We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Service - Suited us to a T”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff, Great Service - Suited us to a T”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Would have liked to have shared this review sooner but in the course of planning our next trip I have to say this was the memorable one so I though better late than never. We upgraded to one of the suites that had its own outdoor area with a large spa - the best decision we made. The hotel served us our b/fast daily in the suite either inside or outside and it made things even more relaxed for us. I really cannot commend the staff more - all outstanding especially front desk team and the ladies that helped with babysitting for us. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb8aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    177
    45
    11
    12
See reviews for
159
385
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This a nice hotel, great rooms and with a nice layout. However, it is pretty big and therefore rather impersonal. You can have a great sleep, but it lacks character in the way that it is a 'hotel'hotel and the way they decorated is a bit phony or over the top.
Also the pool is great and the location is pretty close to the centre.
Watch it for their extra services, especially those coming from their tourist-desk. Theeir prices are double or triple the prices you normally pay (from renting a motorcycle, taxi's to day tours). When informing the reception-desk about this they understand, but could not do anything about, other than whispering in my ear how to arrange things outside of the hotel. So not exactly a great partnership which gives a rather dumb impression. One should not be hassling with the hotel but being felt as if at home. At least that is my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknoordhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is a well appointed, well maintained and luxury hotel. Rooms are fantastic; very large and comfortable. Bathroom is a dream ; with waterfall behind window and television.
The service is impeccable, staff is always happy and ready to fulfil every wish.
Breakfast is delicious. Perfectly relaxing to sit beside the pool which is beside the river and have your lunch and drinks brought to your bed at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michidoeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at Ratilanna for 5 nites in May this year. After checking lots of hotels on the net and Tripadvisor we went for Ratilanna based on value for money, extremely high standard of accommodation and location. Although the hotel is not a short walk to the market, the fact you are outside the hustle and bustle is a huge bonus that you can only really appreciate once you are there. The staff cannot do enough to assist you in every way and our room rate included free wifi which was a big plus. The day spa was lovely and not expensive compared to Aussie prices. The breakfast is amazing with a very large variety of food. The hotel has a fantastic pool with swim up bar, great spot to enjoy a drink after a long day of sight seeing or shopping. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Suite that had a huge lounge room & 3 plasma tvs and we would definitely recommend opting for the suite if your budget allows.

Positives :
Wonderful friendly staff at every turn
Perfectly clean and presented rooms
Fantastic food
Location - if you dont want to be crawling on top of other travellers
Lanna style hotel, not your giant concrete monstrosity

Negatives:
We had to leave :(
Seriously this hotel is great you wont be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiTasticFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

a hotel that I would recommand to everybody.
great place, excellent staff, good food and the most important,very good price

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miscontentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The staff at this hotel are extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. We found the accomodation was very clean and luxurious. The swimming pool was wonderful and refreshing and we enjoyed every minute of our stay here. When my wife was unwell during our stay we were taken immediately by the hotel to a local chemist despite it being latre at night. We would reccomend this beautiful hotel to anyone thinking of stopping in Chiang Mai and we would love to return here.
Down side (small thing)the internal day trip desk is rather expensive as you would expect in comparison to arrangements you can make outside of the hotel. We would reccomend the riverside restaurant for good inexpensive food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acornfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My sister and I with our husbands stayed at the Ratilanna for 3 wonderful nights at the end of April and would love to have stayed longer. The resort itself was absolutely beautiful with river views,a lovely pool, tranquil water features, tropical plants and gorgeous little statues providing interest everywhere. We had booked 2 deluxe suites which were extremely spacious, furnished in teak and pure luxury ie. water features in the bathroom and dining areas, an enormous canopied bed, large lounge room with LCD TV(one of 3!) and balcony with swing, daybed and table and chairs. Buffet breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices and restaurants were fine. We found the staff to be wonderful - helpful, smiling and providing excellent service at all times.
The Ratilanna is located outside of the main town area but it is easy and cheap to get a tuk tuk/taxi into town and we found the quiet location refreshing after shopping or sightseeing activities. Not quite as many activities to do in Chiang Mai as in Bangkok or Phuket but would recommend this resort as a lovely, relaxing place for a holiday. We would definitely stay at Ratilanna next visit to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffsterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing