We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If back, Will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amata Lanna Chiang Mai
Ranked #16 of 825 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place with very helpful staff. Large, clean rooms with good style and a pleasant teak smell. Staff took care of needs and made good suggestions for food. Central location. If back in CM, Will stay again here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stats1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Small boutique resort with Lanna Architecture. google has the location wrong! To find it, look for The Chedi Hotel. It is about 200m from the Chedi on the same side of the road.

The rooms are spacious and has a jacuzzi in the bathroom. The room is very nicely decorated with mostly teak wood furniture but the design is quasi-modern. The room comes with a safe, tv, complimentary water and coffee and basically everything you need.

There is a small pool as you enter the resort. The reception is a small open air area - nice and quaint!

The staff were really nice. My room came with breakfast which is usually served from 7am. i had to run by 6.30am so they served me some simple breakfast at 6.15am.

The resort is probably a 15min walk to the famous Chiang Mai night market and a 10min drive (non peak) to the airport. So, the location is really good and it is quiet too for you to have a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights with my friends. This hotel is very clean and beautiful. And staffs are also very helpful and tried to get more knowledge about restaurants and etc.. in Chiang Mai to prepare for answering when they get some question form their guests. The pool is very small to swim. Instead, And they also have amazing bath room.
Here is close to Night Market. They don't offer meals except breakfast though, we can go night market and find many restaurants around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is truly a boutique hotel, its rooms are decorated to the highest standard and as everyone has found the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Air conditioning worked well and we didn't hear any road noise. Breakfast is served outside around the pool area in a buffet style and hot eggs, toast etc are cooked to order.

Good value for money and run by the proud owner to ensure a high quality service. She did apologise for another set of guests who were noisy - in no way her fault.

The location is perfect for exploring the old town, markets and plenty of accessible restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyFunEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Amata Lanna Hotel during our entire stay in Chiang Mai, Thailand. The hotel is small, only 12 rooms, but is very unique and comfortable and well located within walking distance of the old city and many points of interest. Transportation is readily available just outside the front gate. That owner, Toy and staff, Yu are the most delightful people I have ever met and provided a great breakfast for everyone. They make every effort to make sure you are comfortable and everything is in order. They made it a truly wonderful visit. Thank you Toy and Yu. Jon Lockhart, New Braunfels, Texas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After several days in the hotel, I really felt that this is the kind of hotel that I would want to stay in if I was at a city like Chiang Mai. Chiang Mai has a really relaxed lifestyle. I felt very peaceful inside staying here. At the same time, it's a city full of possibilities, all kinds of food, people and culture. I really felt like at home at this hotel, so did my family. If you need any help, don't bother to search online too much. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeiLi_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently returned to Amata Lanna for a second time after having really enjoyed our stay there last year. This year we had our 6 yr old daughter with us and she loved the 4 days we spent there as well. We both emjoyed swimming in the lovely pool each day and all of the staff were great with her.

The rooms at this place are just so lovely and decorated and accessorised to a very high standard as are all of the buildings and communal areas. The jacuzzi bath is huge and was like a small swimming pool for our little girl to mess around in. My wifes' family are in the business of Lanna Art & Design and she/they are impressed with the quality of the workmanship of the Lanna aspect of this Hotel.

The term "Boutique Hotel" is liberally and often incorrectly used to describe certain accommodation. This is a true Boutique Hotel in every sense of the term and I will be back again and I urge anyone visiting Chiang Mai to do the same.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waspie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 395 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,008 reviews
0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 825 in Chiang Mai
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna Chiang Mai

Address: 222/2, Charoen Prathet Road | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 825 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $109 - $1,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amata Lanna Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing