We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars for value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Ranked #121 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean and large rooms, located right next to old city corner. This is a great little hotel for the price. The rooms are huge and very clean, the staff treated us very nicely and they have a nice breakfast at their sister hotel just up the road. Can't beat it for the price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 434 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with large spacious rooms, and cute porch with a sink outside. It has a good shower and tub with nice pressure and is in an excellent location. It's close to the square for all the restaurants and shopping but far away enough you don't get the noise at night. wish we found this place sooner!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank littlemego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Room was very large, very clean and also quiet. Slept very well.

The location was a few mins walk to the old city so very convenient.

I payed about 570 baht per night for the basic superior in December and for this price I thought the room was excellent value.

There are many guest houses etc in the old city that charge 350-400 per night, so can get cheaper, but to be honest the quality and room size is no where near Royal Panarai.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Madhavananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Picture evidence of an advertisement is important to make an informed judgment of the prospect of purchase, sadly it is our opinion that pictures fail to give a fair representation.

First impression

1. Where is the hotel ? Yes indeed 'sandwiched' between what look like a Vehicle Audio store and a derelict building. Even the Taxi driver was confused where it's situation might be having to drive around.
2. "We are going to upgrade you" ? The Picture I was given of time of purchase was better to my "Upgrade".
3. Woken up at approximately 07:00 am by at least 3 howling dogs several floors down, and other rooms closer could not of missed the early morning and evening Howling rehearsal from a Neighbors dogs in a derelict yard.
4. Old Blood ETC stained Pillow!
5. Bathroom requires basic redecoration.
6. Can hear one's neighbors far too easily!
7.When requested a room change as these Howling dogs awake me and started their noise again in the evening the "Manager" dismissed the request saying ask my employees tomorrow we are busy, booked up"!
8.No Room safe.
9.Room Sliding 'balcony' door does Not lock a possibly security breach especially for lower ground level rooms.
10. Noticed the Water Hoppers used to gather rainwater ( I am hoping not for one's shower, sink water ) lid open and looking very murky indeed while open to the elements from above as they are ground level.
Breakfast strangely situated not "200 yards" more like 400 yards plus in the next hotel some distance away.
11. Breakfast is extra and ordinarily quite reasonable other than not kept warm, "French fries" cold and always tough as are the "French toast" etc. However when "Busy" everything including the cups are gone quickly and Not replenished quickly enough if at all !!!
12. No facilities as such.
13. Window View is not anything one needs a balcony for, unless you wish to see the Dogs who wake you up morning to night.
14. Noise transmits through hallways and into one's bedroom. Noisy!

Good Points.

1. Price as one would expect in Chiangmia for this standard of hotel.
2. reasonably close to the area and city center.
3. Reasonably polite staff, English not a second language not practiced or understood by most.

Room Tip: Ask yourself is it Cheap and reasonably close to town OR Comfort you require ? Check the Reviews ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Royal panerai is sandwiched between two other buildings which makes it otherwise nice appearance a little strange. The location is about ten minutes walk to the old town. Reception is quite nice and you are greeted by friendly faces. The rooms unfortunately are quite tired with old brown furniture but none the less are very clean. The hotel is quite good value for money and is worth a stay for a couple of nights whilst passing through.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishtruereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location, just a short walk to Thapae Gate and the nightmarkets. Room was a really great size, with fridge and complimentary water. Nice and clean beds and bathroom. Free wifi and use of computer downstairs...bonus. Breakfast is at the sister hotel 2 minutes diwn the road, so not far at all. Good selection of asian and western food. Staff were friendly and helpful if we had any questions.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is just within walking distance to city. Room is very big for solo traveler. 7-11and a local restaurant are just next door. Male staff are friendlier and female staff. A few female staff at reception need to improve their attitude. I tried to inquired some travel info and one of the reception lady asked back " what do you want to know?!" She made me felt I was doing something wrong.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank iksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#148 of 389 in Chiang Mai
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#142 of 389 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#210 of 389 in Chiang Mai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 389 in Chiang Mai
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#105 of 389 in Chiang Mai
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#60 of 389 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai

Address: 3/9 Assadathorn Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly FX Hotel Royal Panerai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $11 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing