We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN and Comfortable”
Review of Green Tulip House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Tulip House
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CLEAN and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at the Green Tulip House for 5 nights while in Chiang Mai and really liked it there! It was the cleanest place we stayed in 5 months of travel throughout Asia.
We stayed in room 2 or 3 - whichever one has a balcony at the back of the building. There were shared bathrooms, but they were so nice and clean I felt like I was at home.
It's not located in the heart of the markets, but it's a fine walk and there are a number of good coffee/internet cafes nearby. (Our favorite was Coffee Lovers.)
Their pad thai is wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    146
    47
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
264
165
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I took notice when the manager made a deliberate effort to learn my name during check-in. And she did! and she remembered it throughout my stay! Stella (runs the kitchen) and Nine (activities and tours) are fabulously enthusiastic. Douglas is understated, but hey he's the bloke on their team.

The entire place is kept super-clean. Washrooms cleanest I've seen in a long time. Bring your own handsoap, though.

Don't let the location put you off. It's only 25 mins' walk to the Thapae Gate, a "red truck" will only cost you 20Bt. The Buak Haad park is just around the bend, Saturday market is 15 mins away, and Sunday market is essentially on the doorstep!

Be sure to hang out on the roof, at some point during your stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbeeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This place is so clean you could probably eat from the floor! Literally, every time we went to the bathroom it had been freshly cleaned - unbelievable! We booked a twin room here which had a nice balcony and dresser. Unfortunately we didn't find the beds overly comfortable and they made a loud noise every time we turned in them. There were only 2 bathrooms on our floor but we never had to wait for them to be free so that was ideal. The staff here are great and really friendly. We were having some issues with our Thailand visa whilst staying here and the lady behind the desk was really good at talking it through with us and giving advice. We also managed to book a trip to the Siam Rice cookery school through the hostel for a discounted rate which was a great day out. The hostel is a bit of a walk from the main centre of Chiang Mai but that wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was the best accomodation that I've stayed in in Asia so far. The hostel was extremely clean and had a very fresh and airy feel to it. What makes this hostel however is the amazing owners Stella and Nine, who both made our trip to Chaing Mai so enjoyable. Every morning we were set up with a lovely breakfast and the evening meals were delicious and inexpensive. I would highly recommend anyone going to Chaing Mai to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette17149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This place was very clean with large rooms and a fab rooftop sun deck. You have to stay here! The staff are so friendly and helpful. The manager used to be a tour guide so is very knowledgable and can set you up on all trips, most of which are at less than the listed price. We did the Siam Rice cookery court (number 1 rate in Chaing Mai) and she saved us 300 baht. Could also have saved us money on the Chaing Mai Rock Climbing course too but we booked it in advance so missed out. (also a very worthwhile day course!). All in all a great place to stay. Wish we had more then 2 nights booked here.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annietravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Green Tulip was a great place - we planned to stay for 3 nights and stayed for 5! The rooms and common areas are immaculately clean, and the staff are very helpful in planning day trips. The get a commission for each trip they book, but they were very honest in their assessments, and gave us a discount off of each pamphlet price.

The location is about 20 minute walk from the night bazaar, which is where most of the other touristy restaurants and very nice hotels are, but we found this was nice because it was very quiet at night, and not too difficult to get to anywhere in the old city. However, the Green Tulip is very close to the Sunday night market, which was fabulous!

The best kept secret - there is a rooftop garden and deck from which you can see the entire city and the surrounding ruins.

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eomyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

do not rent a room at the bottom flor. from 10 p.m. you can hear a ringing bell from traveles who are coming back to hotel. From the early morning no sleep because of noise from the street an nearby kitchen and no good smell into the room. Window is oposite the wall so no day light. breakfast two toast and a slice of butter and tea-for more you must pay. they advise about trecking and cooking course but it is the same that you can do in other tour agencyes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#43 of 383 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 844 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 844 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#28 of 844 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 844 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tulip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Property: Green Tulip House
Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 844 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing