We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #85 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in early December.My overall experience was fairly average. The resort itself was in a nice setting with plenty of lush plants and trees. I found the service levels to be varied, at the times the staff were exceptionally helpful and went well out of their way to help. On other occasions, they seemed a little distracted and disinterested, for example, they called us a tuk tuk into town and we ended up waiting an hour to be collected. I am aware, this was not actually their fault however they were fairly disengaged when we kept asking them to follow up/request alternative transport.

Location wise, I did find it restricting that transport was needed to get into the city. We ended up going to the city every day, for those that are happy to relax in the hotel this would not be a problem.

The room standard varies considerably. We stayed in a lanna room on the ground floor intially. The first room we were in was very dark and felt a bit old and musty. We changed to another lanna room, Jade 3 (on the first floor). This was far better and well worth the change.

The restaurant has great food. We found breakfast to be delicious with a good selection. We also ate dinner there on one occasion, the food was beautifully presented and tasted great. In term of cost, it was about the same price as other restaurants we ate at along the river in city.

One final comment, be ready for mosquitoes. No matter what to tried (insect repellent, the mosquito nets on the bed), we got bitten every night!

Room Tip: If you have a Lanna room, I recommend Jade 3. So much bigger than those on the ground floor with hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

thank you very much for staying with us. sorry to hear that you had to wait for a while until the Tuk Tuk arrived, usually it does not take very long. Regarding mosquito, if you touch during your sleep the net, the mosquito can sit on the net and bit you, so you have to make sure that you not touich the net while sleeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

We travelled to Chang Mai to attend the Commitment Celebration (Gay 'wedding') for a wonderful couple- with the Buddhist ceremony being arranged and conducted at the Ban Sabai. The resort is a beautiful mix of relaxed, high quality and understated opulence. The management and staff displayed a high degree of professionalism and relaxed commitment to all facets of our stay.
Their assistance in arranging the ceremony, from the costumes, make-up and the Buddhist monks was excellent.
The restaurant is great, there are some comments that the cost is pricey- but as it's on site, high quality and very well prepared- we found the cost to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms have their benefits, depending on what you are after- well outlined on the website. The wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregTrichelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

thank you very much to give us the opportunity to have you with us and that we could arrange the ceremony for you. We wish you all the best in the future and hope to be able to welcome you at Ban Sabai Village again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just back from a lovely retreat in Chiangmai with wife and friends. Landed at 11pm Saturday night, the short taxi ride from airport was a breeze. Arrival was perfect, check-in was welcoming, the Junior Suite was promising and soothing, overlooking the lush gardens, pool and pond. The breakfast was a daily treat with freshly prepared by the ever-friendly and ready to please Thai hosts.
What better way to start the holidays with a two-hour oil massage under the Sala roof, surrounded by the pond…followed by a small lunch at the poolside.
Riverside street for up-market handicraft shopping or outdoor dining and Night Bazaar are only a 10 minute taxi or tuk-tuk ride, surprisingly almost every taxi driver knows Ban Sabai Spa Resort.
Another half day was spent at Central Festival, probably one of the world’s best shopping center, as well only a 8 minute ride away.
The last night was spent enjoying a Thai Dinner in the restaurant, followed by another 2-hour spa treatment the next morning before going to airport. Had a most wonderful relaxing 4 days in a beautiful natural and friendly atmosphere… I will certainly be back at Ban Sabai and will probably try the DETOX course for 7 days or so :)

Room Tip: Had a Blue Diamond Jun.ior Jacuzi Suite... looking over the Sala & Pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you very much to stay with us at Ban Sabai Village, it is our goal to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating experience to our guests. We would be very much pleases to welcome you in the near future for a health detox program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be my favourite of the 6 hotels I stayed at during my holiday in Chiang Mai. I stayed in a Lanna room and it was a good size, with a comfortable bed with mosquito net, and with attractive fittings and decorations. I thought the private outdoor bathroom with separate shower and bath was great. I also appreciated the HBO movie channel and DVD player that came with the (older style) tv. I found the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, especially the bread, and they made espresso coffee for you. The hotel is a 300 baht taxi ride away from the city (or use the cheaper tuk tuk) but if you're not planning on going out everyday and instead spending some time in the hotel relaxing, then this cost is reasonable and just needs to be factored into the price of the hotel. I found this hotel much better value for money than those I stayed at close to the city centre. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Tank you very much for staying with us, we are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcome you again at Ban Sabai Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Restaurant's on the expensive side for Thailand but pretty good quality. Excellent place to stay if you want to get out of town for a while as it is very quiet. Town is about 25mins tuk tuk ride away. Make sure you make use of the mosquito net!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiranBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you very much for straying at Ban Sabai Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel serves really good Thai food. We were disappointed with the other restaurants we've been but this one is special. The rooms are nice, clean and quite big. The staff are not too friendly but all in all it was a good experience for 5days. The pool needs cleaning and the garden area too for mosquitos. Massage is great and I enjoyed it very much, Location is quiet but takes time to reach the central area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minipin1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for staying at Ban Sabai Village. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time at our restaurant. We do many things to keep Mosquitos out, however in the wet season it is a tough task for that we supply free of charge in the room the repellent cream.
Hope to welcome you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for five days. For three of those days the we could not use the swimming pool. It was green in colour and dirty. To be fair the staff tried to fix it but hearing the European owner shouting very loudly at the maintenance man made it very unpleasant. Nice location and quite tropical. Trouble is so many of the trees hang over the pool that it was covered in leaves by late afternoon.
The room we had was quite pleasant and kept clean. Breakfast was very basic. Not enough real choice. Half buffet and half ordering of hot food. Didn't bother using the spa or massage which was ridiculously expensive. Just go into the main town and massages are 300 baht, not 1,000 baht and higher. I did not see one person having a treatment when I was there.
To summarise, very hit and miss. Nice peaceful location, pleasant colonial type room and nice staff. Poor breakfast, rubbish swimming pool and very expensive spa treatments.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEF99, Manager at Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for staying at Ban Sabai Village. Sorry about the swimming pool, this can unfortunately happen during wet season especially when it is not properly maintained during this time. Please accept our apology for this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
5.0 mi away
Oriental Siam Resort
Oriental Siam Resort
#51 of 392 in Chiang Mai
286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#151 of 392 in Chiang Mai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#60 of 392 in Chiang Mai
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#71 of 392 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 219 Moo 9 | San Pee Sua subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#37 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $66 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban Sabai Village Boutique Resort just 5 km form the busy Chiang Mai city center located - an oasis to relax after a busy day exploring Chiang Mai. A truly small boutique resort with just 8 Lanna rooms, Jacuzzi Junior Suites and 6 Lanna Spa Villas. As well available Yoga and health programs or simply enjoy pampering spa treatments in our tropical garden paradise. At our restaurant Wild Orchid we serve Thai and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ban Sabai Spa Village Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Spa Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Ban Sabai Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing