak powdered coffee, juice and toast, with all else offered for an extra cost. I need a big breakfast before a day of adventuring, but happily we found a cafe (next to the Mormon church) a five minute walk down the street with *real* coffee, yogurty smoothies, and huge portions worth paying for.

In terms of dining, I would definitely recommend skipping the toast and going for a thick fruit smoothie and omelet down the road--but in every other capacity, Green Tulip lived up to its promise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_and_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#43 of 383 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 844 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 844 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#28 of 844 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 844 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Property: Green Tulip House
Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 844 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing