We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
$24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris H
Swindon, United Kingdom

Good location, good value

Review of Luck Thai Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 18, 2012
This was my second stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone on a budget looking for clean and quiet accommodation. Rux-Thai is situated just off Loi Kroh which has it's fair share of lively and friendly bars and restaurants but far enough away not to be troubled by any late night noise. The rooms are adequate with all the essentials such as A/C, bathroom, mini bar and cable TV. There is also a restaurant in the foyer serving good food and drinks most of the day. At reception you can rent a safety deposit box for 20baht per day. The staff are friendly and courteous and always willing to help you find a trip or excursion or direct you to the nearest market or whatever else you are looking for.
All in all a pleasant stay, didn't see any fat old men with prostitutes, in fact the majority of people I saw there in my two weeks were young national and international travelers!
If you want to hire a motor bike I would suggest Soi 1 Bikes situated opposite the mini mart on Soi 1, 200 baht per day for a basic scooter which will enable you to explore the city and surrounding areas far more cheaply than taking a tuk tuk.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$214
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Priceline
    $194
0.9 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$102
  • Priceline
    $98
  • Agoda.com
    $85
  • Expedia.com
    $121
1.9 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$35
  • Priceline
    $25
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Expedia.com
    $28
0.2 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$76
  • Priceline
    $73
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Official Hotel
    $79
2.1 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$105
  • Hotels.com
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $112
0.6 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.5 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Booking.com
$319
$293
  • Tripadvisor
    $292
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $303
0.7 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $35
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Hotels.com
    $80
2.3 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $41
  • Agoda.com
    $40
  • Hotels.com
    $50
2.2 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$267
  • Hotels.com
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $291
4.5 miles from Luck Thai Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
26
58
26
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
26
58
26
15
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 133 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Well, I wonder if it was the 'time of year" or just bad luck but the only clients to this guesthouse seemed to be fat old men with prostitutes. Not a place for a girl, and I didn't even step out to the bazaar. I just didn't feel safe being alone. "Noises" in the next room...absolutely gross. On top of that, the A/C hardly worked in my room and for the price I would have expected breakfast. The room was clean but old. Not as much a concern as the other points, and internet worked GREAT. Glad I was only there for one night stay before flying out.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Clean, fresh, spacious rooms with comfy beds and and great value for money! Great a/c and fridges in room! Only 10 minute walk from night bazaar and in a quiet neighbourhood. Also great Internet connection and very friendly staff. Can't fault this place! If back in Chang mai will definitely return with hesitation! :)

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinsonjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was actualy ok.
Good price, nice room.
Separte shower and toilet.
Good wifi.
Close to the night market of Chiang Mai and all the other clubs.
But the best thing of all is the sweet woman in the lobby.

i dont know if she is the owner but she was so nice and helpful.

Only bad thing was that they didnt had a elevator.
But who cares if you are young :P

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ribas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Overpriced, not very friendly staff, tired hotel, dirty rooms, brown water from taps, food and service staff indiferent, charge 10% gratuity on everything. Location is fine but hard to get bearings, stayed 2 nights as everywhere we went was full. paid 600 B and have found better in C.M. previously. Good place to eat if you walk down alley on the right when leaving hotel. (S/B motel).

Room tip: ??? we had two on the 5th floor same same! No lift so if you have lots o'luggage then request a lower floor
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacadien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I will be honest - Rux Thai was not my first choice of places to stay. However, with only a few days to find a place to stay in Chiang Mai during high tourist season, nearly all of the availability inquiries I sent out came back with "sorry, we are full during those dates." Rux Thai, however, had availability and was flexible when I had to change my date of arrival.

Rux Thai also offers airport pick up, and in their first e-mail to me, they said this service was available from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. However, after they found out that I was to arrive at 8:30 p.m., they told me they would send someone, and did. He was waiting for me at the airport, with a placard from the guest house and my name on it.

They offer you tours (as does EVERY hotel and guest house) but don't pressure you. They are very hospitable, and when I asked for a quiet room, were happy to accommodate me. There is WiFi throughout the guest house, the rooms are cleaned each day, and the price is reasonable.

They also have a restaurant (focusing on breakfast and lunch, but hey, you can get dinner at the Night Market, which is nearby). All of the staff members were very nice - no problems at all, and they even helped me by writing something in Thai for me to show to songthaew drivers.

All in all, I do not regret my decision to stay at Rux Thai and would recommend that others do the same.

Room tip: Just ask for a quiet room if you want one. The guest house is located in a quiet area in general, but sometimes they play music downstairs. The rooms toward the back seem to be quieter.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews