We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for the better rooms.”
Review of Maninarakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maninarakorn Hotel
Ranked #152 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
spain
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Pay for the better rooms.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had read the reviews and decided to book rooms in the main hotel which were a bit pricier but had nothing to complain about at all, nice large room with all mod cons, tea and coffee, fridge and usual stuff. Comfy bed and and very good breakfast. Nice touch with the free drink from the coffee shop each day of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    264
    175
    70
    48
See reviews for
88
246
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is completely average. The food is OK, the rooms are OK. There isn't anything that I would say was exceptionally good or exceptionally bad.

I would agree with the other reviews - stay in the main hotel not the wings. We stayed in the wing for the first two nights and it was pretty grim. We swiftly moved to a room in the main hotel for only 250B more per night and it was worth it. We went from bad to average.

Don't bother using the pool, it's freezing, full of chemicals and very small. The gym also leaves a lot to be desired.

The service is pretty bad. The staff don't speak very good English and it's so much effort trying to explain things to them we gave up trying to complain about our dripping aircon or booking a taxi.

The location is good, right in between the Night Bazaar and the old town. The price is also very reasonable if you haggle the prices down, they're happy to negotiate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our second trip to Maninarakorn. Last time we stayed at this hotel about 1 year ago we were in the old residence suite and were less than impressed by the room.
We decided to stay in the new section and had a suite room. So worth the extra dollars. Very large with lounge area and bedroom area with own safe and good sized bathroom, plus kitchenette. Very quiet and comfortable though the bed was a little on the hard side. We had a large television which swivelled between the bedroom area and the lounge area.
The breakfast room is now by the pool area and much nicer than previous. Breakfast was quite good with a good variety, bacon on the poor side often cold. The egg chef excellent.
Complimentary internet connection poor to bad. Always dropping out and very slow and log in every time which is not as easy on tablet etc.
My biggest gripe is the temperature of the hot water always just warm and the temperature in December was not so warm so needed hotter water, same as last year.
We had a buffet lunch one day for the convenience. Great value for money and very fresh and tasty!!!!!
We stayed at this hotel again for the position as it is close to both the old city and the night market. Also is just tucked off the road so no road noise. Most of the the cities attractions are within walking distance from this hotel.
Staff friendly and helpful!.

Room Tip: The new building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed on the top floor on the residence side - there is no lift so there is a lot of stairs to get up. The room was more like an apartment in size which was good. The room was cleaned daily. On the negative wifi reception was pretty variable and as others have said the water in the shower was pretty tepid which is a major annoyance. I stayed for five nights and the hotel is equidistant from the night market and chiang Mai Central - access to the airport is pretty easy by tuk tuk or taxi. The maninarakorn is not an expensive hotel so on balance it was good value and I enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Others have said to avoid the residence side - I stayed there and it was good value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and from the pictures it looked ok, however we didn't get our hopes up, and thank god we didn't it was horrendous. Air con didn't work, rooms very shabby and old fashioned need updated. Bed rock hard. Door ways very small I'm 5''5 and I felt like I had to duck. Reception staff not very helpful and poor English. It was a good thing we were only staying one night as we would of found somewhere else. Also there is no lift!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaw92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I had booked to stay here for a week. Upon arrival we were shown to our room which was on the residence side. First impression of the room was awful, the place looked dusty, there were no towels and there were hairs everywhere in the bathroom and bedroom!
We went downstairs to reception to ask if we could switch to a room on the hotel side as we were happy to pay more money for a nicer, clean room. We were told that there were none available so we informed the manager of the dirty state of our room & asked if he could send up housekeeping which he reluctantly agreed to. We then decided to leave for the day as we figured the cleaner would have her work cut out for her but when we arrived back our room hadn't been touched & still there were no towels.
The double bed felt as though we were sleeping on bricks & the room was never cleaned properly the whole week.
A lot nicer can be had for less money elsewhere in chiang mai.
AVOID!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a good mid-market to stay and felt somewhat trapped by the webiste/profile pics. As a matter of principle we never take the lowest category, but even the premium room, we had to look at several before one was ok.

The room is ok and at the price not bad, but there are nicer options. The real downer is the noise level within the hotel. The rooms are light build and no insulation to stop floor noises. The cleaning brigade starts around 6 - even at the top floor we could gear all the noise without getting back to sleep.

The pro is that the hotel is logistically well placed, has a quaint little pool & terrace area and from the higher floors (better rooms) you got a view across C.M. And the mountain of Doi Sudhep

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank I_laurentius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#197 of 386 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#156 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#80 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maninarakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maninarakorn Hotel

Property: Maninarakorn Hotel
Address: 99 Sridonchai Road,Changklan Road | Changklan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maninarakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maninarakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maninarakorn Hotel Chiang Mai
Maninarakorn Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing