We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Price is unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Ranked #108 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Price is unbeatable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

For two of us, this hotel cost us $8 a night. I know Thailand is cheap but still was a great bargain. The rooms were massive, was pretty clean, and was situated near the North East Corner of the old wall so it was a short walk to most locations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonybaseballyankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    186
    117
    36
    20
See reviews for
43
112
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in situated near to one of the four corners of the old wall surrounding Chiang Mai
and hence appears to be very convenient to explore the old town temples even on foot. The
hotel furniture is quite old but who cares! The bed is comfortable enough, the bathroom is clean and you can take a relaxing shower. Our rate was very cheap, we booked in advance and was not refundable, breakfast was not included but, as in everywhere in Thailand, a 7/11 is close by so you can get what you need at affordable price. We stayed 4 nights and visited not only the old Wat Phra Shing temple but went to Doi Inthanon National park and to Doi Suthep. We had a car rented to tour Thailand and this hotel also provides free parking. Finally, the hotel itself does not have swimming pool or gym but you can use those of the Royal Peninsula Hotel which is very close, just show your Royal Panerai key at the lobby. Laundry service is expensive but, again, there are self service laundries. In short, convenient hotel, not luxurious but has all you need. It depends very much on the way you travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FIR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A pleasant hotel with clean rooms and clean bathrooms. The staff are extremely helpful and go out of there way to make sure you are happy. The location is a little bit outside the main area but its no problem if you have transport. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajarnjamie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The room I was offered was quite large and comfortable, though some of the furnishings were a little worn out. Easy walking distance from the center of town and a fifteen minute tuk-tuk ride to the airport. I received good service from the staff and have no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Everything good. But when we put our bagpacks to the storage room and I came back because I forgot to take my guidebook I found out receptionist going throw our stuff and with our wallet in his hands. Whats more already with our 40 euros in his pocket. Our fauile that we trust them so much, but I would never guess that from a staff of such a nice place. Never again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barbora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Vejen, Denmark
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is okay little, old but if you take the price of the room it is okay for the price, good service from reception, but cleaning can be better in the room some black hair in the bathroom all the 6 days i stay.

Easy to get a taxi but good have a card with the hotel name.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

For A$20 a night, it was awesome. I actually wouldn't expect as much. Having been in Phuket/Bangkok and been ripped off a lot more per night for worse places! What is everyone expecting for this price! I loved it.

I thought the room was large, clean enough, decent enough bed, breakfast was surprisingly good and got away with very basic receptionists English.

Down falls, thin walls, crappy shower and location. Out of the four walls but I knew this booking it.

It is value for money and I really enjoyed my stay. I don't get why people are giving it such terrible reviews when, for that kind of money, who is expecting Hilton standards!!

However, if I were to come here again, I would stay closer to town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotHlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#127 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#133 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#98 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#90 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai

Property: Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Address: 3/9 Assadathorn Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly FX Hotel Royal Panerai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing