We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, needs updating”
Review of Villa Duang Champa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Duang Champa
Ranked #69 of 734 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, needs updating”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here twice, once in 2006 and then 2012. Very nice the first time, now it's in need of maintenance.

Pluses: Great location, good sized rooms, clean, great courtyard

Minuses: Shut off water every afternoon for several hours...without telling us; we requested a specific room overlooking the Sunday market street but upon arrival was told to switch and we had to haggle for a lower price for other room

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    16
    14
    1
See reviews for
23
102
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My mum and I stayed in this cosy little hotel for one week and it was one of the nicest places I have ever been to. Not only is the stuff and the owners unbelievably nice and helpful at all times but this hotel has a very special and unique charme no one should miss. The price is good especially for the service you get and the nice rooms offered (every room has a very simple but extraordinary design)
I can also highly recommend this place for yoga lovers-there are three classes each week and you shouldn't miss one ;)
All in all we really enjoyed staying at this hotel as it felt much more like being at home and we are looking forward to stay there again some time in the future.
So don't miss it and check in!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113Sarah113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

There are two very distinct options at Villa Duang Champa: The hotel for $80/2400 baht per night (outrageous by Chiang Mai standards) and the guesthouse behind the main building which starts at roughly $13/400 baht per night for a single with a shared bath. I stayed in the guesthouse in a room with a double bed and a private bath for $17/500 baht.

There isn't anything *wrong* with the guesthouse but it is noticeably overpriced compared to other guesthouses of comparable quality. The room was decent but nothing special and most days I wasn't able to get a wifi signal in my room - not the worst thing in the world but when I'm paying a little extra I expect a little more. Housekeeping came in every day but did mediocre cleaning; they made the bed, swapped the towels and emptied the trash but didn't often do things like clean the sink (out of basic laziness I stayed for 3 weeks) or change the sheets (weekly would have been nice).

It does have a nice little courtyard, and the main building has a lovely entryway. It is on the Sunday market street which made going out and about Sundays mildly inconvenient but I was pleasantly surprised by how little I was bothered by the noise of it.

Was it bad? No, but I wasn't impressed either - you can get an equal or greater quality room for about 25% less (not a lot in dollars, but it's the principle of the thing...).

Room Tip: For long stays it's often possible to negotiate weekly or monthly rates - I was able to get a 10...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank N R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

So I like Kitchey, non uniform, sanctuary-esque escapes when I travel...a place to get out of the hustle and bustle, shower, sleep, regroup and reemerge on the newness, that is travel in a foreign country...If that is you, then the Villa Duang Champa, has your name all over it. Lets be honest, they don't do "pillow top mattresses in Thailand", so if thats how you judge your hotels abroad, you probably won't find it in Thailand. If you want someplace thats in the middle of the action, downtown Chang Mai is a lovely mix of the authentic Thai experience, with the infusion of safety, quiet get away, small enough to pay attention to details like use of their computer, breakfast on the garden sitting area,then this ones for you. Emerging onto the busy street just steps away from temples, and coffee shops, and curry offerings. Tuk-tuks and song tauwes aplenty for transportation. If you come on in on Sunday, plan on arriving prior to the street closing around 2 in the afternoon, but the bonus is you are smack dab in the middle of the action which is the sunday night market. Alive with street food offerings such as dumplings, banana spring rolls, fresh young coconut ice cream are just the start, take advantage of the plentiful massage "on the go" options of $2 to $4 for a foot massage as you cruise the traditional Sunday night market. My thing was the antique material purses, if you shop early, they want to make a good deal from bargaining for thew first good luck sale of the night... $50-60, admittedly the most expensive item in the night market...but my weakness.. Villa Duang Champa, has friendly staff, clean rooms, no elevator but I'm low maintenance. If you want luxury, pay more and go 3 doors down....My money is on this botiquey hotel, that has air conditioning, plantation doors, private baths, friendly english speaking staff, and gives you authenticity, without compromise.
Kerri G

Room Tip: i stayed in 3 of the 9 rooms all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at Villa Duang Champa in December 2011-January2012 for several days with the whole family. We had booked the old teak house in the garden which includes a large living room (approx. 25 sq meters) where at least two children can sleep on thai traditional triangle cushions, two small bedrooms (approx. 8 sq meters each), two small bathrooms. The house is located in the backyard of the hotel which is really green, and therefore you don’t have the impression of being in the centre of Chiang mai. From there all the interesting temples are at a walking distance. We paid only 2,000 Baht per night (without breakfasts for which you can choose several options between 60 and 100 Baht per person). I really recommend the teak house for all those traveling with small children.

Room Tip: I really recommend the teak house for all those traveling with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I can not say enough nice things to say about this lovely hotel. I stayed a week but I would prefer to stay a lifetime. Very centrally located but very quiet. The rooms are clean & white & lovely, the staff is very very sweet & helpful; in fact, I made friends for a lifetime. The gardens are also lovely. If you go there, please say hello to Tangmo from Bebe Maprow!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesscrunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I had chances to spend in many hotel during these several years but none of them like Villa Duang Champa.

The hotel itself is located inside the old town of Chiangmai, which make the hotel surronding peaceful. The hotel itself is great in so many ways.. for example, the staffs are really nice, sincere and helpful. The hotel is very well decorated in simple but chic plus the hotel building is very beautiful. The room is well made and cleaned every day. The pillows, bed sheet and blanket are from good quality material which i found it is the most important thing for the hotel.

I love my breakfast!!! The omelette was big, the bread also big and crunchy on the outside yet fluffly on the inside (well, i'm kind of hungry now after thinking about it). All of that came with the fresh squeeze juice. I felt overly eating every morning i was there.

Don't forget to find a map and walk around the hotel. There're lots of beautiful temples. You also can used the red pick up car for the price of 20, if you wanna go further than you can walk. But for me, personnally, after spend a week in the hotel.. i prefer to walked around the old city as it is more peaceful.

I also had chances to try the yoga class which hold twice a week. It was a nice 1 hour of streching exercise.

Also, don't forget to try the true Thai style northern food. The restaurant name is "Huan Pen" just a few block walking from the hotel.

Well, i love Chiangmai and will definitely return to Villa Duang Champa again. My truly home away from home.

Room Tip: Room 3 quiet, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viva_m77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#95 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#54 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#108 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duang Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duang Champa

Property: Villa Duang Champa
Address: 82 Ratchadamnern St. Sri Poom | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 734 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning renovation of a colonial style building, in the centre of Chiang Mai, offers just 10 guestrooms and conjures up a peaceful, and rather aristocratic feel which is perfect for a laid-back getaway in this remarkable city. Taken from the name of Laos’ national flower, Villa Duang Champa , successful renovation into an elegant, four story luxury bed and breakfast was awarded by the Siam Architect , Association and its not hard to see why. The restoration pays attention to differences in each room’s design – each room is a triumph of tasteful, individual décor. Other delights include a winding staircase connecting the breakfast room to the second floor, a giant tree and lovely teatime table in the small garden, and the lighting; a mixture of contemporary and traditional approaches.Each room has large windows, which give plenty of natural light to highlight the room décor. Those who love colonial charm and minimalism will be in heaven here. The 10 bedrooms are spread between four bright floors, with views to the mountains. Inside you'll find comfy retro chairs, stylish daybeds, and old-fashioned lighting as well as interesting floor-tiles and individual pale colors on white color schemes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Duang Champa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Duang Champa Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing