We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience In Every Way”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We selected this hotel from among the five star hotels in Chiang Mai that were centrally located because we wanted to avoid staying in a taller building and the pictures looked intriguing. But pictures often create a misleading impression and disappointments are all too common. In this case, the pictures didn't do justice to this amazingly beautiful, remarkably well appointed boutique hotel. The Ratilanna was part art gallery, part teak showcase and simply wonderful in every way. The staff was extremely friendly and competent. One of the folks on their otherwise all-Thai staff is a very capable young man from Chicago named Joe who deserves an A+ for his helpfulness and attitude. Our suite was among the most dazzling we have experienced. The pool and bar area, directly adjacent to the river, is large and comfortable, complete with a park-like grass courtyard between the pool and the river. Overall, the hotel possessed an intimate feeling and the mood created by the staff and the facilities was one of great warmth and charm. The breakfast buffet was first rate and the proximity to the central city very good. The WiFi was generally dependable. Perhaps the most unexpected feature of this wonderful hotel was that it delivered an authentic Asian vibe in a laid-back sort of way, complete with a lovely Buddha area, tasteful expanses of beautifully maintained teak everywhere and large scale furniture and art pieces throughout which always seemed in perfect proportion to the spaces they occupied. We give this wonderful hotel high marks on all fronts.

Room Tip: Try to get a room centered on the pool, second or third floor, and if on the sides, fourth floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    174
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
152
372
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beautiful resort in Chiang Mai. A friend had recommended this resort and we are so happy we took her advice. It is a beautiful hotel and spa. Had my first Thai massage and it was wonderful. The breakfast was also very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Don’t think you could go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this gem of a resort during our recent first time visit to Chiang Mai. The hotel has an open villa feeling to it with beautiful decorations and our our room was large clean and provided a good view over the pool and somewhat of the river. Everything worked for us perfectly fine and the hospitality did not disappoint what we have come to expect of any decent place in Thailand. Transportation was easy for us to and from town using taxis. Breakfast was offered in the internal part of the restaurant as well as on the terrace and we choose to sit on the terrace overlooking the river. The only criticism we could possibly lay on the hotel was that the breakfast was a bit smaller than we would have expected for the number of guests they were required to serve- at times some of the favorite dishes were empty. Overall, this hotel absolutely helped us just relax during our short stay and we would have no hesitation in choosing it again if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel on the edge of Chiang Mai is fairly small and quiet, with a tranquil riverside location. All the public areas and the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, with lots of wood and carvings, ceramics, sculptures and flowers. Our room was really spacious, with a large balcony which contained sofas for lounging, as well as a table and chairs (I heard water running in the bathroom and thought it was the nextdoor room, but actually it was a sort of fountain in our bathroom). The staff were always attentive and helpful, quick to notice and meet our needs. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and they brought us flowers and a cake, which was totally unexpected. There is a very pleasant bar area, a large pool (though this was almost too cold to swim in in January) and a delightful reception area.
The food, whether buffet or a la carte, was very good, in particular the Thai food. The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of delicious dishes. I really cannot think of any way to fault this hotel (except perhaps to say that the live music with dinner was a bit too loud and disharmonic), and strongly recommend it as a quiet place to stay outside the centre of Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - some rooms only have a view of the roof of the bar, which is not particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay at this hotel. It is a really beautiful hotel right on the river and is decorated in the Lanna (northern Thai) style. I loved the little touches of flower arrangements with orchids, etc., all over the hotel.

The rooms are very nice and pretty spacious, each room even had a small flower arrangement in it and they did turn down service and brought you these little candies every night (even though the candies were a bit strange tasting, it was still a nice thought). The bathroom was very nice with the water feature by the tub and a TV in the bathroom, which I liked to watch while I was getting ready in the morning.

The only real negative was the shower is cement/ tile and seemed to have years worth of ground in mildew and just looked dingy and dirty (even though I'm sure they cleaned it). The rest of the room was very clean and very nice, so I think they really need to invest in upgrading/ putting in new showers. Also, next to the hotel was an abandoned/ overgrown lot that you could see when walking to our room, which had decrepit buildings and an old toilet on the lawn...it is pretty much an eyesore.

The pool, lobby and common areas are beautiful, although it was too cold for us to enjoy the pool in the late afternoon. Breakfast was good and had a pretty large buffet selection with all the standard stuff (American breakfast, European breakfast, and Asian breakfast options and fruit choices). We also went to Happy hour a couple nights (buy one get one free), and it was a nice location to just relax and look out over the river and unwind after a busy day.

We got to see a small wedding there one afternoon, and it was very pretty. It would definitely be a gorgeous location to get married in.

The location is a bit away from the old city, and is not really close walking distance to anything, but we took a maybe 10 minute tuk tuk ride for 100 Baht into the city, so it was not a big deal. We also took the shuttle into the night market one night, which was nice that they offer that (it only drops you off, but does not pick you up).

Staff were pretty friendly and nice, but not overly so. Overall, I liked this hotel and we had a nice stay here, but I might try a different location in the old city if I were to go to Chiang Mai again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for a better chance of an unobstructed view of the river. The rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orchid6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a pretty hotel right on the river in Chiang Mai. Spotlessly clean, beautiful pool. Restaurants are ok, breakfast probably best meal. Not a 5 star hotel but ok. Spa was nice, but not a great message. Hotel is a good 5-10 minutes from old town area. No restaurants other than hotel's within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel over the New Year. The New Year's celebrations were spectacular and the food excellent - as it was throughout our week's stay. The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are beautiful and so spacious. The grounds are well maintained and the hotel has a lovely position on the river in a quiet location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyWiseRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing