We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$48
Agoda.com$48
FindHotel$48
eDreams$48
Tripadvisor$48
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
127
76
21
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
76
21
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city main east west sunday walking street market enjoyable stay wat chedi luang boutique
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 243 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Positive:

- Very good location
- Nice building

Negative

- Overpriced in comparison to other similar accomodations in Chiang Mai
- Room not very clean, especially bathroom, linen and towels
- Not so friendly and helpfull staff
- Need some refurbishment

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights here and it is great, a quite location near the centre of town and with great views of the hills. The breakfast is good too

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank not_the_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here twice, once in 2006 and then 2012. Very nice the first time, now it's in need of maintenance.

Pluses: Great location, good sized rooms, clean, great courtyard

Minuses: Shut off water every afternoon for several hours...without telling us; we requested a specific room overlooking the Sunday market street but upon arrival was told to switch and we had to haggle for a lower price for other room

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My mum and I stayed in this cosy little hotel for one week and it was one of the nicest places I have ever been to. Not only is the stuff and the owners unbelievably nice and helpful at all times but this hotel has a very special and unique charme no one should miss. The price is good especially for the service you get and the nice rooms offered (every room has a very simple but extraordinary design)
I can also highly recommend this place for yoga lovers-there are three classes each week and you shouldn't miss one ;)
All in all we really enjoyed staying at this hotel as it felt much more like being at home and we are looking forward to stay there again some time in the future.
So don't miss it and check in!!!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 113Sarah113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

There are two very distinct options at Villa Duang Champa: The hotel for $80/2400 baht per night (outrageous by Chiang Mai standards) and the guesthouse behind the main building which starts at roughly $13/400 baht per night for a single with a shared bath. I stayed in the guesthouse in a room with a double bed and a private bath for $17/500 baht.

There isn't anything *wrong* with the guesthouse but it is noticeably overpriced compared to other guesthouses of comparable quality. The room was decent but nothing special and most days I wasn't able to get a wifi signal in my room - not the worst thing in the world but when I'm paying a little extra I expect a little more. Housekeeping came in every day but did mediocre cleaning; they made the bed, swapped the towels and emptied the trash but didn't often do things like clean the sink (out of basic laziness I stayed for 3 weeks) or change the sheets (weekly would have been nice).

It does have a nice little courtyard, and the main building has a lovely entryway. It is on the Sunday market street which made going out and about Sundays mildly inconvenient but I was pleasantly surprised by how little I was bothered by the noise of it.

Was it bad? No, but I wasn't impressed either - you can get an equal or greater quality room for about 25% less (not a lot in dollars, but it's the principle of the thing...).

Room tip: For long stays it's often possible to negotiate weekly or monthly rates - I was able to get a 100b/night discount (from 500 to 400 baht/night). Depending on your needs and your budget there's also lots available in the 200 baht range.
Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank N R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews