We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rux-Thai Guest House
Ranked #256 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant value for money”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently stayed at Rux Thai and although the rooms aren't 5 star - they are clean and air conditioned. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is in a great location, near to the night market and walking distance to the old city.
Great location. A little gem. Only a matter of time before the prices go up on this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniBrunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
13
41
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our room was very small and dark. The window in the bathroom didn't close so the room was stifling hot all the time. The fixtures were ancient and poorly maintained. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Good points - both the a/c and frig worked well. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8bemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been to Chiang Mai thrice and every time I visit, I spend most of my days at this simple guesthouse. I have never spent more than 590 baht per night for the standard A/C room and they even give a 10% discount card for your next visit, should you choose to stay with them again. The wi-fi worked great, but I didn't bother with the TV much. It may not be a new property but it's fairly quiet (unless you have a noisy neighbour). The location is great with everything you need being a few minutes walk away. The shower and bathroom, although old-fashioned in terms of design, worked. You may find other properties around for the same price... but I guess I was too lazy to check once I dumped my bags here :-)

Room Tip: Just a tip though: The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so I always request a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MithunOnTheNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

For the price, we found this guest house ideal. Located in a good location about 10 mins walk from the huge Night Bazzar and 10 minutes away from the Old Town.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with our travel plans. The rooms although slightly dated had everything we required.

Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Room was perfect, quite large, clean, air con, cable tv, hot shower, free wifi. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is very close to nightlife. And the value was outstanding. Can't find one fault.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recommended by owner of the first place we stayed in Chiang Mai. Bed was comfortable, shower ok, bathroom in general a bit tired. Had to disconnect TV to find power for charging batteries; Aircon and a fan was nice. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cravenhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was my second stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone on a budget looking for clean and quiet accommodation. Rux-Thai is situated just off Loi Kroh which has it's fair share of lively and friendly bars and restaurants but far enough away not to be troubled by any late night noise. The rooms are adequate with all the essentials such as A/C, bathroom, mini bar and cable TV. There is also a restaurant in the foyer serving good food and drinks most of the day. At reception you can rent a safety deposit box for 20baht per day. The staff are friendly and courteous and always willing to help you find a trip or excursion or direct you to the nearest market or whatever else you are looking for.
All in all a pleasant stay, didn't see any fat old men with prostitutes, in fact the majority of people I saw there in my two weeks were young national and international travelers!
If you want to hire a motor bike I would suggest Soi 1 Bikes situated opposite the mini mart on Soi 1, 200 baht per day for a basic scooter which will enable you to explore the city and surrounding areas far more cheaply than taking a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#243 of 381 in Chiang Mai
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#250 of 381 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#153 of 381 in Chiang Mai
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montha
Hotel Montha
#42 of 736 in Chiang Mai
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bautong Lodge
Bautong Lodge
#232 of 826 in Chiang Mai
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rux-Thai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rux-Thai Guest House

Property: Rux-Thai Guest House
Address: 11/2 Soi 1 Loy Kroh Road Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rux-Thai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rux-Thai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing