We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maninakorn hotel”
Review of Maninarakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maninarakorn Hotel
Ranked #156 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Really nice staff and lobby area, Main part of the hotel looked better but we were in the annexe which was not so good.....Fine and served our needs well but was not nearly as nice as in the hotel photo's.

Good location ..really near to the night market area ...Staff were great and swimming pool a real bonus even if small...

Breakfast was not up to the standards that we have got used to here ...

I would seek another address in Chiang Mai if I were to go again

In it's favour it was central and very good value for money.

Thank BakersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 669 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2008

originally we were stayign at a boutique hotel in chiang mai, but it turned out not to be the best place for us. so, we switched over to choice number two... maninarakorn. this place was really good. the front desk person named pornwalee was a breath of fresh air, so helpful and kind. the room was spacious and near a bunch of things. and we were able to call for in room massage at a reasonable price. just dwn the street is a great vegetarian restaurant and a library and bookstore. so it was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend Nov 2008 ad it was fantastic. I would reccomend this hotel to my own mother, for $52 AUD a night including buffet breakfast you cant go wrong.
Pros-

The location is amazing, only a short stroll to the famous night bazaar and the city centre.

24 hour security right outside hotel lobby= safe and also means you can hire that scooter without worrying about theft. Plus they always salute you when you walk past and they are really funny and always willing to chat.

Excellent staff all round, nice and always willing to help i.e directions, organising stuff for you etc.

Rooms are big enough, very clean and everything looks new. I believe it has been recently renovated? Oh and everything is controlled by the master control beside the bed- awsome.

Breakfast buffet was great, including american style breakfast with made to order eggs.Also therewas a small selection of cereals and fruit.

Cons-
I stayed in the main lobby so i did not havethis problem personally.

If staying in the terraces be warned that there is no lifts.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sissiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

The pictures on the website look so impressive but the reality is something quite different.

Our room was in one of the surrounding buildings and featured a nice small living room with a bathroom behind it and even further back, a small bedroom with a double bed. Whilst the place was clean, the bathroom was absolutely pathetic and if it's a good shower you need at the end of a day of travelleing, give this place a skip. The water pressure in the shower is almost non-existent and whilst it has no curtain or glass enclosure to it, the little bit of water that does come out the shower head wets the toilet, wash-hand baisin and the rest of the minute bathroom.

The tiles on the floor are chipped and damaged and the bedroom has no storage space for your suitcase and clothing (apart from a little rail with a few hangers on it).

The Reception is magnificent and breakfasts in the restaurant are good (despite some of the stuff being a bit cold occasionally).

Be careful about the massages in the spa. You would expect them to be professional and above board but you might get more than you bargained for if you choose the wrong one like one of our travel group.

Location is fair and is out of the hussle and bustle of Chiang Mai.

For the price we paid, it was ok, but I'd rather pay a little more for a little more luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Draco3692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

This hotel ‘LOOKED’ fantastic on the Website as it was a great offer; however we were completely 'Misled'. On arrival you find the main hotel and two annex buildings. We were shown into an Annex room that looked nothing like the website photos. There was no lift to the rooms; there was a leaking aircon ... generally worn looking furniture...etc.
We complained to a very unfriendly manger, that we had been misled over the quality of the accommodation.
He said we had not and he actually tried to prove us wrong by searching the website and for a similar room online, which he could not find. He then said we must complain to the booking company and if we wanted to move to the main hotel there would be an additional charge. I said that this additional charge is not documented anywhere but he insisted and said he could do nothing more.

Finally after an hour + of this he showed us to the other annex room but still not in the main hotel.

My advice would be to confirm if you are in the main hotel which may be ok but I would search for a better hotel than this to stay in and avoid the hassle. A stay in a hotel should not be a stressful event.

P.S the Sauna did not work and there is lack of good service in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Londonchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Stay at the deluxe terrace from 5/9 to 7/9.Booked two rooms. Very spacious with a separate hall. Particular like that the bathroom and TV is in the hall . Excellent facilties with tea making and microwave oven. Good for young children to run around in. No lift to the 3rd floor where we stay but the very helpful porter carried our luggage up for us.
The air con in our room (307) is very noisy but my daughter room (306) is OK . We were staying in 305 but move to 307 as the aircon is faulty.
Hotel provides internet access (4 computer) but no chair is provided .
Overall most satisfactorily. After all it cost us USD25 per room per night.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank janelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Hotel was nice and clean with friendly staff. Not sure if it was the norm but we had a studio type room with a seperate lounge and bedroom. Bed was kinda of hard and no bedside lamps but apart from that it was pretty good. The bottom floor of where we stayed was home to a hairdresser, tour agency and really good and cheap Japanese restaurant. The location is good, not far from the night bazaars and the well known eateries like burger king, mcdonalds and star bucks, but also some nice Thai restaurants. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#192 of 395 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#114 of 395 in Chiang Mai
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#91 of 395 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#169 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maninarakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maninarakorn Hotel

Address: 99 Sridonchai Road,Changklan Road | Changklan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maninarakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maninarakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maninarakorn Hotel Chiang Mai
Maninarakorn Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing