We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$48
Agoda.com$48
FindHotel$48
eDreams$48
Tripadvisor$48
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
127
76
21
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
76
21
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city main east west sunday walking street market enjoyable stay wat chedi luang boutique
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 243 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel has beautifully decorated rooms throughout, helpful and cheery staff and a lovely ambience. We stayed in two rooms, room 3 and room 4. Both were very comfortable but I'd say room 4 is better as it has a spacious private balcony overlooking the temples. The breakfasts here were very good - the chef has skill with eggs! The staff were always accomodating and helpful. I can't fault this hotel at all - most definitely a 5 star review!

Room tip: room 4 has a private balcony with a view over the tree tops to the temple.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThinkAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My trip to Chiang Mai starts in early December 2012 as I found the best deal to buy roundtrip flight tickets from the latest promotion of Bangkok Airways. With no hesitattion, I booked the flight ticket and now it is time to choose the nice place to stay. After done some researches, I chose to stay at this boutique hotel on the first night of my 4 days/3nights-trip in Chiang Mai because of its location - situated just right in the middle of Chiang Mai's Tha Pae walking street. Yes... i arrived Chiang Mai on Sunday, just in time for shopping and dining Lanna local foods.

Villa Duang Champa is a boutique hotel, with home-sweet-home atmosphere. I stayed at Room No. 4 on the third floor (Superior room with King size bed, the living room over looking the mountain view, and the bathroom with bathtub). The hotel provides complimentary WIFI internet during the stay, breakfast is also included and served in american style at the lobby area.

There is no elevator.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: There is the walking street right in fron of the hotel every Sunday.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AorPhatthawut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Center of town. Not far from Thaepae gate.
Nice view of Doi Suthep from the 4th floor.
Easy Songtheaw ride to the top available on the street.

Breakfast Ok here, not the best.
Oil Massage across the street for 380 Baht.

Bicycles are the way to get around.
For rent from hotel 50 baht a day,

Wat Chedi Luang across the street, small soi to the left.
One of the most interesting in town.

Room tip: Room #7 most private, quiet, farthest from the street. Private lanai. Only wanted 500 Baht more for 5 days when I was there.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doc j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Duang Champa in November 2012 for three nights.
We had been to Chiang Mai a short time before and stayed out of the old city area and didn't really warm to Chiang Mia.
Staying at Villa Duang Champa changed all that.
It's right in the center of the old town, handy to all the attractions.
It's only a small hotel and doesn't have any lifts so keep that in mind if you have lots of luggage.
The rooms are a step back in time, polished wooden furniture and big deep balconies, an old fashioned but big bathroom adds to the charm.
Wifi is good and fast and free and they have a lovely garden out the front, ideal to spend an hour or so watching the world go by.
They are ( as of writing) sprucing up the old place a bit with a lick of paint here and there and some new plaster.
The breakfasts are ok, nothing great.

Room tip: Try and secure one looking over the main street for the best views.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay in Chiang Mai, we didn't want a fancy glass and steel hotel, or one that was a part of an International chain. We found Villa Duang Champa through a recommendation in the Lonely Planet Thailand book and it felt like a great match.

After reading the other reviews on this page, I gotta say that if you're expecting a first class Western style hotel (with fancy towels, bath products, 5-headed shower, and an elevator to your floor), then this isn't the place for you. Those that complain about frayed towels or a room that's not clean enough to eat off of the floor are missing the point!

But if you're looking for wonderful Thai hospitality, staff that's happy to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, and the most amazing location for the Sunday Walking Market, then check out this place. We had only booked the Grand Deluxe Room (the one on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking the street below) for 4 nights, but after 1 night there, we extended our stay there to 5 nights. It immediately felt like our home in Thailand, and made a great central location from which to explore.

Room tip: If you can afford it, and it's available, ask for the Grand Deluxe Room. It's not the quietest room since it faces the street, but it has the best view of the street below, especially during the Sunday Walking Market. Note that there are no elevators in this hotel, so if a 4 flight climb is too much for you, then go for a room on a lower floor.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews