We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden little gem”
Review of Amata Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Lanna
Ranked #13 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden little gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Amata Lanna truly embodies what a perfect boutique hotel should be, Thai style building architecture that talks to its character, friendly staff, small (only 12 rooms) and very personal. Our room had simple yet elegant thai style furniture, a big comfortable bed and bathroom with a walk in rain shower and a Jacuzzi. The location was great as well. It is right on the river bank, 10 minutes walk to the warorot market, 10 minutes tuk-tuk ride will take you to the old city and 15 minutes taxi ride to the airport. They serve only breakfast and not lunch and dinner. Owner comes in at 7 AM and starts the kitchen, she cooks egg to your liking while the front office receptionist doubles as her support and helps with bread toast, serve coffee/tea etc., while the simple salad/fruits are for self-serving. The breakfast was simple yet good. Another good thing about Amata Lanna is that it is right across Ping Nakara and couple of blocks away from Anantara which we gladly used as landmarks. Since Nakara Jardin which is part of the Ping Nakara is highly rated in T.A. we also tried to have a meal, after couple of unsuccessful attempts we got a table on 1st Jan. for lunch, food was on the money and my wife loved their cakes. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Amata lanna and would go back if we get back to Chiangmai. Only issue was the traffic noise but this is probably common everywhere in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    51
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
140
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skive, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Been here with friends, and booked it again with Family. Could not find anything in Chiang Mai that could match this small beautiful peaceful boutique hotel. Authentic and clean. good size of rooms. super service!
breakfast outside by the pool (pool small but OK). I will go there Again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, both Upstairs and downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

All of the staff were very welcoming & helpful throughout our stay from the moment we arrived.
Breakfast was served promptly to order beside the pool, and although not a big area it was a pleasure to sit there.
Bed was comfortable but pillows not to our choice.
There is some road noise but this applies to many hotels in Chiang Mai.
Lovely external access to rooms with seating area outside room to relax.
Night market with restaurants a short walk or tuk tuk ride.

In summary a very enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are excellent but for less able people please note there is no lift to 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I know that there are many beautiful hotels in Chiang Mai and you are probably spoilt for choice, but do consider this lovely place. Amata Lanna is a real little treasure - a genuine boutique hotel with only 12 rooms, built around a small courtyard near the banks of the Ping River. It's a 5 minute walk to the Night Bazaar and 15 minutes from the Old Town.

Ignore the location shown on Google maps - The Chedi (soon to be Anantara) and the Ping Nakara are neighbours but at less than half the price, this place is much better value and a very relaxing place to stay.

The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, with a beautiful mix of textiles, antiques and fresh flowers. They are well airconditioned and look out over the small private courtyard garden where you eat breakfast next to the azure blue pool. Bathrooms are enormous and as well as walk in showers have spa baths too.

The fantastic staff keep the place immaculate and couldn't be more helpful organizing taxis and tours, bicycles and dining recommendation and great advice whenever consulted. Many thanks to Toy and Yu who were so friendly and help to make this place so special.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are probably a bit more private but they all look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

small hotel but an unforgetble one. the best i could think about in the chiang mai area.
very cosy and clean.we were 5 familys and we used 5 of the 12 rooms of the hotel.
the pool is small but it was enough for us.
the hotel is 5 min walk from the night market. but in a very quit area.
dont hazitate and book a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozadka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place with very helpful staff. Large, clean rooms with good style and a pleasant teak smell. Staff took care of needs and made good suggestions for food. Central location. If back in CM, Will stay again here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stats1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Small boutique resort with Lanna Architecture. google has the location wrong! To find it, look for The Chedi Hotel. It is about 200m from the Chedi on the same side of the road.

The rooms are spacious and has a jacuzzi in the bathroom. The room is very nicely decorated with mostly teak wood furniture but the design is quasi-modern. The room comes with a safe, tv, complimentary water and coffee and basically everything you need.

There is a small pool as you enter the resort. The reception is a small open air area - nice and quaint!

The staff were really nice. My room came with breakfast which is usually served from 7am. i had to run by 6.30am so they served me some simple breakfast at 6.15am.

The resort is probably a 15min walk to the famous Chiang Mai night market and a 10min drive (non peak) to the airport. So, the location is really good and it is quiet too for you to have a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabbytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna

Property: Amata Lanna
Address: 222/2 Chareanprated Rd. | T. Changkarn, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amata Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing