We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”
Review of Villa Duang Champa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Duang Champa
Ranked #70 of 758 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over new years. Great location,right on Sunday Walking Street. Also close to everything in the Old City....but then Chian Mai is nice and compact. We stayed in room 3, so out the back, but with a cute verandah. This is a good room if you want to avoid the street noise.
Disappointments were...no kettle in the room (100b to buy a cup of tea!) Also breakfast was eggs, eggs or eggs...no other choices.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zostarbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    67
    16
    14
    1
See reviews for
23
102
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending this small, delightful colonial hotel on the same street as the Saturday walking market in Chiang Mai. The room we had is large and comfortable with a small sitting room attached and a decent bathroom with a bath though no shower. My only complaint about the room is that there were some windows without curtains which makes for an early wakeup. Despite being right in the middle of the city, we had no problems with noise and the beds are comfortable enough for a very good nights sleep. Breakfast is a on the front terrace, a perfect place for people watching and the selection more than adequate - a proper expresso machine and you can have as much as you like. The wifi works pretty well too. The staff are the highlight of the stay, particularly the woman who appears to manage the hotel who could not do enough for us and was very informative about the city.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front could get noisy, particularly on Saturdays, but they seem to be the nicest on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWANDFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here in November with our son and partner. The hotel is in a great location and is bright and airy. The rooms are a good size. The bathroom was a bit of a pain - a sit-in bath (in other words you couldn't lie down in it) and there was no shower curtain. To take a shower I had to sit in the bath and hose myself down. The breakfasts were poor. Only cooked food was available - eggs and bacon. Juice was available on payment. No fruit, no yoghurt etc. Very disappointing, However, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

With its location in the Old City, this hotel is convenient to all the top visitor attractions in Chiang Mai. It's colonial design is charming, and the layout of the restaurant/garden make it feel like a secluded oasis—even in the heart of the city. The staff was wonderful: welcoming, helpful, and always at the ready. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant as well as a Thai massage at the onsite day spa. This place has it all!

Room Tip: The stairs are steep, so if you have physical limitations, ask for something on the first floor at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel and didn't want to leave my room. The room was airy, clean and very tastefully decorated. The staff were very helpful and friendly.The only negative thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Limited choice. Some fruit would have been highly appreciated perticularly considering the abundance of fruit the region has to offer and at times they seemed to be a bit short staffed. Other than that, would really recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbamara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food, lovely ambient, friendly staff (especially girl with the braces). Great place to have a relaxed, calm morning! Coffee is also great - black and fresh! Resonable prices, clean toilets, very close to the centre!
Opens very early!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aalamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I traveled solo through Thailand, and Duang Champa was a great choice for me. It's located on one of the major streets in the Old City, so getting most everywhere is a short walk. I found the hotel's atmosphere to be very charming: has an open, airy feel, with polished concrete floors throughout. The reception area is open and airy, which was a nice place to have breakfast outside each morning (the breakfast is simple, but hearty and good). I opted for a deluxe room, which wasn't much more money, and ended up having a very nice, large room with a charming outdoor seating area that I very much enjoyed. While the rooms are simple, they are also comfortable and very clean. The staff is extremely friendly, and overall, I had a great stay at this property.

Room Tip: I opted for a deluxe room for slightly more money and got a nice outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#99 of 386 in Chiang Mai
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 758 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#132 of 758 in Chiang Mai
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan Huen Phen Chiang Mai
Baan Huen Phen Chiang Mai
#44 of 865 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#58 of 758 in Chiang Mai
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#23 of 758 in Chiang Mai
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duang Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duang Champa

Property: Villa Duang Champa
Address: 82 Ratchadamnern St. Sri Poom | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 758 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning renovation of a colonial style building, in the centre of Chiang Mai, offers just 10 guestrooms and conjures up a peaceful, and rather aristocratic feel which is perfect for a laid-back getaway in this remarkable city. Taken from the name of Laos’ national flower, Villa Duang Champa , successful renovation into an elegant, four story luxury bed and breakfast was awarded by the Siam Architect , Association and its not hard to see why. The restoration pays attention to differences in each room’s design – each room is a triumph of tasteful, individual décor. Other delights include a winding staircase connecting the breakfast room to the second floor, a giant tree and lovely teatime table in the small garden, and the lighting; a mixture of contemporary and traditional approaches.Each room has large windows, which give plenty of natural light to highlight the room décor. Those who love colonial charm and minimalism will be in heaven here. The 10 bedrooms are spread between four bright floors, with views to the mountains. Inside you'll find comfy retro chairs, stylish daybeds, and old-fashioned lighting as well as interesting floor-tiles and individual pale colors on white color schemes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Duang Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Duang Champa Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing