We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheap deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good cheap deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for only $14aus a night. Was worried but it turned out to be a good hotel. Rooms cleaned daily. Cable TV and big bed. Hard mattress but I like that. No room service and limited service at night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    184
    115
    36
    20
See reviews for
42
111
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

At the outside this hotel is not so inviting. No lanna style and cosy seats outside. But when you are looking for a clean and spacy room with every comfort for a good price, you will be happy here. We just came from the Lai Tai guesthouse and then the contrast is very big. And this hotel is more cheaper too!
WIFI in the room very fast and even a little balcony with a washbasin.

Room Tip: We have room 508
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I didn't love that hotel at all! Maybe I got very unlucky with the room or staff during my stay ^^". It was not terrible but I can think of more negative points than positive: it all depends on what you're looking for in a hotel.

The internet was horrible, the beds were on wheels which made them move away from the walls super easily, stains on the bed linens, staff doesn't speak English, far from the center (but a tuk tuk can drive you there fast!), AC impossible to turn off unless you take off the card (which then turns off the entire power!)...

The positives I can think of are: it was cheap, looked good and very close to 7-11. Plus even though it is a bit outside of the center, it's still cheap to get a tuk tuk from there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I could not have asked for a better hotel for $17(US) a night. We spent 4 nights here. The room had a huge with a tv, private bathroom, small balcony with a view of the Mountains and proper working Wifi.
I saw a few reviews saying that it was like staying in a school and the internet didn't work very well. I have no idea what they were talking about!

Location was also great. Just outside of the City. Only a ten minute walk to get inside the city "square" and tons of food stalls and just a bit further to bars. 7-11 is a 30 second walk away, and with a restaurant just next to it that is open early; good for breakfast before day trips.

Also there is a booking office right In the lobby. It is run by a super sweet thai lady, who managed to get us a booking at Patara Elephant farm after we were unable to do so ourselves.

I definitely recommend booking here.

Room Tip: 5th floor. Internet worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The first room we booked through hotels.com was awesome.Clean,offered everything needed,and the location of the hotel is perfect.It was so good that we eventually booked all our trip in Chiang Mai there.But at some point when we asked to get more nights we had to change room and this one was not like the first one.Less clean,a pipe flooded all the bathroom when using the bath-shower(that wasn't clean by the way,even found a big black hair in it at our arrival).Later on we discovered that the first room we had was a superior room (on the level 3 of the Hotel I think they all are "superior room" so ask for a room at this level if you can,we got it at the same price with hotels.com) and that's why we decided to stay at this hotel that long and only took 2 nights in the other room and we would not have accepted to stay more. Location is perfect,only at 15-20 minutes from Terminal 21 which is a HUGE great mall and is also a subway and skytrain station.Tons of restaurants around also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 3 as they are "deluxe" rooms.We got it for the same price (through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The FX was a great budget hotel for $25 aus a night. Comfy bed, very clean room & good air con. The hot showers were not always guaranteed though. Good location close to night markets & restaurants, but not directly in the busy city. You can catch a red taxi for 30 baht each to most places. Breakfast was a 2 min walk down the road to their other hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly & spoke English fairly well. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiingaiter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I recently visited Chiang Mai for a quick business trip and stayed 2 nights in a Standard Room. Although old, the hotel room was quite clean and a decent size. The staff were very helpful, polite, and most attentive to my needs. The location is great! The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the city moat and about a 15 to 20 minute walk from Thapae Gate. It is also very easy to catch public transportation during any time of the day. It is precisely what I expected for the price that I paid. I didn't spend much time in my hotel room so it was perfect for what I needed it for: a clean room with a bed and a shower. However, the shower could have been a bit warmer and the WiFi signal was not very strong so that was a bit disappointing. This hotel may not be the ideal choice for someone who plans on a longer stay in Chiang Mai. But for a quick, inexpensive trip, this hotel is very satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#129 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#134 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#130 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#95 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#294 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai

Property: Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Address: 3/9 Assadathorn Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly FX Hotel Royal Panerai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing