We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Amata Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amata Lanna
Ranked #13 of 734 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights with my friends. This hotel is very clean and beautiful. And staffs are also very helpful and tried to get more knowledge about restaurants and etc.. in Chiang Mai to prepare for answering when they get some question form their guests. The pool is very small to swim. Instead, And they also have amazing bath room.
Here is close to Night Market. They don't offer meals except breakfast though, we can go night market and find many restaurants around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    51
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
140
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is truly a boutique hotel, its rooms are decorated to the highest standard and as everyone has found the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Air conditioning worked well and we didn't hear any road noise. Breakfast is served outside around the pool area in a buffet style and hot eggs, toast etc are cooked to order.

Good value for money and run by the proud owner to ensure a high quality service. She did apologise for another set of guests who were noisy - in no way her fault.

The location is perfect for exploring the old town, markets and plenty of accessible restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyFunEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Amata Lanna Hotel during our entire stay in Chiang Mai, Thailand. The hotel is small, only 12 rooms, but is very unique and comfortable and well located within walking distance of the old city and many points of interest. Transportation is readily available just outside the front gate. That owner, Toy and staff, Yu are the most delightful people I have ever met and provided a great breakfast for everyone. They make every effort to make sure you are comfortable and everything is in order. They made it a truly wonderful visit. Thank you Toy and Yu. Jon Lockhart, New Braunfels, Texas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After several days in the hotel, I really felt that this is the kind of hotel that I would want to stay in if I was at a city like Chiang Mai. Chiang Mai has a really relaxed lifestyle. I felt very peaceful inside staying here. At the same time, it's a city full of possibilities, all kinds of food, people and culture. I really felt like at home at this hotel, so did my family. If you need any help, don't bother to search online too much. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiLi_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently returned to Amata Lanna for a second time after having really enjoyed our stay there last year. This year we had our 6 yr old daughter with us and she loved the 4 days we spent there as well. We both emjoyed swimming in the lovely pool each day and all of the staff were great with her.

The rooms at this place are just so lovely and decorated and accessorised to a very high standard as are all of the buildings and communal areas. The jacuzzi bath is huge and was like a small swimming pool for our little girl to mess around in. My wifes' family are in the business of Lanna Art & Design and she/they are impressed with the quality of the workmanship of the Lanna aspect of this Hotel.

The term "Boutique Hotel" is liberally and often incorrectly used to describe certain accommodation. This is a true Boutique Hotel in every sense of the term and I will be back again and I urge anyone visiting Chiang Mai to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waspie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in the Amata Lanna for the first three nights of our honeymoon having had to divert from Bangkok due to the 2011 floods. What a last minute find, stunning room with four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, hand-carved doors all overlooking a charming court yard. Breakfast was served each morning in the court yard with homemade museli fresh juices really lovely. Location wise really close to the night markets and a short tuktuk ride to the walled area of the city for about 60p equivalent in Baht. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just left the Amata Lanna, and had a wonderful time. We are on our honeymoon and it was the perfect place for us. It is a small hotel which makes it intimate and peacefu, with a personal servicel. The staff is nice and welcoming and the owner is a nice lady. We felt like its a little peradise inside the city in a great location, 5 mins from the night bazaar. Would definitely come back and recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stolman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amata Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Lanna

Property: Amata Lanna
Address: 222/2 Chareanprated Rd. | T. Changkarn, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 734 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Lanna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata Lanna Chiangmai, a place rich in the art from the ancient kingdom of Lanna. The traditional buildings are designed with teakwood to reflect the beauty of the Lanna culture. Amata Lanna's courtyard and 12 uniquely designed antique suites provide an intimate and cozy atmosphere which transports you back to a time of the flourishing cultural heritage. The boutique hotel is situated in the heart of Chiangmai, the capital of ancient Lanna. It is only 10 minutes from the airport and in the walking distance to many tourist attractions, i.e. the night market, the Mae Ping River, and the ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amata Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing